Home page for arabic » الناس والمجتمع » من روّج لاستخدام القفازات الجراحية؟

من روّج لاستخدام القفازات الجراحية؟

اليوم ، ندرك جميعًا أهمية استخدام القفازات الجراحية. نحن نعلم أنها تعمل كحاجز وقائي لمنع انتقال الأمراض بين عامل الرعاية الصحية ومريضهم. لكن هل تعلم من الذي شاع حقًا استخدامها؟

كادت كارولين هامبتون ، ممرضة الجراحة في مستشفى جون هوبكنز ، ترك وظيفتها بسبب الإكزيما الشديدة التي يسببها المطهر الجراحي. اشترى رئيسها قفازات مطاطية مخصصة لها كحل. قام أعضاء آخرون بنسخ هذا.

كيف أصبح القفاز الجراحي؟

يشيع استخدام معدات الحماية الشخصية بسبب الجائحة الحالية. اليوم ، نرى الجميع يرتدون أقنعة وقفازات في رحلة بسيطة إلى محل البقالة. في حين أنه قد يكون من الواضح الآن أنه من الضروري ارتداء ملابس واقية للوقاية من العدوى ، لم يكن الأمر كذلك دائمًا. مرة أخرى في اليوم ، رفض الأطباء ارتداء القفازات أثناء الجراحة.

غالبًا ما ينسب الأطباء الفضل إلى الدكتور ويليام هالستد في تقديم القفازات إلى غرفة العمليات الجراحية. لكن هذا ليس دقيقًا تمامًا. لم يكن هالستد هو من أدخل الملابس الواقية. في الواقع ، كانت ممرضة هالستيد هي التي فعلت ذلك - كارولين هامبتون. (مصدر: تاريخ العلوم)

من هي كارولين هامبتون؟

جاء هامبتون من عائلة أرستقراطية من ولاية كارولينا الجنوبية. كانت مرتبطة بوايد هامبتون ، وهو ملازم جنرال كونفدرالي شهير. توفيت والدتها بسبب مرض السل عندما كان عمرها أقل من عام في عام 1862. توفي والدها في الحرب الأهلية بعد عام. ضاعت ثروة عائلتهم بعد أن أحرقت قوات ويليام تيكومسيه شيرمان مزرعة هامبتون. قامت عماتها بتربيتها في منزل صغير خلف أنقاض منزل العائلة القديم.

تم إعداد هامبتون لتكون من عائلة سوثرن بيل ، لكن كان لديها طموحات أكبر من كونها زوجة لمالك مزرعة بسيط. في عام 1885 ، أعلنت أنها ستنتقل إلى نيويورك للحصول على التعليم وكسب لقمة العيش لنفسها.

أصبحت ممرضة وتأهلت للمساعدة في الجراحة بحلول عام 1889. وهذا بسبب مهارتها وسلوكها الهادئ والهادئ. ثم قبل هامبتون وظيفة كبير ممرضي الجراحة في مستشفى جونز هوبكنز. انتقلت إلى بالتيمور وعملت تحت إشراف الدكتور ويليام هالستيد. (مصدر: تاريخ العلوم)

من هو وليام هالستيد؟

في ذلك الوقت ، كان ويليام هالستيد يُعتبر من أكثر العقول ذكاءً في الجراحة. تدرب مع أفضل الجراحين في أوروبا واستقر في نيويورك. لقد غيرت الإجراءات المبتكرة التي طورها لإجراء عمليات حصوات المرارة والأوعية الدموية والغدد الدرقية والفتق حقًا طريقة إجراء الجراحة. اشتهر هالستيد بعمله على استئصال الثدي الجذري لعلاج سرطان الثدي.

بعد أن جرب هالستيد الكوكايين كمخدر موضعي ، بدأ في استخدام العقار بنفسه وأصبح مدمنًا. هذا دمر تقريبا حياته المهنية. بعد سلسلة من الرحلات لإعادة التأهيل والتعلق بالمورفين ، استقر هالستيد كمدمن وظيفي. (مصدر: تاريخ العلوم)

إدخال القفازات الجراحية

لقد قدر هالستيد حقًا هامبتون. كانت ممرضة ذكية وحاذقة. في الواقع ، كان كثيرًا ما يمتدحها لكفاءتها الاستثنائية كمساعدته أثناء الجراحة. في شتاء عام 1889 ، جاءه هامبتون وأعلنت استقالتها. كانت تواجه مشكلة في يديها وكيف أن بروتوكول التطهير لم يقتل الجراثيم بل يدمر بشرتها. أصيبت هامبتون بالطفح الجلدي والأكزيما ، مما تسبب في تقشر جلدها. أحبت وظيفتها ، لكن الألم كان لا يطاق.

كحل ، اقترحت هالستيد أن تقوم بتغطية يديها بمحلول كولوديون. لسوء الحظ ، تنكسر الكولوديون كلما ثنت أصابعها. ثم توصلوا إلى حل جديد - القفازات. تذكرت هامبتون أيام مزرعتها وكيف ساعدت قفازات البستنة في حماية يديها الحساسة.

دفع هالستد للحصول على قوالب الجبس المصنوعة من أيدي هامبتون. ثم كان لديه زوجان من القفازات المطاطية بتكليف من شركة Goodyear Rubber Company في نيويورك. على الرغم من أن هذه لم تكن أول قفازات مصنوعة للإجراءات الطبية ، إلا أنها مهدت الطريق للقفازات الجراحية التي لدينا اليوم. (مصدر: تاريخ العلوم)

اترك تعليق

Home » People & Society » Who Popularized the Use of Surgical Gloves?

Who Popularized the Use of Surgical Gloves?

Today, we are all well aware of the importance of using surgical gloves. We know that they serve as a protective barrier to prevent the transmission of diseases between a healthcare worker and their patient. But did you know who truly popularized their use?

Caroline Hampton, a surgical nurse at John Hopkins, almost quit her job due to severe eczema caused by surgical disinfectant. Her boss bought her custom rubber gloves as a solution. Other staff members copied this.

How Did the Surgical Glove Come to Be?

Personal protective equipment is commonly seen and used because of the current pandemic. Today, we see everyone donning masks and gloves for a simple trip to the grocery store. While it may be obvious now that it is essential to wear protective gear to prevent infections, it has not always been the case. Back in the day, doctors refused to wear gloves during surgery.

Doctors would often credit Dr. William Halsted with introducing the gloves to the surgical theater. But this is not entirely accurate. It wasn’t Halsted who introduced the protective wear. In fact, it was Halstead’s nurse who did – Caroline Hampton. (Source: Science History)

Who is Caroline Hampton?

Hampton came from a family of aristocrats from South Carolina. She was related to Wade Hampton, a famous Confederate lieutenant general. Her mother passed away due to tuberculosis when she was less than a year old in 1862. Her father died in the Civil War a year later. Their family’s fortune was lost after William Tecumseh Sherman’s forces burned the Hampton plantation down. Her aunts raised her in a small home behind the ruins of their old family manor.

Hampton was groomed to be a Southern Belle, but she had bigger ambitions than being a simple plantation owner’s wife. In 1885, she announced that she would be moving to New York to get an education and earn a living for herself.

She became a nurse and was qualified to assist in surgery by 1889. This is because of her dexterity and cool and calm demeanor. Hampton then accepted the job of the chief surgical nurse at Johns Hopkins Hospital. She moved to Baltimore and worked under Dr. William Halsted. (Source: Science History)

Who is William Halsted?

At the time, William Halsted was regarded as one of the most brilliant minds in surgery. He trained with the top surgeons in Europe and settled in New York. The innovative procedures he developed for operating on gallstones, blood vessels, thyroid glands, and hernias truly changed how the surgery was done. Halsted was best known for his work on radical mastectomy to treat breast cancer.

After Halsted experimented with cocaine as a topical anesthetic, he started using the drug himself and got addicted. This nearly ruined his career. After a series of trips to rehab and getting hooked onto morphine, Halsted settled as a functional addict. (Source: Science History)

The Introduction of the Surgical Gloves

Halsted truly appreciated Hampton. She was a brilliant and sharp nurse. In fact, he would often praise her for her exceptional efficiency as his assistant during surgery. In the winter of 1889, Hampton came to him and announced her resignation. She was having trouble with her hands and how the disinfecting protocol was not killing germs but destroying her skin. Hampton developed rashes and eczema, which caused her skin to peel. She loved her job, but the pain was unbearable.

As a solution, Halstead suggested that she coat her hands in a collodion solution. Unfortunately, the collodion would crack whenever she would flex her fingers. They then came up with a novel solution – gloves. Hampton recalled her plantation days and how gardening gloves helped protect her sensitive hands.

Halsted paid to get plaster casts made of Hampton’s hands. He then had two pairs of rubber gloves commissioned by the Goodyear Rubber Company of New York. While these weren’t the first gloves made for medical procedures, it paved the way to the surgical gloves we have today. (Source: Science History)

Leave a Comment

%d bloggers like this: