غير مصنف

من أجل تعزيز شعبيتها المتضائلة كمركز للسفر ، عين خط قطار كيشيجاوا الياباني قطًا يُدعى تاما كمحطة رئيسية جديدة في عام 2007 ، مما أدى إلى ارتفاع كبير في شعبيته كوجهة سياحية. في عام 2010 تم التعاقد مع قطة ثانية "لمساعدة" تاما في واجباتها.

Station Master Tama The Cat أريد أن أقدم مكانًا خاصًا في اليابان يجب زيارته لمحبي القطط! بالطبع ، هناك جزيرة كات ، لكن هل سمعت عن سيد محطة القط الوحيد في اليابان؟ سوبر ستيشن ماستر تاما قطة! حتى القطط في اليابان يمكن أن تصبح محطة ...

من أجل تعزيز شعبيتها المتضائلة كمركز للسفر ، عين خط قطار كيشيجاوا الياباني قطًا يُدعى تاما كمحطة رئيسية جديدة في عام 2007 ، مما أدى إلى ارتفاع كبير في شعبيته كوجهة سياحية. في عام 2010 تم التعاقد مع قطة ثانية "لمساعدة" تاما في واجباتها. اقرأ المزيد »

عندما قام الدكتور وو المتدرب في كامبريدج بتشخيص جائحة منشوريا عام 1910 بشكل صحيح على أنه طاعون رئوي (محمول جواً) ، حذر الطبيب الفرنسي ميسني الدكتور وو باستخدام افتراء عنصري وأكد أنه طاعون دبلي. لإثبات وجهة نظره ، قام الدكتور مسني بجولة في جناح الطاعون بدون قناع. مات بعد ستة أيام.

مقاتل الطاعون: الدكتور وو لين تيه وعمله ساعد الطبيب المولود في بينانج في القضاء على الطاعون الرئوي المنشوري المميت عام 1910 ودفع لاستخدام أقنعة الوجه لمنع انتشاره. يوثق Kevin YL Tan حياته وعمله. مجموعة Wu Lien-Teh ، PictureSG ، المكتبة الوطنية ، سنغافورة. سيُذكر عام 2020 على أنه ...

عندما قام الدكتور وو المتدرب في كامبريدج بتشخيص جائحة منشوريا عام 1910 بشكل صحيح على أنه طاعون رئوي (محمول جواً) ، حذر الطبيب الفرنسي ميسني الدكتور وو باستخدام افتراء عنصري وأكد أنه طاعون دبلي. لإثبات وجهة نظره ، قام الدكتور مسني بجولة في جناح الطاعون بدون قناع. مات بعد ستة أيام. اقرأ المزيد »

أعطى Shakuntala Devi من الهند ، والمعروف أيضًا باسم الكمبيوتر البشري ، الجذر الثالث والعشرون لرقم مكون من 23 رقم في 201 ثانية. تم التحقق من الإجابة في مكتب المعايير الأمريكية بواسطة كمبيوتر UNIVAC 50 ، والذي كان لا بد من كتابة برنامج خاص لإجراء مثل هذا الحساب الكبير.

سافرت شاكونتالا ديفي ديفي إلى العديد من البلدان حول العالم لاستعراض مواهبها الحسابية. كانت في جولة في أوروبا طوال عام 1950 وكانت في مدينة نيويورك عام 1976. وفي عام 1988 ، سافرت إلى الولايات المتحدة لدراسة قدراتها على يد آرثر جنسن ، أستاذ علم النفس التربوي بجامعة ...

أعطى Shakuntala Devi من الهند ، والمعروف أيضًا باسم الكمبيوتر البشري ، الجذر الثالث والعشرون لرقم مكون من 23 رقم في 201 ثانية. تم التحقق من الإجابة في مكتب المعايير الأمريكية بواسطة كمبيوتر UNIVAC 50 ، والذي كان لا بد من كتابة برنامج خاص لإجراء مثل هذا الحساب الكبير. اقرأ المزيد »

لم يستطع قالب الكسندر فليمنج إنتاج البنسلين بالسرعة الكافية لإنتاجه بكميات كبيرة ؛ لم يكن الأمر كذلك إلا بعد مرور 15 عامًا على قيام عاملة المختبر "مولدي" ماري هانت باختبار شمام متعفن في محل بقالة واكتشفت السلالة المستخدمة في إنتاج البنسلين اليوم.

ماري متعفن والشمام إنها قصة معروفة ومثال على الصدفة الطبية. ألكسندر فليمنج (1881-1955) عالم ميكروبيولوجي اسكتلندي عاد إلى مختبره بعد إجازته الصيفية ووجد أن صفائح نمو البكتيريا العنقودية ملوثة بالعفن. أينما كان العفن ، تم قتل الخلايا البكتيرية. مضادات حيوية …

لم يستطع قالب الكسندر فليمنج إنتاج البنسلين بالسرعة الكافية لإنتاجه بكميات كبيرة ؛ لم يكن الأمر كذلك إلا بعد مرور 15 عامًا على قيام عاملة المختبر "مولدي" ماري هانت باختبار شمام متعفن في محل بقالة واكتشفت السلالة المستخدمة في إنتاج البنسلين اليوم. اقرأ المزيد »

في عام 1991 تم اكتشاف أن للقلب "دماغه الصغير" أو "نظامه العصبي القلبي الداخلي". يتكون "دماغ القلب" من حوالي 40,000 خلية عصبية متشابهة في الدماغ ، مما يعني أن للقلب نظامه العصبي الخاص.

الألم: هل كل هذا في الدماغ أم القلب؟ الخلاصة الغرض من المراجعة: أفاد العلماء أن الألم دائمًا ما يصنعه الدماغ. قد لا يكون هذا صحيحًا تمامًا. الألم ليس تجربة حسية فحسب ، بل يمكن أن يرتبط أيضًا بمكونات عاطفية ومعرفية واجتماعية. يعتبر القلب هو المصدر ...

في عام 1991 تم اكتشاف أن للقلب "دماغه الصغير" أو "نظامه العصبي القلبي الداخلي". يتكون "دماغ القلب" من حوالي 40,000 خلية عصبية متشابهة في الدماغ ، مما يعني أن للقلب نظامه العصبي الخاص. اقرأ المزيد »

لحى الأميش ليس لها شارب لأنهم يربطونهم بالجيش ، وهم من دعاة السلام

أميش بيرد: كل ما تحتاج إلى معرفته إذا كنت تتساءل عن ماهية لحية الأميش ، فلنوضحها بأبسط المصطلحات الممكنة. هذا هو أسلوب شعر الوجه الذي يتكون من لحية ولا شارب. هذا الأسلوب له نغمات دينية عميقة ، وهو أحد أسهل العلامات لتحديد الأشخاص الذين ينتمون ...

لحى الأميش ليس لها شارب لأنهم يربطونهم بالجيش ، وهم من دعاة السلام اقرأ المزيد »

قابل ديانا تروجيلو - التي على الرغم من كونها مهاجرة تبلغ من العمر 17 عامًا وصلت إلى أمريكا بدون مهارات اللغة الإنجليزية وفقط 300 دولار في جيبها - تمكنت من شق طريقها من مدبرة منزل إلى أن تصبح مهندسة طيران في وكالة ناسا التي ساعدت في إنشاء الذراع الروبوتية للمريخ المثابرة في العربة الجوالة.

من مهاجرة مراهقة إلى مهندسة ناسا: كيف تترك ديانا تروجيلو بصماتها على المريخ TAMPA ، فلوريدا (WFLA) - بصفتها مهاجرة مراهقة من كولومبيا ، قامت ديانا تروجيلو بتنظيف المنازل لدفع تكاليف تعليمها الهندسي في جامعة فلوريدا. الآن ، هي تركت بصماتها على المريخ. إنها قصة حيث يقول المثل "الوصول إلى ...

قابل ديانا تروجيلو - التي على الرغم من كونها مهاجرة تبلغ من العمر 17 عامًا وصلت إلى أمريكا بدون مهارات اللغة الإنجليزية وفقط 300 دولار في جيبها - تمكنت من شق طريقها من مدبرة منزل إلى أن تصبح مهندسة طيران في وكالة ناسا التي ساعدت في إنشاء الذراع الروبوتية للمريخ المثابرة في العربة الجوالة. اقرأ المزيد »

صوت 65 ٪ من جزيرة ستاتن للانفصال عن بقية مدينة نيويورك في عام 1993 ، فقط لعرقلة جهودهم من قبل مجلس الولاية

التقسيم والانفصال في نيويورك توجد "المدينة الكبرى" نتيجة لإجراءات الهيئة التشريعية لولاية نيويورك ، وعلى هذا النحو ، يمكن تقليص حجمها من خلال نفس الآلية. تم إجراء استفتاء غير ملزم في منطقة جزيرة ستاتن في عام 1993 للنظر فيما إذا كان ينبغي السماح لها بالانفصال ...

صوت 65 ٪ من جزيرة ستاتن للانفصال عن بقية مدينة نيويورك في عام 1993 ، فقط لعرقلة جهودهم من قبل مجلس الولاية اقرأ المزيد »

في عام 427 قبل الميلاد ، أرسلت أثينا سفينة إلى ميتيليني كانت لديها تعليمات بقتل جميع الرجال البالغين في الدولة المدينة. في اليوم التالي ، صوت الأثينيون لتغيير قرارهم - تم إرسال سفينة ثانية. تسابق خلال الليل ، ووصل إلى ميتيليني في الوقت المناسب لمنع حدوث المجزرة.

نقاش ميتيليني الحلفاء في الحرب البيلوبونيسية. مناظرة ميتيليني (التي تمت تهجئتها أيضًا "نقاش ميتيليني") هي الجمعية الأثينية بشأن الأعمال الانتقامية ضد مدينة ميتيليني ، التي حاولت دون جدوى التخلص من الهيمنة الأثينية خلال الحرب البيلوبونيسية. حدث النقاش عام 427 قبل الميلاد. أفاد ثيوسيديدس بذلك في الكتاب الثالث من كتابه تاريخ ...

في عام 427 قبل الميلاد ، أرسلت أثينا سفينة إلى ميتيليني كانت لديها تعليمات بقتل جميع الرجال البالغين في الدولة المدينة. في اليوم التالي ، صوت الأثينيون لتغيير قرارهم - تم إرسال سفينة ثانية. تسابق خلال الليل ، ووصل إلى ميتيليني في الوقت المناسب لمنع حدوث المجزرة. اقرأ المزيد »

قابل شجارًا شارك فيه 50 من أعضاء الكونجرس في طابق مجلس النواب الأمريكي عام 1858. وانتهى الأمر عندما قام شخص ما بخلع شعر مستعار لرجل وأعاده الرجل عن طريق الخطأ إلى الخلف ، مما تسبب في ضحك كلا الجانبين ووقف القتال.

Laurence M. Keitt في 5 فبراير 1858 ، بدأ كيت مشاجرة ضخمة على أرضية البيت خلال مناظرة متوترة في وقت متأخر من الليل. كيت ، مستاءً من عضو الكونجرس في ولاية بنسلفانيا (ورئيس مجلس النواب لاحقًا) جالوشا أ. جرو ، وهو جمهوري ، بعد أن صعد إلى الجانب الديمقراطي من مجلس النواب ، طالب برفض أن يجلس جرو ، داعيًا ...

قابل شجارًا شارك فيه 50 من أعضاء الكونجرس في طابق مجلس النواب الأمريكي عام 1858. وانتهى الأمر عندما قام شخص ما بخلع شعر مستعار لرجل وأعاده الرجل عن طريق الخطأ إلى الخلف ، مما تسبب في ضحك كلا الجانبين ووقف القتال. اقرأ المزيد »

Home » Uncategorized

Uncategorized

In order to bolster its waning popularity as a travel hub, Japan’s Kishigawa Train Line appointed a cat named Tama as its new station master in 2007, leading to a huge spike in popularity as a tourist destination. In 2010 a second cat was hired to “assist” Tama with her duties.

Station Master Tama The Cat Today I want to introduce a special spot in Japan that is a must-visit for cat lovers! Of course, there’s Cat Island, but have you heard of the only cat station master in Japan? The Super Station Master Tama is a cat! In Japan even cats can become a station …

In order to bolster its waning popularity as a travel hub, Japan’s Kishigawa Train Line appointed a cat named Tama as its new station master in 2007, leading to a huge spike in popularity as a tourist destination. In 2010 a second cat was hired to “assist” Tama with her duties. Read More »

When Cambridge-trained Dr. Wu correctly diagnosed the 1910 Manchuria pandemic as pneumonic (airborne) plague, french doctor Mesny admonished Dr. Wu using a racial slur and asserting it was bubonic plague. To prove his point, Dr. Mesny toured a plague ward without a mask. He died six days later.

The Plague Fighter: Dr Wu Lien-Teh and His Work The Penang-born doctor helped eradicate the deadly Manchurian pneumonic plague of 1910 and pushed for the use of face masks to prevent its spread. Kevin Y.L. Tan documents his life and work. Wu Lien-Teh Collection, PictureSG, National Library, Singapore. The year 2020 will be remembered as …

When Cambridge-trained Dr. Wu correctly diagnosed the 1910 Manchuria pandemic as pneumonic (airborne) plague, french doctor Mesny admonished Dr. Wu using a racial slur and asserting it was bubonic plague. To prove his point, Dr. Mesny toured a plague ward without a mask. He died six days later. Read More »

Shakuntala Devi from India, also known as the human computer, gave the 23rd root of a 201 digit number in 50 seconds. The answer was verified at the US Bureau of Standards by the UNIVAC 1101 computer, for which a special program had to be written to perform such a large calculation.

Shakuntala Devi Devi travelled to several countries around the world demonstrating her arithmetic talents. She was on a tour of Europe throughout 1950 and was in New York City in 1976. In 1988, she travelled to the US to have her abilities studied by Arthur Jensen, a professor of educational psychology at the University of …

Shakuntala Devi from India, also known as the human computer, gave the 23rd root of a 201 digit number in 50 seconds. The answer was verified at the US Bureau of Standards by the UNIVAC 1101 computer, for which a special program had to be written to perform such a large calculation. Read More »

Alexander Fleming’s mold could not produce penicillin fast enough for mass production; it wasn’t until 15 years later that lab worker ‘Mouldy’ Mary Hunt tested a moldy cantaloupe in a grocery store and discovered the strain that is used to produce all penicillin today

Mouldy Mary and the Cantaloupe It’s a well known story and example of medical serendipity. Alexander Fleming (1881-1955) a Scottish microbiologist who returned to his laboratory following his summer holiday and found his growth plates of Staphylococcal bacteria had been contaminated with mould. Wherever the mould was growing the bacterial cells had been killed. Antibiotics …

Alexander Fleming’s mold could not produce penicillin fast enough for mass production; it wasn’t until 15 years later that lab worker ‘Mouldy’ Mary Hunt tested a moldy cantaloupe in a grocery store and discovered the strain that is used to produce all penicillin today Read More »

In 1991 it was discovered that the heart has its “little brain” or “intrinsic cardiac nervous system.” This “heart brain” is composed of approximately 40,000 neurons that are alike neurons in the brain, meaning that the heart has its own nervous system.

Pain: Is It All in the Brain or the Heart? Abstract Purpose of review: Scientists have reported that pain is always created by the brain. This may not be entirely true. Pain is not only a sensory experience, but also can be associated with emotional, cognitive, and social components. The heart is considered the source …

In 1991 it was discovered that the heart has its “little brain” or “intrinsic cardiac nervous system.” This “heart brain” is composed of approximately 40,000 neurons that are alike neurons in the brain, meaning that the heart has its own nervous system. Read More »

Amish beards have no mustache because they associate them with the military, and they’re pacifists

Amish Beard: Everything You Need To Know If you are wondering what an Amish beard is, let’s explain it in the simplest terms possible. This is a facial hair style that is all beard and no mustache. This style has deep religious undertones, and it’s one of the easiest marks to identify people who belong …

Amish beards have no mustache because they associate them with the military, and they’re pacifists Read More »

Meet Diana Trujillo – who despite being a 17 year old immigrant arriving to America with no English skills and only $300 dollars in her pocket – was able to work her way from housekeeper to becoming an aerospace engineer at NASA who helped create the robotic arm for Mars rover Perseverance.

From teen immigrant to NASA engineer: How Diana Trujillo is leaving her mark on Mars TAMPA, Fla. (WFLA) — As a teen immigrant from Colombia, Diana Trujillo cleaned homes to pay her engineering education at the University of Florida. Now, she’s leaving her mark on Mars. It’s a story where the saying “reach for the …

Meet Diana Trujillo – who despite being a 17 year old immigrant arriving to America with no English skills and only $300 dollars in her pocket – was able to work her way from housekeeper to becoming an aerospace engineer at NASA who helped create the robotic arm for Mars rover Perseverance. Read More »

65% of Staten Island voted to secede from the rest of New York City in 1993, only to have their efforts blocked by the State Assembly

Partition and secession in New York The “Greater City” exists as a result of actions of the New York State Legislature, and, as such, could be reduced in size by the same mechanism. A non-binding referendum in the borough of Staten Island was held in 1993 to consider whether it should be allowed to secede …

65% of Staten Island voted to secede from the rest of New York City in 1993, only to have their efforts blocked by the State Assembly Read More »

In 427BC Athens sent a ship to Mytilene which had instructions to kill all adult men in the city-state. The next day, Athenians voted to change their decision – a second ship was dispatched. Racing through the night, it reached Mytilene just in time to prevent the massacre from happening.

Mytilenean Debate Allies in the Peloponnesian War. The Mytilenean Debate (also spelled “Mytilenaean Debate”) is the Athenian Assembly concerning reprisals against the city-state of Mytilene, which had attempted unsuccessfully to shake off Athenian hegemony during the Peloponnesian War. The Debate occurred in 427 B.C.; Thucydides reports it in book three of his History of the …

In 427BC Athens sent a ship to Mytilene which had instructions to kill all adult men in the city-state. The next day, Athenians voted to change their decision – a second ship was dispatched. Racing through the night, it reached Mytilene just in time to prevent the massacre from happening. Read More »

Meet a brawl involving 50 congressmen on the US House floor in 1858. It ended when someone knocked off a man’s wig and the man accidentally put it back on backwards, causing both sides to laugh and stop fighting.

Laurence M. Keitt On February 5, 1858, Keitt started a massive brawl on the House floor during a tense late-night debate. Keitt, offended by Pennsylvania Congressman (and later Speaker of the House) Galusha A. Grow, a Republican, having stepped over to the Democratic side of the House chamber, dismissively demanded that Grow sit down, calling …

Meet a brawl involving 50 congressmen on the US House floor in 1858. It ended when someone knocked off a man’s wig and the man accidentally put it back on backwards, causing both sides to laugh and stop fighting. Read More »