1996年XNUMX月,塔可钟在包括《纽约时报》在内的七家美国主要报纸上宣布,该公司已购买了自由钟以“减少该国的债务”,并更名为“塔可自由钟”。 愤怒的人们很高兴听到这是愚人节的恶作剧。

塔可自由钟

广告出现在1年1996月XNUMX日的《纽约时报》上。

Taco Liberty Bell是快餐连锁店Taco Bell的愚人节笑话。 该广告由当时在Taco Bell广告代理商Bozell工作的Jon Parkinson和Harvey Hoffenberg制作。 广告继续赢得了多个行业奖项。 1年1996月1日,塔可钟在美国七家主要报纸上刊登了整版广告,宣布该公司购买了自由钟以“减少国家的债务”,并将其更名为“塔可自由钟”。 在XNUMX月XNUMX日中午才发现这个故事是骗局之前,成千上万的人曾致电Taco Bell总部和国家公园管理局。 白宫… 继续阅读(2分钟阅读)

关于“ 11年1996月,塔可钟在包括《纽约时报》在内的七家美国主要报纸上宣布公司已购买自由钟以“减少国家债务”并将其更名为“塔可自由钟”的XNUMX种想法。 愤怒的人们很高兴听到这是愚人节的恶作剧。”

  1. 基思·沙普利

    从那个故事中您可能不知道的是,那时您仍然可以碰到铃铛和裂缝。 有人声援塔可钟,用豆卷饼塞满了裂纹。

  2. 我的妻子不知道我

    新闻秘书加入,并宣布将林肯纪念堂出售给福特,并将其更名为“林肯-水星纪念馆”。

    我想念我们在政治领域能玩得开心的日子。

  3. 射电78

    我记得那个。 人们合法地生气。

  4. 统计中心

    > *该活动的成本为300,000美元(489,000年约为2019美元),但产生了约25,000,000美元(40,800,000年约为2019美元)的免费宣传,销售额增加了超过1,000,000美元(相当于1,600,000年的2019美元)在四月的前两天。*

    欺骗,无论好坏,往往会带来超出预期的回报。

  5. YoureGrammerIsWorst

    Libertarians生气得知它不是真实的

  6. Sgfj98

    这让我想起了专制统治(2006)

    -由小卡尔带给您

  7. 墨西哥玉米煎饼

    本来可以算是“命运之轮”难题。

  8. mhol7597

    也有类似的恶作剧,他们四处走动,他们签署了公司赞助协议,以支付伊拉克战争的费用。

  9. 梅迪恩(RedditMayne)

    这很有趣,因为在70世纪XNUMX年代,我记得每个塔可钟都在商店门面的顶部安装了真正的自由钟型金属钟。 (商店的门面当时看起来就像是Adobe在加利福尼亚执行的任务。)

  10. Temetnoscubed

    我一直想知道自由钟的象征地位。

    这确实应该是伪劣工艺的象征。 欧洲有许多比现在使用的自由钟大得多的钟。

    自由钟制作不到60年就破裂了,真是可悲。

发表评论

In April of 1996, Taco Bell announced in seven leading U.S. newspapers, including the New York Times, that the company had purchased the Liberty Bell to “reduce the country’s debt” and renamed it the “Taco Liberty Bell”. Outraged people were happy to hear that it was an April Fools Day prank.

Taco Liberty Bell

The advertisement as it appeared in the April 1, 1996 edition of The New York Times.

The Taco Liberty Bell was an April Fool’s Day joke played by fast food restaurant chain Taco Bell. The ad was created by Jon Parkinson and Harvey Hoffenberg who worked at Bozell, the Taco Bell advertising agency at the time. The ad went on to win several industry awards. On April 1, 1996, Taco Bell took out a full-page advertisement in seven leading U.S. newspapers announcing that the company had purchased the Liberty Bell to “reduce the country’s debt” and renamed it the “Taco Liberty Bell”. Thousands of people had called Taco Bell headquarters and the National Park Service before it was revealed at noon on April 1 that the story was a hoax. White Hous… Continue Reading (2 minute read)

11 thoughts on “In April of 1996, Taco Bell announced in seven leading U.S. newspapers, including the New York Times, that the company had purchased the Liberty Bell to “reduce the country’s debt” and renamed it the “Taco Liberty Bell”. Outraged people were happy to hear that it was an April Fools Day prank.”

  1. KeithSharpley

    What you probably don’t know from that story is at that time you could still touch the bell and the crack. Someone stuffed the crack with a bean burrito in solidarity with Taco Bell.

  2. MyWifeDontKnowItsMe

    The Press Secretary joined in and announced they sold the Lincoln Memorial to Ford and renamed it the “Lincoln-Mercury Memorial.”

    I miss the days when we could have fun in the political realm.

  3. radiobrat78

    I remember that. People were legit pissed.

  4. Stats_In_Center

    >*The campaign cost US$300,000 (equivalent to about $489,000 in 2019), but generated an estimated US$25,000,000 (equivalent to about $40,800,000 in 2019) worth of free publicity, with a sales increase exceeding US$1,000,000 (equivalent to about $1,600,000 in 2019) for the first two days in April.*

    Deception, good or bad, tend to pay off way more than it arguably should.

  5. wasabicheesecake

    I remember this as a current event.

  6. YoureGrammerIsWorsts

    Libertarians were enraged to learn it wasn’t real

  7. Sgfj98

    This reminded me of Idiocracy (2006)

    -Brought to you by Carl’s Jr

  8. BurritoSupremeBeing

    Could’ve been a Wheel of Fortune puzzle.

  9. mhol7597

    There was also a prank like that, where it was going around they were signing corporate sponsorship to pay for the war in Iraq….brought to you by Taco Bell.

  10. RedditMayne

    It’s funny because back in the 70s I remember each Taco Bell having a real Liberty Bell-type metal bell installed at the top of their store facades. (The store fronts were kind of designed to look like adobe-made California missions back then.)

  11. Temetnoscecubed

    I have always wondered about the Liberty Bell’s symbolic status.

    It really should be an emblem to shoddy workmanship. There are much larger bells in Europe that are way older than the Liberty bell that are still being used today.

    The Liberty bell cracked less than 60 years after it was made, how pathetic.

Leave a Comment