1949年,哥斯达黎加政府废除了军队,称该部队“将由一支师范大军取代。” 该国拥有免费的普及公共教育,识字率达97%。

哥斯达黎加(/?kɒstəˈriːkə /(听);西班牙语:[ˈkostaˈrika];字面意思是“富裕海岸”),正式为哥斯达黎加共和国(西班牙语:Repúblicade Costa Rica),是中美洲的一个国家,与尼加拉瓜接壤北部是加勒比海,东北部是加勒比海,东南部是巴拿马,西南部是太平洋,科科斯岛以南是厄瓜多尔。

由于债务和预算赤字增加,哥斯达黎加在2017年面临市场流动性危机。[11] 到2017年12月,财政部难以履行其义务。[13] [14] 该国试图通过增加外国投资来改善经济所面临的其他挑战包括基础设施落后和需要提高公共部门效率。[15] [XNUMX]

在16世纪受到西班牙统治之前,哥斯达黎加很少有土著人民居住。

自那时以来,哥斯达黎加一直是拉丁美洲最稳定,繁荣和进步的国家。

主条目:哥斯达黎加的历史

哥斯达黎加国家博物馆的迪奎斯文化所创造的石球。

主要文章:哥斯达黎加的前哥伦布时期的历史

在大约5,000年前居住在哥斯达黎加的人口中,农业变得显而易见。

哥斯达黎加贫穷背后的另一个重要因素是,缺乏可用于encomienda(强迫劳动)的大量土著人口,这意味着大多数哥斯达黎加定居者必须在自己的土地上工作,从而无法建立大型庄园(种植园)。

另请参阅:哥斯达黎加自由国和哥斯达黎加第一共和国

与中美洲其他地区一样,哥斯达黎加从未为脱离西班牙而战。

直到20世纪,咖啡生产仍然是哥斯达黎加的主要财富来源,造就了富有的种植者,即所谓的咖啡男爵。[46] 税收帮助该国实现了现代化。[47] [48]

结果,香蕉成为主要哥斯达黎加出口咖啡的竞争对手,而外资公司(包括后来的联合水果公司)开始在国民经济中发挥重要作用,并最终成为剥削性出口经济的象征。 [52] 农民与联合水果公司之间的主要劳资纠纷(大香蕉罢工)是该国历史上的重大事件,是迈出重要一步,最终导致了哥斯达黎加建立有效的工会,因为该公司必须在1938年与其工人签署集体协议。[53] [54]

主要文章:哥斯达黎加的地理和哥斯达黎加的地震清单

哥斯达黎加有14座已知的火山,其中有六座在过去75年中一直活跃。[57] 该国在上个世纪也经历了至少十次5.7级或更高级别的地震(3级7.0级或更高级别的地震)。

哥斯达黎加还包括几个岛屿。

哥斯达黎加超过25%的国家领土受到SINAC(国家自然保护区系统)的保护,该机构负责监督该国所有保护区。

hide哥斯达黎加的气候数据

更多信息:哥斯达黎加的野生动物

尽管该国仅占世界陆地的0.03%,却包含了世界生物多样性的5%。[61] [62] 该国约25%的土地面积位于国家保护公园和保护区中,[63] [64]是世界上最大的保护区百分比(发展中国家平均为13%,发达国家平均为8%)。[65] [ 66] [67] 哥斯达黎加已成功地将森林砍伐从1973年至1989年的世界上一些最糟糕的速度减少到2005年的几乎零。[65]

其中一个国家公园,即科尔科瓦多国家公园(Corcovado National Park),因其生物多样性(包括大型猫科动物和tap类动物)而在生态学家中享誉国际,游客可以在这里看到丰富的野生动植物。[68] [69] 科尔科瓦多是哥斯达黎加的一个公园,可以找到所有四种哥斯达黎加猴子物种。[70] 这些物种包括白头卷尾猴,披风吼叫,濒临灭绝的杰夫罗伊的蜘蛛猴[70] [71]和中美洲松鼠猴,它们仅在哥斯达黎加太平洋沿岸和巴拿马的一小部分发现,被视为濒临灭绝直到2008年,其地位升级为弱势群体。

在哥斯达黎加已经发现了840多种鸟类。

与中美洲大部分地区一样,哥斯达黎加的鸟类物种是北美和南美物种的混合体。

更多信息:哥斯达黎加的河流清单

一次在哥斯达黎加的英特尔微处理器工厂曾经占哥斯达黎加出口的20%和该国GDP的5%。

主条目:哥斯达黎加经济

许多外国公司(制造和服务)在哥斯达黎加的自由贸易区(FTZ)开展业务,他们从投资和税收优惠中受益。[10] 政府表示,这类投资的一半以上来自美国[79],该地区在82年支持了43 2015多份直接工作和80万份间接工作。[81] 例如,在埃雷迪亚美国免税区设有设施的公司包括英特尔,戴尔,惠普,拜耳,博世,DHL,IBM和Okay Industries。[82] [XNUMX]

在GDP中,农业占5.5%,工业占18.6%,服务业占75.9%。(2016)[76]农业占劳动力的12.9%,工业占18.57%,服务业占69.02%(2016)[83]该地区的失业率处于中等水平(根据国际货币基金组织(IMF)的数据,8.2年为2016%)。[76] 尽管有20.5%的人口生活在贫困线以下(2017),[84]哥斯达黎加却是中美洲生活水平最高的国家之一。[85]

哥斯达黎加的教育系统质量在拉丁美洲得到认可。

由于其教育制度,哥斯达黎加是拉丁美洲识字率最高的国家之一,为97%。[87] 普通基础教育是强制性的,无偿提供给用户。[88] 美国政府的一份报告证实,该国“在历史上一直把教育和建立熟练劳动力置于高度优先地位”,但指出高中辍学率正在增加。

哥斯达黎加与包括美国在内的许多国家都有自由贸易协定。

没有任何会影响进口的重大贸易壁垒,并且该国一直在按照其他中美洲国家的名义降低其关税。[96] 该国的自由贸易区为制造和服务业在哥斯达黎加开展业务提供了激励措施。

2015年,这些区域提供了超过82万个直接工作和43万个间接工作,自由贸易区的平均工资是该国其他地区私营企业平均工资的2015倍。[1.8] 例如,80年,Amazon.com在哥斯达黎加拥有约2016名员工,并计划在3,500年增加1,500名员工,使其成为重要的雇主。[2017]

自1999年以来,旅游业获得的外汇收入超过该国三种主要经济作物的总出口额:特别是香蕉和菠萝,[98]但也包括咖啡在内的其他作物。[99] 咖啡生产在哥斯达黎加的历史中发挥了关键作用,2006年是第三批经济作物出口。[99] 作为一个小国,哥斯达黎加目前提供的咖啡量不到世界的1%。[48] 2015年,咖啡出口总值为305.9亿美元,仅占农业总出口2.7亿美元的一小部分。[98] [13.7-2015年]咖啡产量增长了16 %%,在17.5-2016年下降了17%,但预计随后的一年将增长约15%。[100]

哥斯达黎加开发了一种环境服务付款系统。[65] 同样,哥斯达黎加对水污染也要征税,以惩罚将污水,农药和其他污染物排入水道的企业和房主。[101] 2007年100月,哥斯达黎加政府宣布了到2021年实现102%碳中和的打算。[2015] 到93年,该国103%的电力来自可再生能源。[2016] 98年,该国110%的电力来自可再生能源,并连续104天完全依靠可再生能源发电。[XNUMX]

美国政府2016年的一份报告指出,哥斯达黎加与美国(可能还有其他国家)的公司合作,努力扩大经济发展时面临的其他挑战。[87] 确定的主要问题如下:

主条目:哥斯达黎加旅游

另请参阅:哥斯达黎加的机场列表

哥斯达黎加是中美洲地区访问量最大的国家,[106] 2.9年有2016万外国游客,比10年增长2015%。[107] 2015年,旅游业占该国GDP的5.8%,即3.4亿美元。[108] 2016年,游客人数最多的是美国,有1,000,000人次,其次是欧洲,有434,884人次。[109] 根据哥斯达黎加度假,游客到达该国后,有22%前往塔马林多,18%到达阿雷纳尔,17%穿过利比里亚(丹尼尔·奥杜伯·基罗斯国际机场所在的地方),16%到达圣何塞,该国的首都(经过胡安·圣玛丽亚国际机场),而18%的游客选择曼努埃尔·安东尼奥和7%的蒙特沃德。[110]

哥斯达黎加是生态旅游的先驱,吸引了许多游客前往其一系列国家公园和其他保护区。[113] 在2011年旅游业竞争力指数中,哥斯达黎加在44年排名世界第2011,在拉丁美洲国家中仅次于墨西哥,排名第二。[114] 到2017年报告出炉时,该国已排名第38位,略落后于巴拿马。[115] ``道德旅行者''组织在其2017年《世界十大最佳道德目的地》名单上的十个国家包括哥斯达黎加。

主要文章:哥斯达黎加的政治

哥斯达黎加的省

主条目:哥斯达黎加行政区划

主条目:哥斯达黎加外交关系

哥斯达黎加是联合国和美洲国家组织的积极成员。

美洲人权法院和联合国和平大学设在哥斯达黎加。

哥斯达黎加与尼加拉瓜在圣胡安河上存在长期分歧,圣胡安河界定了两国之间的边界以及哥斯达黎加在河上的航行权。[120] 2010年,卡莱罗岛(Isla Calero)周围也发生了争端,尼加拉瓜的疏ging河对该地区的影响。[121]

哥斯达黎加是第一个这样做的中美洲国家。

主要文章:哥斯达黎加的人口统计学

哥斯达黎加吸收了来自其他拉丁美洲国家的许多难民,这些难民在1970年代和1980年代逃离内战和独裁统治,特别是来自智利和阿根廷的难民,以及从萨尔瓦多逃离游击队和政府死亡小队的人。[130]

根据世界银行的数据,2010年该国约有489,200移民,其中许多来自尼加拉瓜,巴拿马,萨尔瓦多,洪都拉斯,危地马拉和伯利兹,而125,306哥斯达黎加人在美国,巴拿马,尼加拉瓜,西班牙,墨西哥居住在国外,加拿大,德国,委内瑞拉,多米尼加共和国和厄瓜多尔。[131] 移民的数量在随后几年有所下降,但在2015年,哥斯达黎加大约有420,000万移民[132],寻求庇护的人数(主要来自洪都拉斯,萨尔瓦多,危地马拉和尼加拉瓜)上升到110,000万以上,增长了五倍。从2012年开始。[133] 2016年,该国被称为“磁铁”,吸引了来自南美和中美洲以及其他希望到达美国的国家的移民[134] [135]

更多信息:哥斯达黎加州

哥斯达黎加的宗教[136] [137]

主要文章:哥斯达黎加的宗教

耶稣基督后期圣徒教会拥有超过35,000名成员,并在圣何塞拥有一座寺庙,该教堂曾是哥斯达黎加的区域性崇拜中心。[141] 但是,他们只占不到总人口的1%。[142] [143]

主条目:哥斯达黎加的语言

哥斯达黎加使用的主要语言是西班牙语,这是中美洲西班牙语的一种,具有该国独特的特点。

哥斯达黎加是一个语言多样的国家,并且居住着至少五种由前哥伦布前人民的后代说的活着的当地土著语言:马莱库,卡贝卡尔,布里布里,瓜伊米和布格勒。

主条目:哥斯达黎加文化

哥斯达黎加是中美洲和南美本土文化交汇的地方。

2017年146月,《国家地理》杂志将哥斯达黎加列为世界上最幸福的国家。[147] 文章总结如下:“哥斯达黎加人在一个减轻压力和最大程度享受欢乐的地方享受充实的日常生活乐趣。” [XNUMX] 不足为奇的是,“ Ticos”中最可识别的短语之一是“ Pura Vida”,即直译中的纯净生活。

哥斯达黎加在联合国《世界幸福报告》的12年“幸福星球”指数中名列第2017位[153],但据说该国是拉丁美洲最幸福的国家。

足球是哥斯达黎加最受欢迎的运动。

即使哥斯达黎加的国家队尚未获得参加诸如FIBA AmeriCup或FIBA世界杯这样的大型国际比赛的资格,篮球也是哥斯达黎加的一项流行运动。[159]

主条目:哥斯达黎加的教育

哥斯达黎加大学被授予“哥斯达黎加教育文化功勋院校”称号。

主条目:哥斯达黎加的卫生保健

根据开发署的数据,2010年哥斯达黎加人的预期寿命为79.3岁。[161] 尼科亚半岛被认为是世界上的蓝色地区之一,人们通常过着100岁以上的生活。[162] [163] 新经济基金会(NEF)在其2009年“快乐星球”指数中将哥斯达黎加排名第一,并在2012年再次将其排名。

该指数衡量每单位环境投入所产生的健康和幸福感。[23] [24] 根据NEF,哥斯达黎加之所以领先,是因为其很高的预期寿命,该寿命在美洲排名第二,并且高于美国。

哥斯达黎加被誉为中美洲在健康方面取得巨大成就的故事。[166] 尽管其国内生产总值仅占美国的一小部分,其医疗保健系统的排名仍高于美国。[167] 在1940年之前,政府医院和慈善机构提供了大多数医疗服务。

每个卫生委员会管理的面积相当于哥斯达黎加的83个行政州之一。

哥斯达黎加属于拉丁美洲国家之一,已经成为医疗旅游的热门目的地。[168] [169] 2006年,哥斯达黎加接待了150,000万名外国人就医。[168] [169] [170] 哥斯达黎加由于地理位置优越,医疗服务质量高和医疗成本低而对美国人特别有吸引力。[169]

哥斯达黎加相关文章索引

哥斯达黎加的轮廓

“在哥斯达黎加”。

“哥斯达黎加:开拓性的可持续性”。

“哥斯达黎加”。

柯里的哥斯达黎加

哥斯达黎加维基媒体地图集


来源: 哥斯达黎加

In 1949 the Costa Rican government abolished their army, stating that the army “would be replaced with an army of teachers.” The country has free universal public education and a literacy rate of 97%.

Costa Rica (/ˌkɒstə ˈriːkə/ (listen); Spanish: [ˈkosta ˈrika]; literally “Rich Coast”), officially the Republic of Costa Rica (Spanish: República de Costa Rica), is a country in Central America, bordered by Nicaragua to the north, the Caribbean Sea to the northeast, Panama to the southeast, the Pacific Ocean to the southwest, and Ecuador to the south of Cocos Island.

Costa Rica was facing a market liquidity crisis in 2017 due to a growing debt and budget deficit.[11] By August 2017, the Treasury was having difficulty paying its obligations.[12][13] Other challenges facing the country in its attempts to improve the economy by increasing foreign investment include a poor infrastructure and a need to improve public sector efficiency.[14][15]

Costa Rica was sparsely inhabited by indigenous peoples before coming under Spanish rule in the 16th century.

Since then, Costa Rica has remained among the most stable, prosperous, and progressive[peacock term] nations in Latin America.

Main article: History of Costa Rica

A stone sphere created by the Diquis culture at the National Museum of Costa Rica.

Main article: Pre-Columbian history of Costa Rica

Agriculture became evident in the populations that lived in Costa Rica about 5,000 years ago.

Another important factor behind Costa Rica’s poverty was the lack of a significant indigenous population available for encomienda (forced labor), which meant most of the Costa Rican settlers had to work on their own land, preventing the establishment of large haciendas (plantations).

See also: Free State of Costa Rica and First Costa Rican Republic

Like the rest of Central America, Costa Rica never fought for independence from Spain.

Coffee production remained Costa Rica’s principal source of wealth well into the 20th century, creating a wealthy class of growers, the so-called Coffee Barons.[46] The revenue helped to modernize the country.[47][48]

As a result, bananas came to rival coffee as the principal Costa Rican export, while foreign-owned corporations (including the United Fruit Company later) began to hold a major role in the national economy and eventually became a symbol of the exploitative export economy.[52] The major labor dispute between the peasants and the United Fruit Company (The Great Banana Strike) was a major event in the country’s history and was an important step that would eventually lead to the formation of effective trade unions in Costa Rica, as the company was required to sign a collective agreement with its workers in 1938.[53][54]

Main articles: Geography of Costa Rica and List of earthquakes in Costa Rica

There are 14 known volcanoes in Costa Rica, and six of them have been active in the last 75 years.[57] The country has also experienced at least ten earthquakes of magnitude 5.7 or higher (3 of magnitude 7.0 or higher) in the last century.

Costa Rica also comprises several islands.

Over 25% of Costa Rica’s national territory is protected by SINAC (the National System of Conservation Areas), which oversees all of the country’s protected areas.

hideClimate data for Costa Rica

Further information: Wildlife of Costa Rica

While the country has only about 0.03% of the world’s landmass, it contains 5% of the world’s biodiversity.[61][62] Around 25% of the country’s land area is in protected national parks and protected areas,[63][64] the largest percentage of protected areas in the world (developing world average 13%, developed world average 8%).[65][66][67] Costa Rica has successfully managed to diminish deforestation from some of the worst rates in the world from 1973 to 1989, to almost zero by 2005.[65]

One national park, the Corcovado National Park, is internationally renowned among ecologists for its biodiversity (including big cats and tapirs) and is where visitors can expect to see an abundance of wildlife.[68][69] Corcovado is the one park in Costa Rica where all four Costa Rican monkey species can be found.[70] These include the white-headed capuchin, the mantled howler, the endangered Geoffroy’s spider monkey,[70][71] and the Central American squirrel monkey, found only on the Pacific coast of Costa Rica and a small part of Panama, and considered endangered until 2008, when its status was upgraded to vulnerable.

Over 840 species of birds have been identified in Costa Rica.

As is the case in much of Central America, the avian species in Costa Rica are a mix of North and South American species.

Further information: List of rivers of Costa Rica

An Intel microprocessor facility in Costa Rica that was, at one time, responsible for 20% of Costa Rican exports and 5% of the country’s GDP.

Main article: Economy of Costa Rica

Many foreign companies (manufacturing and services) operate in Costa Rica’s Free Trade Zones (FTZ) where they benefit from investment and tax incentives.[10] Well over half of that type of investment has come from the U.S.[79] According to the government, the zones supported over 82 thousand direct jobs and 43 thousand indirect jobs in 2015.[80] Companies with facilities in the America Free Zone in Heredia, for example, include Intel, Dell, HP, Bayer, Bosch, DHL, IBM and Okay Industries.[81][82]

Of the GDP, 5.5% is generated by agriculture, 18.6% by industry and 75.9% by services.(2016)[76] Agriculture employs 12.9% of the labor force, industry 18.57%, services 69.02% (2016)[83] For the region, its unemployment level is moderately high (8.2% in 2016, according to the IMF).[76] Although 20.5% of the population lives below the poverty line (2017),[84] Costa Rica has one of the highest standards of living in Central America.[85]

Costa Rica is recognized in Latin America for the quality of its educational system.

Because of its educational system, Costa Rica has one of the highest literacy rates in Latin America, 97%.[87] General Basic Education is mandatory and provided without cost to the user.[88] A US government report confirms that the country has “historically placed a high priority on education and the creation of a skilled work force” but notes that the high school drop-out rate is increasing.

Costa Rica has free trade agreements with many countries, including the US.

There are no significant trade barriers that would affect imports and the country has been lowering its tariffs in accordance with other Central American countries.[96] The country’s Free Trade Zones provide incentives for manufacturing and service industries to operate in Costa Rica.

In 2015, the zones supported over 82 thousand direct jobs and 43 thousand indirect jobs in 2015 and average wages in the FTZ were 1.8 times greater than the average for private enterprise work in the rest of the country.[80] In 2016, Amazon.com for example, had some 3,500 employees in Costa Rica and planned to increase that by 1,500 in 2017, making it an important employer.[9]

Since 1999, tourism earns more foreign exchange than the combined exports of the country’s three main cash crops: bananas and pineapples especially,[98] but also other crops, including coffee.[99] Coffee production played a key role in Costa Rica’s history and in 2006, was the third cash crop export.[99] As a small country, Costa Rica now provides under 1% of the world’s coffee production.[48] In 2015, the value of coffee exports was US$305.9 million, a small part of the total agricultural exports of US$2.7 billion.[98] Coffee production increased by 13.7% percent in 2015-16, declined by 17.5% in 2016–17, but was expected to increase by about 15% in the subsequent year.[100]

Costa Rica has developed a system of payments for environmental services.[65] Similarly, Costa Rica has a tax on water pollution to penalize businesses and homeowners that dump sewage, agricultural chemicals, and other pollutants into waterways.[101] In May 2007, the Costa Rican government announced its intentions to become 100% carbon neutral by 2021.[102] By 2015, 93 percent of the country’s electricity came from renewable sources.[103] In 2016, the country produced 98% of its electricity from renewable sources and ran completely on renewable sources for 110 continuous days.[104]

A 2016 report by the U.S. government report identifies other challenges facing Costa Rica as it works to expand its economy by working with companies from the US (and probably from other countries).[87] The major concerns identified were as follows:

Main article: Tourism in Costa Rica

See also: List of airports in Costa Rica

Costa Rica is the most visited nation in the Central American region,[106] with 2.9 million foreign visitors in 2016, up 10% from 2015.[107] In 2015, the tourism sector was responsible for 5.8% of the country’s GDP, or $3.4 billion.[108] In 2016, the highest number of tourists came from the United States, with 1,000,000 visitors, followed by Europe with 434,884 arrivals.[109] According to Costa Rica Vacations, once tourists arrive in the country, 22% go to Tamarindo, 18% go to Arenal, 17% pass through Liberia (where the Daniel Oduber Quirós International Airport is located), 16% go to San José, the country’s capital (passing through Juan Santamaría International Airport), while 18% choose Manuel Antonio and 7% Monteverde.[110]

A pioneer of ecotourism, Costa Rica draws many tourists to its extensive series of national parks and other protected areas.[113] In the 2011 Travel and Tourism Competitiveness Index, Costa Rica ranked 44th in the world and second among Latin American countries after Mexico in 2011.[114] By the time of the 2017 report, the country had reached 38th place, slightly behind Panama.[115] The Ethical Traveler group’s ten countries on their 2017 list of The World’s Ten Best Ethical Destinations includes Costa Rica.

Main article: Politics of Costa Rica

Provinces of Costa Rica

Main article: Administrative divisions of Costa Rica

Main article: Foreign relations of Costa Rica

Costa Rica is an active member of the United Nations and the Organization of American States.

The Inter-American Court of Human Rights and the United Nations University of Peace are based in Costa Rica.

Costa Rica has a long-term disagreement with Nicaragua over the San Juan River, which defines the border between the two countries, and Costa Rica’s rights of navigation on the river.[120] In 2010, there was also a dispute around Isla Calero, and the impact of Nicaraguan dredging of the river in that area.[121]

Costa Rica was the first of the Central American nations to do so.

Main article: Demographics of Costa Rica

Costa Rica took in many refugees from a range of other Latin American countries fleeing civil wars and dictatorships during the 1970s and 1980s, notably from Chile and Argentina, as well as people from El Salvador who fled from guerrillas and government death squads.[130]

According to the World Bank, in 2010 about 489,200 immigrants lived in the country, many from Nicaragua, Panama, El Salvador, Honduras, Guatemala, and Belize, while 125,306 Costa Ricans live abroad in the United States, Panama, Nicaragua, Spain, Mexico, Canada, Germany, Venezuela, Dominican Republic, and Ecuador.[131] The number of migrants declined in later years but in 2015, there were some 420,000 immigrants in Costa Rica[132] and the number of asylum seekers (mostly from Honduras, El Salvador, Guatemala and Nicaragua) rose to more than 110,000, a fivefold increase from 2012.[133] In 2016, the country was called a “magnet” for migrants from South and Central America and other countries who were hoping to reach the U.S.[134][135]

Further information: Cantons of Costa Rica

Religion in Costa Rica[136][137]

Main article: Religion in Costa Rica

The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints claims more than 35,000 members, and has a temple in San José that served as a regional worship center for Costa Rica.[141] However, they represent less than 1% of the population.[142][143]

Main article: Languages of Costa Rica

The primary language spoken in Costa Rica is Spanish, which features characteristics distinct to the country, a form of Central American Spanish.

Costa Rica is a linguistically diverse country and home to at least five living local indigenous languages spoken by the descendants of pre-Columbian peoples: Maléku, Cabécar, Bribri, Guaymí, and Buglere.

Main article: Culture of Costa Rica

Costa Rica was the point where the Mesoamerican and South American native cultures met.

In November 2017, National Geographic magazine named Costa Rica as the happiest country in the world.[146] The article included this summary: “Costa Ricans enjoy the pleasure of living daily life to the fullest in a place that mitigates stress and maximizes joy”.[147] It is not surprising then that one of the most recognizable phrases among “Ticos” is “Pura Vida”, pure life in a literal translation.

Costa Rica rates 12th on the 2017 Happy Planet Index in the World Happiness Report by the UN[153] but the country is said to be the happiest in Latin America.

Football is the most popular sport in Costa Rica.

Basketball is also a popular sport in Costa Rica even though the country’s national team has not yet qualified for a major international tournament such as the FIBA AmeriCup or the FIBA World Cup.[159]

Main article: Education in Costa Rica

The University of Costa Rica has been awarded the title “Meritorious Institution of Costa Rican Education and Culture”.

Main article: Health care in Costa Rica

According to the UNDP, in 2010 the life expectancy at birth for Costa Ricans was 79.3 years.[161] The Nicoya Peninsula is considered one of the Blue Zones in the world, where people commonly live active lives past the age of 100 years.[162][163] The New Economics Foundation (NEF) ranked Costa Rica first in its 2009 Happy Planet Index, and once again in 2012.

The index measures the health and happiness they produce per unit of environmental input.[23][24] According to NEF, Costa Rica’s lead is due to its very high life expectancy which is second highest in the Americas, and higher than the United States.

Costa Rica has been cited as Central America’s great health success story.[166] Its healthcare system is ranked higher than that of the United States, despite having a fraction of its GDP.[167] Prior to 1940, government hospitals and charities provided most health care.

Each health committee manages an area equivalent to one of the 83 administrative cantons of Costa Rica.

Costa Rica is among the Latin America countries that have become popular destinations for medical tourism.[168][169] In 2006, Costa Rica received 150,000 foreigners that came for medical treatment.[168][169][170] Costa Rica is particularly attractive to Americans due to geographic proximity, high quality of medical services, and lower medical costs.[169]

Index of Costa Rica-related articles

Outline of Costa Rica

“In Costa Rica”.

“Costa Rica: Pioneering Sustainability”.

“Costa Rica”.

Costa Rica at Curlie

Wikimedia Atlas of Costa Rica


Source: Costa Rica