首页 » 人与社会 » 艾米特蒂尔的杀手发生了什么?

艾米特蒂尔的杀手发生了什么?

美国历史上的许多事件都带有种族歧视的色彩,往往以对非白人的不公正告终。 一个很好的例子是 Emmett Till 的谋杀和他的凶手的幸运命运。

14 年,1955 岁的黑人埃米特·蒂尔 (Emmett Till) 在被指控向一名白人妇女吹口哨后,在密西西比被残忍杀害。 一个全白人、全男性的陪审团宣告凶手无罪。 凶手后来在接受《Look》杂志采访时承认了。

埃米特·蒂尔(Emmett Till)

埃米特·蒂尔 (Emmett Till) 是一名 XNUMX 岁的非洲裔美国人,在芝加哥的一个工人阶级社区出生和长大,以爱恶作剧而闻名,喜欢开他的朋友们开的恶作剧。

1955 年 XNUMX 月,蒂尔拜访了密西西比州莫尼的亲戚。蒂尔和他的堂兄弟和朋友站在一家乡村商店外时,吹嘘说他在芝加哥的女朋友是白人。 他的表兄弟和朋友不相信他,很快蒂尔就敢于向柜台后面的白人女子求婚。

后来的记录表明,蒂尔进去买了一些糖果。 据称有人听到他说 再见宝贝 给柜台后面的女人。 这位女士是店主的妻子卡罗琳·布莱恩特(Carolyn Bryant)。

科比的丈夫罗伊正在出差,几天后回来了。 她很快告诉他,一个黑人男孩抓住了她,对她进行性挑逗,甚至对她吹口哨。 听到这个消息,罗伊·布莱恩特和他同父异母的兄弟 JW 米拉姆于 28 月 XNUMX 日去了蒂尔的叔叔家。(来源: 历史)

蒂尔谋杀案

Bryant 和 Milam 要求在 28 月 XNUMX 日凌晨与 Till 交谈。 Till 的叔叔 Mose Wright 恳求这两个白人男子。 尽管有他的请求,科比和米拉姆还是强迫蒂尔上车。

布莱恩特和米拉姆把蒂尔带到米拉姆的棚子里。 他们继续折磨他几个小时,然后让 Till 带着一个 75 磅重的轧棉扇来到 Tallahatchie 河岸。 他们继续殴打他,然后朝他的头部开枪。 科比和米拉姆用铁丝网将轧棉扇绑在蒂​​尔毫无生气的尸体上,然后将他扔进了河里。

三天后,蒂尔的尸体被发现。 它是如此毁容,以至于赖特只能从带有他姓名首字母的戒指上辨认出它是 Till。 蒂尔的母亲玛米布拉德利要求将她儿子的遗体运回芝加哥。

布拉德利看到她的儿子被残忍地杀害后,决定举行一个开棺葬礼。 她想让每个人都看到种族主义凶手对她儿子做了什么。 一家非裔美国人周刊刊登了蒂尔尸体的照片,很快他的故事就被公之于众。 (来源: 历史)

凶手的审判

对科比和米拉姆的审判很快就安排在密西西比州的一个隔离法庭。 在审判中,一些目击者肯定了这两名白人男子的身份,赖特就是其中之一。 不久之后,全白人、全男性的陪审团宣布科比和米拉姆无罪。 不到一个小时就做出了判决。

陪审团辩称,他们认为政府未能证明尸体的身份。 (来源: 历史)

凶手的忏悔

审判后大约四个月,罗伊·布莱恩特和 JW 米拉姆同意接受采访 看杂志 但要求支付 4,000 美元的费用。 两人承认绑架、折磨和谋杀了蒂尔。 两人都对他们对谋杀案的描述充满信心,并表示 这样每个人都可以知道我和我的家人的立场.

科比和米拉姆都以自由人的身份度过了余生,终年老去。 (来源: 守护者)

发表评论

%d 博客是这样的:

Home » People & Society » What Happened to Emmett Till’s Killers?

What Happened to Emmett Till’s Killers?

Many events in American history are smeared with racial discrimination, often ending with injustice towards those who are not white. A good example is the murder of Emmett Till and the fortunate fate of his murderers.

Emmett Till, a black 14-year-old, was brutally killed in Mississippi in 1955, after being accused of whistling to a white woman. An all-white, all-male jury acquitted his murderers. The killers later confessed in an interview with Look Magazine.

Emmett Till

Emmett Till was a fourteen-year-old African American born and raised in a working-class neighborhood in Chicago and was known to be a prankster, enjoying practical jokes he pulled on his friends.

Till visited relatives in Money, Mississippi, in August 1955. And while standing outside a country store with his cousins and friends, Till bragged that his girlfriend in Chicago was white. His cousins and friends didn’t believe him and soon dared Till to ask the white woman behind the counter for a date.

Later accounts state that Till went in and bought some candy. He was allegedly heard saying bye baby to the woman behind the counter. The woman was Carolyn Bryant, wife of the store owner.

Bryant’s husband, Roy, was on a business trip and returned a few days later. She soon told him that a black boy grabbed her, making sexual advances, and even wolf-whistled at her. Upon hearing this, Roy Bryant and his half-brother, J.W. Milam went to Till’s great uncle’s house on August 28. (Source: History)

Till’s Murder

Bryant and Milam demanded to talk to Till in the early morning of August 28. Till’s great uncle, Mose Wright, pleaded with the two white men. Despite his pleas, Bryant and Milam forced Till into their car.

Bryant and Milam brought Till to Milam’s shed. They proceeded to torture him for several hours and then made Till carry a 75-pound cotton gin fan to the bank of the Tallahatchie River. They continued to beat him and afterward shot him in the head. Bryant and Milam tied the cotton gin fan to Till’s lifeless body with barbed wire and threw him in the river.

Three days later, Till’s corpse was discovered. It was so disfigured that Wright only identified it as Till from a ring with his initials. Till’s mother, Mamie Bradley, requested to have her son’s remains shipped back to Chicago.

Upon seeing how her son was inhumanely murdered, Bradley decided to have an open-casket funeral. She wanted everyone to see what the racist murderers did to her son. An African-American weekly magazine published a photo of Till’s corpse, and soon his story was brought to the public. (Source: History)

The Trial of the Murderers

The trial of Bryant and Milam was soon scheduled in a segregated court in Mississippi. In the trial, a few witnesses positively identified both white men, with Wright as one of them. Soon after, Bryant and Milam were declared not guilty by an all-white, all-male jury. The verdict was reached in less than an hour.

The jury argued that they believed the state had failed to prove the identity of the body. (Source: History)

The Confession of the Murderers

About four months after the trial, Roy Bryant and J.W. Milam agreed on an interview with Look Magazine but demanded a $4,000 fee. The two admitted to abducting, torturing, and murdering Till. Both men were confident in their account of the murder, stating so that everybody could know how me and my folks stand.

Both Bryant and Milam lived the remainder of their lives as free men, dying of old age. (Source: The Guardian)

Leave a Comment

%d bloggers like this: