الصفحة الرئيسية » الناس والمجتمع » ماذا حدث لقتلة إيميت تيل؟

ماذا حدث لقتلة إيميت تيل؟

تم تلطيخ العديد من الأحداث في التاريخ الأمريكي بالتمييز العنصري ، وغالبًا ما تنتهي بالظلم تجاه أولئك الذين ليسوا من البيض. وخير مثال على ذلك مقتل إيميت تيل والمصير السعيد لقتله.

قُتلت إيميت تيل ، وهي سوداء تبلغ من العمر 14 عامًا ، بوحشية في ولاية ميسيسيبي عام 1955 ، بعد اتهامها بإصدار صفير لامرأة بيضاء. برأت هيئة محلفين كلهم ​​من البيض والذكور قاتليه. اعترف القتلة في وقت لاحق في مقابلة مع مجلة لوك.

ايميت تيل

كان إيميت تيل أمريكيًا من أصل أفريقي يبلغ من العمر أربعة عشر عامًا وُلد ونشأ في حي للطبقة العاملة في شيكاغو وكان معروفًا بأنه مخادع ، ويستمتع بالنكات العملية التي يوجهها لأصدقائه.

زار حتى أقاربه في Money ، ميسيسيبي ، في أغسطس 1955. وبينما كان يقف خارج متجر ريفي مع أبناء عمومته وأصدقائه ، تفاخر تيل بأن صديقته في شيكاغو كانت بيضاء. لم يصدقه أبناء عمومته وأصدقاؤه ، وسرعان ما تجرأوا على سؤال المرأة البيضاء خلف المنضدة عن موعد.

تشير الحسابات اللاحقة إلى أن Till ذهب واشترى بعض الحلوى. وزعم أنه سمع يقول الى اللقاء حبيبي للمرأة خلف العداد. كانت المرأة كارولين براينت ، زوجة صاحب المتجر.

كان روي زوج براينت في رحلة عمل وعاد بعد أيام قليلة. سرعان ما أخبرته أن فتى أسود أمسك بها ، وقام بمحاولات جنسية ، وحتى صفيرها بالذئب. عند سماع هذا ، ذهب روي براينت وأخيه غير الشقيق جي دبليو ميلام إلى منزل عم تيل الأكبر في 28 أغسطس (المصدر: تاريخنا)

قتل تيل

طالب براينت وميلام بالتحدث إلى تيل في الصباح الباكر من يوم 28 أغسطس. ناشد عم تيل العظيم ، موس رايت ، الرجلين البيض. على الرغم من توسلاته ، أجبر براينت وميلام حتى على ركوب سيارتهم.

جلب براينت وميلام تيل إلى كوخ ميلام. شرعوا في تعذيبه لعدة ساعات ثم أجبروا تيل على حمل مروحة محلج قطن تزن 75 رطلاً إلى ضفة نهر تالاتشي. استمروا في ضربه ، وبعد ذلك أطلقوا النار على رأسه. قام براينت وميلام بربط مروحة محلج القطن بجسد تيل المهمد بأسلاك شائكة وألقوا به في النهر.

بعد ثلاثة أيام ، تم اكتشاف جثة تيل. لقد كان مشوهًا لدرجة أن رايت حدده فقط على أنه حتى من حلقة مع الأحرف الأولى من اسمه. طلبت والدة تيل ، مامي برادلي ، إعادة رفات ابنها إلى شيكاغو.

عندما شاهدت كيف قُتل ابنها بطريقة غير إنسانية ، قررت برادلي أن تقيم جنازة مفتوحة. أرادت أن يرى الجميع ما فعله القتلة العنصريون بابنها. نشرت مجلة أسبوعية أمريكية من أصل أفريقي صورة لجثة تيل ، وسرعان ما عُرضت قصته على الجمهور. (مصدر: تاريخنا)

محاكمة القتلة

سرعان ما تم تحديد موعد محاكمة براينت وميلام في محكمة منفصلة في ولاية ميسيسيبي. في المحاكمة ، حدد بعض الشهود بشكل إيجابي كلا الرجلين البيض ، وكان رايت أحدهما. بعد فترة وجيزة ، تم إعلان براينت وميلام غير مذنبين من قبل هيئة محلفين من البيض فقط. تم النطق بالحكم في أقل من ساعة.

وقالت هيئة المحلفين إنهم يعتقدون أن الدولة فشلت في إثبات هوية الجثة. (مصدر: تاريخنا)

اعتراف القتلة

بعد حوالي أربعة أشهر من المحاكمة ، وافق روي براينت وجي دبليو ميلام على إجراء مقابلة مع نظرة مجلة لكنه طالب برسوم قدرها 4,000 دولار. اعترف الاثنان باختطاف وتعذيب وقتل حتى. كلا الرجلين كانا واثقين من روايتهما للقتل ، مشيرًا حتى يتمكن الجميع من معرفة موقفنا أنا وأفراد عائلتي.

عاش كل من براينت وميلام بقية حياتهما كرجال أحرار ، يموتون من الشيخوخة. (مصدر: الحارس)

اترك تعليق

%d المدونين مثل هذا:

Home » People & Society » What Happened to Emmett Till’s Killers?

What Happened to Emmett Till’s Killers?

Many events in American history are smeared with racial discrimination, often ending with injustice towards those who are not white. A good example is the murder of Emmett Till and the fortunate fate of his murderers.

Emmett Till, a black 14-year-old, was brutally killed in Mississippi in 1955, after being accused of whistling to a white woman. An all-white, all-male jury acquitted his murderers. The killers later confessed in an interview with Look Magazine.

Emmett Till

Emmett Till was a fourteen-year-old African American born and raised in a working-class neighborhood in Chicago and was known to be a prankster, enjoying practical jokes he pulled on his friends.

Till visited relatives in Money, Mississippi, in August 1955. And while standing outside a country store with his cousins and friends, Till bragged that his girlfriend in Chicago was white. His cousins and friends didn’t believe him and soon dared Till to ask the white woman behind the counter for a date.

Later accounts state that Till went in and bought some candy. He was allegedly heard saying bye baby to the woman behind the counter. The woman was Carolyn Bryant, wife of the store owner.

Bryant’s husband, Roy, was on a business trip and returned a few days later. She soon told him that a black boy grabbed her, making sexual advances, and even wolf-whistled at her. Upon hearing this, Roy Bryant and his half-brother, J.W. Milam went to Till’s great uncle’s house on August 28. (Source: History)

Till’s Murder

Bryant and Milam demanded to talk to Till in the early morning of August 28. Till’s great uncle, Mose Wright, pleaded with the two white men. Despite his pleas, Bryant and Milam forced Till into their car.

Bryant and Milam brought Till to Milam’s shed. They proceeded to torture him for several hours and then made Till carry a 75-pound cotton gin fan to the bank of the Tallahatchie River. They continued to beat him and afterward shot him in the head. Bryant and Milam tied the cotton gin fan to Till’s lifeless body with barbed wire and threw him in the river.

Three days later, Till’s corpse was discovered. It was so disfigured that Wright only identified it as Till from a ring with his initials. Till’s mother, Mamie Bradley, requested to have her son’s remains shipped back to Chicago.

Upon seeing how her son was inhumanely murdered, Bradley decided to have an open-casket funeral. She wanted everyone to see what the racist murderers did to her son. An African-American weekly magazine published a photo of Till’s corpse, and soon his story was brought to the public. (Source: History)

The Trial of the Murderers

The trial of Bryant and Milam was soon scheduled in a segregated court in Mississippi. In the trial, a few witnesses positively identified both white men, with Wright as one of them. Soon after, Bryant and Milam were declared not guilty by an all-white, all-male jury. The verdict was reached in less than an hour.

The jury argued that they believed the state had failed to prove the identity of the body. (Source: History)

The Confession of the Murderers

About four months after the trial, Roy Bryant and J.W. Milam agreed on an interview with Look Magazine but demanded a $4,000 fee. The two admitted to abducting, torturing, and murdering Till. Both men were confident in their account of the murder, stating so that everybody could know how me and my folks stand.

Both Bryant and Milam lived the remainder of their lives as free men, dying of old age. (Source: The Guardian)

Leave a Comment

%d bloggers like this: