في أبريل من عام 1996 ، أعلن تاكو بيل في سبع صحف أمريكية رائدة ، بما في ذلك نيويورك تايمز ، أن الشركة قد اشترت ليبرتي بيل "لتخفيض ديون البلاد" وأعادت تسميتها "تاكو ليبرتي بيل". كان الناس الغاضبون سعداء لسماع أنها كانت مزحة في يوم كذبة أبريل.

تاكو ليبرتي بيل

الإعلان كما ظهر في عدد 1 أبريل 1996 من صحيفة نيويورك تايمز.

كانت Taco Liberty Bell نكتة يوم كذبة أبريل لعبت من قبل سلسلة مطاعم الوجبات السريعة تاكو بيل. تم إنشاء الإعلان بواسطة Jon Parkinson و Harvey Hoffenberg الذي عمل في Bozell ، وكالة إعلانات Taco Bell في ذلك الوقت. ذهب الإعلان للفوز بالعديد من الجوائز الصناعية. في الأول من نيسان (أبريل) 1 ، نشر تاكو بيل إعلانًا على صفحة كاملة في سبع صحف أمريكية رائدة أعلن فيه أن الشركة قد اشترت ليبرتي بيل "لتخفيض ديون البلاد" وأطلق عليها اسم "تاكو ليبرتي بيل". كان الآلاف من الأشخاص قد اتصلوا بمقر تاكو بيل وخدمة المنتزهات الوطنية قبل ظهر يوم 1996 أبريل / نيسان أن القصة كانت خدعة. البيت الأبيض ... مواصلة القراءة (قراءة 2 دقائق)

11 فكرة حول "في أبريل من عام 1996 ، أعلن تاكو بيل في سبع صحف أمريكية رائدة ، بما في ذلك نيويورك تايمز ، أن الشركة قد اشترت ليبرتي بيل" لتخفيض ديون البلاد "وأطلق عليها اسم" تاكو ليبرتي بيل ". كان الناس الغاضبون سعداء لسماع أنها كانت مزحة في يوم كذبة أبريل ".

  1. كيث شاربلي

    ما لا تعرفه على الأرجح من تلك القصة هو أنه في ذلك الوقت لا يزال بإمكانك لمس الجرس والصدع. شخص ما حشو الكراك بفاصوليا بوريتو تضامناً مع تاكو بيل.

  2. MyWifeDontKnowItsMe

    انضم السكرتير الصحفي وأعلنوا أنهم باعوا نصب لنكولن التذكاري لشركة فورد وأعادوا تسميته "لنكولن ميركوري ميموريال".

    أفتقد الأيام التي كان بإمكاننا فيها قضاء وقت ممتع في المجال السياسي.

  3. راديوبرات 78

    أتذكر أن. كان الناس غاضبين شرعيًا.

  4. الإحصائيات_المركز

    > * تكلفة الحملة 300,000 دولار أمريكي (ما يعادل حوالي 489,000 دولار أمريكي في عام 2019) ، لكنها ولدت ما يقدر بنحو 25,000,000 دولار أمريكي (ما يعادل حوالي 40,800,000 دولار أمريكي في عام 2019) من الدعاية المجانية ، مع زيادة في المبيعات تجاوزت 1,000,000 دولار أمريكي (أي ما يعادل حوالي 1,600,000 دولار أمريكي في عام 2019) لأول يومين من شهر أبريل. *

    يميل الخداع ، سواء كان جيدًا أو سيئًا ، إلى دفع ثماره أكثر مما ينبغي.

  5. كعكة الوسابيش

    أتذكر هذا كحدث حالي.

  6. YoureGrammerIsWorsts

    كان الليبرتاريون غاضبين عندما علموا أنه ليس حقيقيًا

  7. Sgfj98

    ذكرني هذا بـ Idiocracy (2006).

    -مقدَّمه لك كارل جونيور

  8. بوريتو

    يمكن أن يكون لغز عجلة الحظ.

  9. mhol7597

    كانت هناك أيضًا مزحة من هذا القبيل ، حيث كانوا يوقعون على رعاية الشركات لدفع ثمن الحرب في العراق ... قدمها لك تاكو بيل.

  10. رديت ماين

    إنه أمر مضحك لأنني في السبعينيات أتذكر أن كل تاكو بيل لديها جرس معدني حقيقي من نوع Liberty Bell مثبت في الجزء العلوي من واجهات متاجرهم. (كانت واجهات المتجر نوعًا ما مصممة لتبدو وكأنها مهام كاليفورنيا المصنوعة من اللبن في ذلك الوقت).

  11. Temetnoscecubed

    لطالما تساءلت عن المكانة الرمزية لجرس الحرية.

    يجب أن يكون حقًا شعارًا للصنعة الرديئة. هناك أجراس أكبر بكثير في أوروبا أقدم بكثير من جرس الحرية والتي لا تزال تستخدم حتى اليوم.

    تحطم جرس الحرية بعد أقل من 60 عامًا من صنعه ، يا للشفقة.

اترك تعليق

In April of 1996, Taco Bell announced in seven leading U.S. newspapers, including the New York Times, that the company had purchased the Liberty Bell to “reduce the country’s debt” and renamed it the “Taco Liberty Bell”. Outraged people were happy to hear that it was an April Fools Day prank.

Taco Liberty Bell

The advertisement as it appeared in the April 1, 1996 edition of The New York Times.

The Taco Liberty Bell was an April Fool’s Day joke played by fast food restaurant chain Taco Bell. The ad was created by Jon Parkinson and Harvey Hoffenberg who worked at Bozell, the Taco Bell advertising agency at the time. The ad went on to win several industry awards. On April 1, 1996, Taco Bell took out a full-page advertisement in seven leading U.S. newspapers announcing that the company had purchased the Liberty Bell to “reduce the country’s debt” and renamed it the “Taco Liberty Bell”. Thousands of people had called Taco Bell headquarters and the National Park Service before it was revealed at noon on April 1 that the story was a hoax. White Hous… Continue Reading (2 minute read)

11 thoughts on “In April of 1996, Taco Bell announced in seven leading U.S. newspapers, including the New York Times, that the company had purchased the Liberty Bell to “reduce the country’s debt” and renamed it the “Taco Liberty Bell”. Outraged people were happy to hear that it was an April Fools Day prank.”

  1. KeithSharpley

    What you probably don’t know from that story is at that time you could still touch the bell and the crack. Someone stuffed the crack with a bean burrito in solidarity with Taco Bell.

  2. MyWifeDontKnowItsMe

    The Press Secretary joined in and announced they sold the Lincoln Memorial to Ford and renamed it the “Lincoln-Mercury Memorial.”

    I miss the days when we could have fun in the political realm.

  3. radiobrat78

    I remember that. People were legit pissed.

  4. Stats_In_Center

    >*The campaign cost US$300,000 (equivalent to about $489,000 in 2019), but generated an estimated US$25,000,000 (equivalent to about $40,800,000 in 2019) worth of free publicity, with a sales increase exceeding US$1,000,000 (equivalent to about $1,600,000 in 2019) for the first two days in April.*

    Deception, good or bad, tend to pay off way more than it arguably should.

  5. wasabicheesecake

    I remember this as a current event.

  6. YoureGrammerIsWorsts

    Libertarians were enraged to learn it wasn’t real

  7. Sgfj98

    This reminded me of Idiocracy (2006)

    -Brought to you by Carl’s Jr

  8. BurritoSupremeBeing

    Could’ve been a Wheel of Fortune puzzle.

  9. mhol7597

    There was also a prank like that, where it was going around they were signing corporate sponsorship to pay for the war in Iraq….brought to you by Taco Bell.

  10. RedditMayne

    It’s funny because back in the 70s I remember each Taco Bell having a real Liberty Bell-type metal bell installed at the top of their store facades. (The store fronts were kind of designed to look like adobe-made California missions back then.)

  11. Temetnoscecubed

    I have always wondered about the Liberty Bell’s symbolic status.

    It really should be an emblem to shoddy workmanship. There are much larger bells in Europe that are way older than the Liberty bell that are still being used today.

    The Liberty bell cracked less than 60 years after it was made, how pathetic.

Leave a Comment