首页 » 未分类

未分类

为了增强其作为旅游枢纽的日渐减少的知名度,日本的岸川列车线在2007年任命了一只名为多摩的猫作为其新的站长,从而极大地提高了其作为旅游胜地的知名度。 在2010年,第二只猫被雇用来“协助”多摩履行职责。

站长多摩猫今天我想在日本介绍一个特别的地方,这是爱猫人士必游的地方! 当然有猫岛,但是您听说过日本唯一的猫站长吗? 超级车站多摩大师是只猫! 在日本,甚至猫也可以成为驿站……

为了增强其作为旅游枢纽的日渐减少的知名度,日本的岸川列车线在2007年任命了一只名为多摩的猫作为其新的站长,从而极大地提高了其作为旅游胜地的知名度。 在2010年,第二只猫被雇用来“协助”多摩履行职责。 阅读更多»

当在剑桥接受培训的吴博士正确地将1910年满洲大流行性疾病诊断为肺炎(空降)鼠疫时,法国医生梅斯尼用种族侮辱告诫吴博士,并断言这是鼠疫。 为了证明他的观点,梅斯尼博士参观了没有面具的瘟疫病房。 他六天后去世。

瘟疫斗争者:吴连德博士及其工作出生在槟城的医生帮助铲除了1910年致命的满州肺炎鼠疫,并推动使用口罩以防止其扩散。 Kevin YL Tan记录了他的生活和工作。 Wu Lien-Teh收藏,PictureSG,新加坡国家图书馆。 2020年将被铭记为……

当在剑桥接受培训的吴博士正确地将1910年满洲大流行性疾病诊断为肺炎(空降)鼠疫时,法国医生梅斯尼用种族侮辱告诫吴博士,并断言这是鼠疫。 为了证明他的观点,梅斯尼博士参观了没有面具的瘟疫病房。 他六天后去世。 阅读更多»

来自印度的Shakuntala Devi(也称为人机)在23秒内给出了201位数字的第50个根。 答案已通过UNIVAC 1101计算机在美国标准局进行了验证,为此必须编写一个特殊程序来执行如此大的计算。

Shakuntala Devi Devi到世界各地展示了她的算术才能。 1950年,她一直在欧洲旅行,并于1976年在纽约市。1988年,她前往美国,由……大学的教育心理学教授Arthur Jensen学习了自己的能力。

来自印度的Shakuntala Devi(也称为人机)在23秒内给出了201位数字的第50个根。 答案已通过UNIVAC 1101计算机在美国标准局进行了验证,为此必须编写一个特殊程序来执行如此大的计算。 阅读更多»

亚历山大·弗莱明(Alexander Fleming)的霉菌无法足够快地生产出青霉素,无法进行大量生产。 直到15年后,实验室工作人员'Mouldy'Mary Hunt在杂货店测试了一种发霉的哈密瓜,并发现了如今用于生产所有青霉素的菌株

发霉的玛丽和哈密瓜这是一个众所周知的故事和医疗意外事件的例子。 亚历山大·弗莱明(1881-1955)是一位苏格兰微生物学家,他在暑假后返回实验室,发现他的葡萄球菌生长板已被霉菌污染。 无论霉菌在哪里生长,细菌细胞都被杀死。 抗生素…

亚历山大·弗莱明(Alexander Fleming)的霉菌无法足够快地生产出青霉素,无法进行大量生产。 直到15年后,实验室工作人员'Mouldy'Mary Hunt在杂货店测试了一种发霉的哈密瓜,并发现了如今用于生产所有青霉素的菌株 阅读更多»

1991年,人们发现心脏具有“小脑”或“内在的心脏神经系统”。 这个“心脏大脑”由大约40,000个神经元组成,它们与大脑中的神经元相似,这意味着心脏具有自己的神经系统。

疼痛:是大脑还是心脏? 摘要审查目的:科学家报告说,疼痛总是由大脑造成的。 这可能并非完全正确。 疼痛不仅是一种感官体验,而且还可能与情感,认知和社交成分有关。 心脏被认为是源头……

1991年,人们发现心脏具有“小脑”或“内在的心脏神经系统”。 这个“心脏大脑”由大约40,000个神经元组成,它们与大脑中的神经元相似,这意味着心脏具有自己的神经系统。 阅读更多»

阿米什人的胡须没有胡须,因为他们将胡须与军队联系在一起,并且是和平主义者

阿米什人胡须(Amish Beard):您需要知道的一切如果您想知道阿米什人胡须是什么,让我们以最简单的术语进行解释。 这是面部胡须,没有胡须的发型。 这种风格具有深厚的宗教色彩,它是识别属于……的人的最简单的标记之一。

阿米什人的胡须没有胡须,因为他们将胡须与军队联系在一起,并且是和平主义者 阅读更多»

认识戴安娜·特鲁希略(Diana Trujillo),尽管她是一名17岁的移民,没有英语技能,口袋里只有300美元,却能从管家一路成为美国宇航局的航空航天工程师,为火星制造机器人手臂。漫游者的毅力。

从青少年移民到NASA工程师:戴安娜·特鲁希略(Diana Trujillo)如何在佛罗里达州火星坦帕市(WFLA)留下自己的印记–戴安娜·特鲁希略(Diana Trujillo)作为哥伦比亚的青少年移民,打扫了房屋,以便在佛罗里达大学接受工程学教育。 现在,她在火星上留下自己的印记。 在这个故事中,“达到……”

认识戴安娜·特鲁希略(Diana Trujillo),尽管她是一名17岁的移民,没有英语技能,口袋里只有300美元,却能从管家一路成为美国宇航局的航空航天工程师,为火星制造机器人手臂。漫游者的毅力。 阅读更多»

65年,史坦顿岛(Staten Island)的1993%投票赞成从纽约市其他地方退居,但其努力遭到了国会的阻挠

纽约的分区与分离“大城市”的存在是纽约州立法机构采取行动的结果,因此,可以通过相同的机制缩小其规模。 1993年在史泰登岛市镇举行了不具约束力的全民公决,以考虑是否应允许其脱离……

65年,史坦顿岛(Staten Island)的1993%投票赞成从纽约市其他地方退居,但其努力遭到了国会的阻挠 阅读更多»

公元前427年,雅典派船前往米蒂利尼(Mytilene),指示其杀死城邦所有成年男子。 第二天,雅典人投票决定改变他们的决定-派出了第二艘船。 整夜奔波,它及时到达米蒂利尼,以防止大屠杀的发生。

伯罗奔尼撒战争中的Mytilenean辩论盟友。 Mytilenean辩论(也称为“ Mytilenaean辩论”)是雅典议会,涉及对城市城市Mytilene的报复,该城市国家在伯罗奔尼撒战争中试图摆脱雅典霸权,但未成功。 辩论发生在公元前427年。 修昔底德在《他的历史》的第三本书中对此进行了报道。

公元前427年,雅典派船前往米蒂利尼(Mytilene),指示其杀死城邦所有成年男子。 第二天,雅典人投票决定改变他们的决定-派出了第二艘船。 整夜奔波,它及时到达米蒂利尼,以防止大屠杀的发生。 阅读更多»

在50年,在美国众议院的地板上遇到一场涉及1858名国会议员的斗殴。当有人敲开男人的假发,男人不小心把假发放回原处,导致双方都笑起来并停止战斗时,斗殴结束了。

劳伦斯·基特(Laurence M. Keitt)5年1858月XNUMX日,在深夜的紧张辩论中,基特(Keitt)在众议院地板上展开了一场激烈的斗殴。 基特(Keitt)被宾夕法尼亚州众议员(后来是众议院议长)冒犯,共和党人加洛莎·A·格罗(Garusha A. Grow)走上了众议院的民主党派,不屑一顾地要求格罗坐下,并呼吁…

在50年,在美国众议院的地板上遇到一场涉及1858名国会议员的斗殴。当有人敲开男人的假发,男人不小心把假发放回原处,导致双方都笑起来并停止战斗时,斗殴结束了。 阅读更多»

Home » Uncategorized

Uncategorized

In order to bolster its waning popularity as a travel hub, Japan’s Kishigawa Train Line appointed a cat named Tama as its new station master in 2007, leading to a huge spike in popularity as a tourist destination. In 2010 a second cat was hired to “assist” Tama with her duties.

Station Master Tama The Cat Today I want to introduce a special spot in Japan that is a must-visit for cat lovers! Of course, there’s Cat Island, but have you heard of the only cat station master in Japan? The Super Station Master Tama is a cat! In Japan even cats can become a station …

In order to bolster its waning popularity as a travel hub, Japan’s Kishigawa Train Line appointed a cat named Tama as its new station master in 2007, leading to a huge spike in popularity as a tourist destination. In 2010 a second cat was hired to “assist” Tama with her duties. Read More »

When Cambridge-trained Dr. Wu correctly diagnosed the 1910 Manchuria pandemic as pneumonic (airborne) plague, french doctor Mesny admonished Dr. Wu using a racial slur and asserting it was bubonic plague. To prove his point, Dr. Mesny toured a plague ward without a mask. He died six days later.

The Plague Fighter: Dr Wu Lien-Teh and His Work The Penang-born doctor helped eradicate the deadly Manchurian pneumonic plague of 1910 and pushed for the use of face masks to prevent its spread. Kevin Y.L. Tan documents his life and work. Wu Lien-Teh Collection, PictureSG, National Library, Singapore. The year 2020 will be remembered as …

When Cambridge-trained Dr. Wu correctly diagnosed the 1910 Manchuria pandemic as pneumonic (airborne) plague, french doctor Mesny admonished Dr. Wu using a racial slur and asserting it was bubonic plague. To prove his point, Dr. Mesny toured a plague ward without a mask. He died six days later. Read More »

Shakuntala Devi from India, also known as the human computer, gave the 23rd root of a 201 digit number in 50 seconds. The answer was verified at the US Bureau of Standards by the UNIVAC 1101 computer, for which a special program had to be written to perform such a large calculation.

Shakuntala Devi Devi travelled to several countries around the world demonstrating her arithmetic talents. She was on a tour of Europe throughout 1950 and was in New York City in 1976. In 1988, she travelled to the US to have her abilities studied by Arthur Jensen, a professor of educational psychology at the University of …

Shakuntala Devi from India, also known as the human computer, gave the 23rd root of a 201 digit number in 50 seconds. The answer was verified at the US Bureau of Standards by the UNIVAC 1101 computer, for which a special program had to be written to perform such a large calculation. Read More »

Alexander Fleming’s mold could not produce penicillin fast enough for mass production; it wasn’t until 15 years later that lab worker ‘Mouldy’ Mary Hunt tested a moldy cantaloupe in a grocery store and discovered the strain that is used to produce all penicillin today

Mouldy Mary and the Cantaloupe It’s a well known story and example of medical serendipity. Alexander Fleming (1881-1955) a Scottish microbiologist who returned to his laboratory following his summer holiday and found his growth plates of Staphylococcal bacteria had been contaminated with mould. Wherever the mould was growing the bacterial cells had been killed. Antibiotics …

Alexander Fleming’s mold could not produce penicillin fast enough for mass production; it wasn’t until 15 years later that lab worker ‘Mouldy’ Mary Hunt tested a moldy cantaloupe in a grocery store and discovered the strain that is used to produce all penicillin today Read More »

In 1991 it was discovered that the heart has its “little brain” or “intrinsic cardiac nervous system.” This “heart brain” is composed of approximately 40,000 neurons that are alike neurons in the brain, meaning that the heart has its own nervous system.

Pain: Is It All in the Brain or the Heart? Abstract Purpose of review: Scientists have reported that pain is always created by the brain. This may not be entirely true. Pain is not only a sensory experience, but also can be associated with emotional, cognitive, and social components. The heart is considered the source …

In 1991 it was discovered that the heart has its “little brain” or “intrinsic cardiac nervous system.” This “heart brain” is composed of approximately 40,000 neurons that are alike neurons in the brain, meaning that the heart has its own nervous system. Read More »

Amish beards have no mustache because they associate them with the military, and they’re pacifists

Amish Beard: Everything You Need To Know If you are wondering what an Amish beard is, let’s explain it in the simplest terms possible. This is a facial hair style that is all beard and no mustache. This style has deep religious undertones, and it’s one of the easiest marks to identify people who belong …

Amish beards have no mustache because they associate them with the military, and they’re pacifists Read More »

Meet Diana Trujillo – who despite being a 17 year old immigrant arriving to America with no English skills and only $300 dollars in her pocket – was able to work her way from housekeeper to becoming an aerospace engineer at NASA who helped create the robotic arm for Mars rover Perseverance.

From teen immigrant to NASA engineer: How Diana Trujillo is leaving her mark on Mars TAMPA, Fla. (WFLA) — As a teen immigrant from Colombia, Diana Trujillo cleaned homes to pay her engineering education at the University of Florida. Now, she’s leaving her mark on Mars. It’s a story where the saying “reach for the …

Meet Diana Trujillo – who despite being a 17 year old immigrant arriving to America with no English skills and only $300 dollars in her pocket – was able to work her way from housekeeper to becoming an aerospace engineer at NASA who helped create the robotic arm for Mars rover Perseverance. Read More »

65% of Staten Island voted to secede from the rest of New York City in 1993, only to have their efforts blocked by the State Assembly

Partition and secession in New York The “Greater City” exists as a result of actions of the New York State Legislature, and, as such, could be reduced in size by the same mechanism. A non-binding referendum in the borough of Staten Island was held in 1993 to consider whether it should be allowed to secede …

65% of Staten Island voted to secede from the rest of New York City in 1993, only to have their efforts blocked by the State Assembly Read More »

In 427BC Athens sent a ship to Mytilene which had instructions to kill all adult men in the city-state. The next day, Athenians voted to change their decision – a second ship was dispatched. Racing through the night, it reached Mytilene just in time to prevent the massacre from happening.

Mytilenean Debate Allies in the Peloponnesian War. The Mytilenean Debate (also spelled “Mytilenaean Debate”) is the Athenian Assembly concerning reprisals against the city-state of Mytilene, which had attempted unsuccessfully to shake off Athenian hegemony during the Peloponnesian War. The Debate occurred in 427 B.C.; Thucydides reports it in book three of his History of the …

In 427BC Athens sent a ship to Mytilene which had instructions to kill all adult men in the city-state. The next day, Athenians voted to change their decision – a second ship was dispatched. Racing through the night, it reached Mytilene just in time to prevent the massacre from happening. Read More »

Meet a brawl involving 50 congressmen on the US House floor in 1858. It ended when someone knocked off a man’s wig and the man accidentally put it back on backwards, causing both sides to laugh and stop fighting.

Laurence M. Keitt On February 5, 1858, Keitt started a massive brawl on the House floor during a tense late-night debate. Keitt, offended by Pennsylvania Congressman (and later Speaker of the House) Galusha A. Grow, a Republican, having stepped over to the Democratic side of the House chamber, dismissively demanded that Grow sit down, calling …

Meet a brawl involving 50 congressmen on the US House floor in 1858. It ended when someone knocked off a man’s wig and the man accidentally put it back on backwards, causing both sides to laugh and stop fighting. Read More »