大叉子安东尼·布尔登

谁是背后的天才–大叉子:128条点评中的美国丁宁历史?

当连锁餐厅开始在小镇上开业时会发生什么? 这种独特的观点使Anthony Bourdain出版了这本书– 大叉子:美国晚餐的历史(128条评论).

玛丽莲·黑格蒂(Marilyn Hagerty)早在2012年就在橄榄园(Olive Garden)上发表了评论。这对餐厅是一个非常积极的看法,但它更多地侧重于装饰而不是食物。 直到安东尼·布尔登(Anthony Bourdain)决定发表她的评论之前,她一直被残酷地嘲笑。

谁是玛丽莲·哈格蒂(Marilyn Hagerty)?

玛丽莲·黑格蒂(Marilyn Hagerty)自1957年以来就担任《大叉子先驱报》的报纸专栏作家。 杰克·哈格蒂(Jack Hagerty)担任编辑。 27年以来,她一直在北达科他州大福克斯(Grand Forks)的餐厅现场报道。 她一直在为该地区的几家餐馆撰写评论。 (来源: 噬魂)

她在2012年对橄榄园的一次正面评价中出名。 布尔丹称她的工作是人们真正看不到或谈论的真诚和真实的食物报道。 他继续描述玛丽莲(Marilyn)从来都不是什么意思,即使情况需要时,她也将很难找到一个关于她明显不喜欢的地方的好话要说。 她的儿子写itu告,也形容他的母亲是一个非常善良的女人,永远不会说任何不好的话。 如果她对食物或服务不满意,她会谈论装饰。 (来源: 噬魂)

《橄榄园评论》是关于什么的?

如果您尚未阅读评论,则会找到它 点击此处。 简而言之,该评论绝对是积极的。 现在,这有问题的原因是,对连锁餐厅的评论撰写并未受到食品评论家的推崇。

她的成名开始于另一位评论家以相当谦逊的语气在博客上发表了关于她的评论的评论。 在短短几个小时内,该职位迅速传开,玛丽莲·黑格蒂(Marilyn Hagerty)成为了该镇的话题。 很多人,特别是Reddit上的人,对她取笑,因为她对橄榄园非常热心。 这是一发不可收拾的事,但玛丽莲并没有真正受到嘲讽的影响。 她一直在审查其他连锁餐厅,例如Taco Bell,Subway甚至是McDonald's,而且不受关注。 (来源: 波浪式网上冲浪)

你应该读她的书吗?

之后,媒体马戏团和大量不必要的关注。 著名作家兼厨师; 安东尼·布尔登(Anthony Bourdain)上前为玛丽莲·黑格蒂(Marilyn Hagerty)提书。 他鼓励每个人都读这本书,说: “阅读这些评论,我们可以看到,我们可以观察时间的推移,谁在做,谁没有。 您将了解为什么会真诚地期望开放橄榄园是一个令人兴奋且令人欢迎的活动。 Bourdain写道,她的评论提供了关于美国就餐的迷人图片,它是我们从那里到这里的渐进式累积概述。” (资源: 噬魂)

一天结束时,人们应该记住每个城镇的不同之处。 大福克斯毕竟不是纽约。 在大城市中常见的事物在其他城市中似乎宏伟而复杂。

关于“谁在背后是天才–大叉子:5条点评中的美国丁宁历史”的128条思考

  1. 光滑人

    由于我没有看到任何发布者,因此这是该死的评论:

    经过漫长的等待,橄榄园在大福克斯(Grand Forks)开业之后,二月的排队很长。 新奇事物正在慢慢消失,但是稳定的追随者证明了热烈的欢迎。

    我第一次访问Olive Garden是在午后,所以我可以肯定会进去。早餐后,我觉得晚午餐会很时髦。

    这个地方令人印象深刻。 它采用托斯卡纳农舍风格建造,并设有温馨的入口。 有等待者的座位。

    我的展位在厨房附近,我看着服务员穿着白衬衫,领带,黑色长裤和围裙,上面装饰着金色毛巾。 他们正忙着中午,点菜,做面包和意大利面。

    自从我在法戈(Fargo)的旧橄榄园(Olive Garden)进餐以来已经有几年了,所以我研究了两种可管理的菜单,包括开胃菜,汤和沙拉,烤三明治,比萨,经典菜肴,鸡肉和海鲜以及意大利面。

    最后,我问服务器我会建议什么。 她建议鸡肉阿尔弗雷多(Alfredo),我同意了。 我喝了水而不是她建议的覆盆子柠檬水。

    她首先给我带来了熟悉的Olive Garden色拉碗,上面放有青菜,胡椒,洋葱圈,是的-几个黑橄榄。 随之而来的是一盘带有两个长而温暖的面包棒的盘子。

    鸡肉阿尔弗雷多(Alfredo)($ 10.95)在寒冷的天气里既温暖又舒适。 这部分很慷慨。 我的服务器已准备好帕尔马干酪。

    吃的时候,我注意到花瓶和花槽在壁架上有永久的花架。 有几个用餐区,带拱形门道。 还有一个壁炉,为装饰增添了温暖。

    橄榄园在入口的右边有一个迷人的酒吧区。 该餐厅拥有完整的酒牌和酒单,提供多种选择来补充意大利美食。 非酒精饮料包括冷却器,特色咖啡和热茶。

    在炎热的夏日,我将尝试推荐的覆盆子柠檬水。

    每天下午4点之前提供自制汤,沙拉和面包棒午餐,价格为$ 6.95。

    菜单项上的橄榄枝表示低脂主菜。 有一份《花园票价营养指南》可供寻求无麸质食物的顾客使用。 对于那些对食物过敏的人,Olive Garden提供了《过敏原信息指南》。

    总而言之,这是格兰德福克斯如今最大,最美丽的餐厅。 它吸引了外地的游客以及住在这里的人们。

    Olive Garden是Darden连锁餐厅的一部分,该餐厅还经营Red Lobster。 北达科他州的主要城市约有700家餐厅,其中包括四个橄榄园。

    自1982年以来,橄榄园以其充足的空间和轻松的氛围赢得了追随者。 它以经典的千层面,意大利细面条Alfredo和鸡肉Parmigiana闻名。

  2. matty80

    当您可以订购半个三明治时,可以喝一杯汤。

    好的,这是我的经验。 我来自英国,直到几年前我才真正体验过经典的美国“家庭餐馆/餐厅”。 我和我的妻子正去参加婚礼,有一天开车开车时感觉疲惫不堪,有点宿醉,只是想找个地方吃午饭。

    我们遇到了珀金斯。 我认为这是“小吃”的来源,但实际上我从未听说过这个地方。 我们进去,坐下,一个非常友好的老太太走了,我们点了冰茶,半三明治和一杯汤,然后坐在那儿含糊不清的美国幸福感中呆了一个小时,吃着这东西。 我们甚至吃过馅饼。

    你知道吗? 除了开玩笑,这实际上真的非常非常好。 我听说这位女士来自哪里。 只是坐在一个模糊的宿醉模糊之中,而一个好人会填满你的冰茶和东西,这有很多话可说。

    对她好。

  3. 星星

    安东尼提到从高中开始就一直是个瘦弱的小孩,被欺负了。 青春期受到打击,他的身高达到6'4“,所以欺凌行为停止了。

    他从来没有忘记过自己脆弱。 我怀疑这给他的态度和世界观增色不少。 当然,这与他为何亲自接受这个甜蜜的老妇人的评论受到贬低有关。

  4. 你太过分了

    她从来都不是刻薄的,即使情况明显会成为借口,也是残酷的言论。 实际上,看着玛丽莲努力寻找一个关于她显然讨厌的地方的好话很有趣。 毫无疑问,她首先是一位好邻居和好公民,其次是演艺圈。

    凡是从事这项工作的人,除了哈格蒂女士所吸引的事物之外,还有她所描述的地方和人物,都具有坚强的内心。

    这本书杀死了斯纳克死了。

    Bourdain总是很乐意退后一步,指出最好的东西。

    “当我们面对一盘食物之类的简单事物时,一时或一秒钟,愤世嫉俗,厌倦,割喉,痛苦的混蛋的表情,我们都必须消失了。 ”

  5. murdo1tj

    “如果您与人坐下,然后说:'嘿,什么让您开心? 你喜欢吃什么? 他们会告诉您非凡的事物,其中许多与食物无关” – Anthony Bourdain

    我想他在和这个女人说话时使用了这种哲学。 大视野

发表评论

Who is the Genius Behind – Grand Forks: A History of American Dinning in 128 Reviews?

What happens when restaurant chains start opening in small towns? This unique point of view convinced Anthony Bourdain to publish the book – Grand Forks: A History of American Dinning in 128 Reviews.

Marilyn Hagerty, wrote a review on the Olive Garden back in 2012. It was a very positive take on the restaurant, but it focused more on the decor rather than the food. She was mocked mercilessly until Anthony Bourdain decided to publish her reviews.

Who is Marilyn Hagerty?

Marilyn Hagerty was a newspaper columnist for the Grand Forks Herald since 1957 when her husband; Jack Hagerty became the editor. For 27 years, she has been covering the restaurant scene in Grand Forks, North Dakota. She has been writing reviews for several restaurants in the area. (Source: Eater)

She became famous in 2012 in her oddly positive review of the Olive Garden. Bourdain calls her work a sincere and genuine reportage of food that people don’t really see or talk about. He goes on to describing how Marilyn is never mean even when the situation calls for it, she will struggle to find something nice to say about a place she clearly dislikes. Her son, who writes obituaries, also describes his mother as a very kind woman who will never say anything bad. That if she is displeased with the food or service, she will talk about the decor. (Source: Eater)

What is the Olive Garden Review About?

If you haven’t read the review yet, you will find it here. In a nutshell, the review was overwhelmingly positive. Now, the reason why this was problematic was the fact that writing reviews for chain restaurants weren’t as respected amongst food critics.

Her rise to fame started when another critic wrote about her review on their blog using quite a condescending tone. In a matter of hours, the post went viral and Marilyn Hagerty became the talk of the town. A lot of people, especially those on Reddit, poked fun at her for how she was very enthusiastic about the Olive Garden. This was something that got out of hand but Marilyn wasn’t really affected by the mockery. She had been reviewing other chain restaurants like Taco Bell, Subway, and even McDonald’s for quite some time and is unfazed by the attention. (Source: Wavy Web Surf)

Should You Read Her Book?

After the media circus and tons of unwanted attention. The famous author and chef; Anthony Bourdain stepped and offered Marilyn Hagerty a book deal. He encourages everyone to read the book by saying: “Reading these reviews, we can see, we can watch over the course of time, who makes it and who doesn’t. And you will understand why the opening of an Olive Garden might be earnestly anticipated as an exciting and much welcome event. Her reviews, writes Bourdain, offer up a fascinating picture of dining in America, a gradual, cumulative overview of how we got from there to here.” (Source: Eater)

At the end of they day, people should remember how it’s different in each town. Grand Forks is not New York after all. What may be common in big cities may seem grand and sophisticated in others.

5 thoughts on “Who is the Genius Behind – Grand Forks: A History of American Dinning in 128 Reviews?”

  1. slickguy

    Since I didn’t see anyone who posted it, here’s the damn review:

    After a lengthy wait for Olive Garden to open in Grand Forks, the lines were long in February. The novelty is slowly wearing off, but the steady following attests the warm welcome.

    My first visit to Olive Garden was during midafternoon, so I could be sure to get in. After a late breakfast, I figured a late lunch would be fashionable.

    The place is impressive. It’s fashioned in Tuscan farmhouse style with a welcoming entryway. There is seating for those who are waiting.

    My booth was near the kitchen, and I watched the waiters in white shirts, ties, black trousers and aprons adorned with gold-colored towels. They were busy at midday, punching in orders and carrying out bread and pasta.

    It had been a few years since I ate at the older Olive Garden in Fargo, so I studied the two manageable menus offering appetizers, soups and salads, grilled sandwiches, pizza, classic dishes, chicken and seafood and filled pastas.

    At length, I asked my server what she would recommend. She suggested chicken Alfredo, and I went with that. Instead of the raspberry lemonade she suggested, I drank water.

    She first brought me the familiar Olive Garden salad bowl with crisp greens, peppers, onion rings and yes — several black olives. Along with it came a plate with two long, warm breadsticks.

    The chicken Alfredo ($10.95) was warm and comforting on a cold day. The portion was generous. My server was ready with Parmesan cheese.

    As I ate, I noticed the vases and planters with permanent flower displays on the ledges. There are several dining areas with arched doorways. And there is a fireplace that adds warmth to the decor.

    Olive Garden has an attractive bar area to the right of the entryway. The restaurant has a full liquor license and a wine list offering a wide selection to complement Italian meals. Nonalcoholic beverages include coolers, specialty coffees and hot teas.

    On a hot summer day, I will try the raspberry lemonade that was recommended.

    There’s a homemade soup, salad and breadstick lunch available until 4 p.m. daily for $6.95.

    An olive branch on menu items signified low-fat entrees. There is a Garden Fare Nutrition Guide available for customers seeking gluten-free food. And for those with food allergies, Olive Garden has an Allergen Information Guide.

    All in all, it is the largest and most beautiful restaurant now operating in Grand Forks. It attracts visitors from out of town as well as people who live here.

    Olive Garden is part of the Darden chain of restaurants that also operates Red Lobster. There are about 700 restaurants, including four Olive Gardens in North Dakota’s major cities.

    Olive Garden has gained a following since 1982 with its ample portions and relaxed ambience. It’s known for its classic lasagna, fettuccine Alfredo and chicken Parmigiana.

  2. matty80

    When you could order a half sandwich, a cup of soup.

    Okay, so here’s my experience of this. I’m from the UK, and I’d never really experienced the classic American ‘family restaurant/diner’ thing until a few years ago. My wife and I were visiting for a wedding and were driving around one day feeling knackered and a bit hungover, and just looking for somewhere to grab lunch.

    We came across a Perkins. I assume this is where the ‘snark’ comes from but, really I’d never heard of this place. We went in, sat down, a really friendly old lady came over, we ordered iced tea, a half-sandwich and a cup of soup each, and then sat there in vaguely Americana-fuelled sedate happiness for an hour eating and drinking this stuff. We even had pie.

    You know what? All joking aside, it was actually just really, really nice. I hear where this lady is coming from. There’s a lot to be said for just sitting there in a vaguely hungover fuzz while a nice person fills up up your iced tea and stuff.

    Good on her.

  3. starstarstar42

    Anthony mentioned being a skinny, small kid through the start of high school and being bullied. Puberty hit and he ended up 6’4″, so the bullying stopped.

    He never forgot about being vulnerable though. That colored his attitude and world-view a lot I suspect. It certainly had something to do with why he took, so personally, issue with how this sweet old lady’s reviews were denigrated.

  4. TooShiftyForYou

    She is never mean—even when circumstances would clearly excuse a sharp elbow, a cruel remark. In fact, watching Marilyn struggle to find something nice to say about a place she clearly loathes is part of the fun. She is, unfailingly, a good neighbor and good citizen first—and entertainer second.

    Anyone who comes away from this work anything less than charmed by Ms. Hagerty—and the places and characters she describes—has a heart of stone.

    This book kills snark dead.

    Bourdain was always great at taking a step back and pointing out the best in things.

    “For a moment, or a second, the pinched expressions of the cynical, world-weary, throat-cutting, miserable bastards we’ve all had to become disappears, when we’re confronted with something as simple as a plate of food.”

  5. murdo1tj

    “If you sit down with people and just say, ‘Hey what makes you happy? What do you like to eat?’ They’ll tell you extraordinary things, many of which have nothing to do with food” – Anthony Bourdain

    I imagine he used this type of philosophy when talking to this woman. Great perspective

Leave a Comment