كتبت امرأة تبلغ من العمر 86 عامًا مراجعة متفائلة لصحيفتها المحلية حول حديقة الزيتون الجديدة. لقد سخر منها الإنترنت بلا رحمة. اعتقد أنتوني بوردان أن لديها وجهة نظر قيمة في تناول الطعام في بلدة صغيرة. لذلك نشر كتابًا عن مراجعاتها.

إليكم مقدمة أنتوني بوردان لكتاب مارلين هاجرتي "غراند فوركس"

ها هي المقدمة التي كتبها أنطوني بوردان لـ جراند فوركس هيرالد كتاب ناقد المطعم الجديد مارلين هاجرتي ، جراند فوركس: تاريخ تناول الطعام الأمريكي في 128 تعليقًا. أصبحت هاجرتي اسمًا مألوفًا في عام 2012 عندما كانت مراجعة إيجابية ل حديقة الزيتون في غراند فوركس بولاية نورث داكوتا ، أصبحت ظاهرة فيروسية على الإنترنت: فقد تبنى القراء مراجعة الثمانينية المفعمة بصدق لسلسلة المطاعم ، والتي وصفتها بـ "أكبر وأجمل مطعم يعمل حاليًا في غراند فوركس".

في السيرك الإعلامي الذي أعقب ذلك ، ذهب هاجرتي على جولة meta media في مدينة نيويوركظهر على اليوم إظهارضيف الحكم على أعلى الشيفو حصلت على صفقة كتاب على بوردان بصمة مع Ecco. عندما تم الإعلان عن الكتاب ، وصف بوردان عمل هاجرتي الجماعي بأنه "تاريخ من الطعام الأمريكي" و "تقرير حقيقي وصادق عن الطعام الذي لا يراه الناس أو يتحدثون عنه حقًا".

تم نشر الكتاب بواسطة Ecco / Anthony Bourdain Books في عام 2013 ، وهو عبارة عن مجموعة من مراجعات Hagerty وهو ، كما قال بوردان، "ترياق النخر" مع تقييمات مباشرة للمطاعم في وحول غراند فوركس ، داكوتا الشمالية. هاجرتي شخصية مثيرة للجدل إلى حد كبير ، ويسمح الناشر لآيتر بتشغيل مقدمة بوردان بالكامل.

أدناه ، يشرح بوردان لماذا يجب على الناس قراءة الكتاب. "قراءة هذه المراجعات ، يمكننا أن نرى ، يمكننا أن نراقب على مدار الوقت ، من يصنعها ومن لا يفعل. ... وستفهم لماذا قد يكون افتتاح حديقة الزيتون متوقعًا بجدية باعتباره حدثًا مثيرًا ومرحبًا به كثيرًا ". كتب بوردان أن مراجعاتها تقدم "صورة رائعة لتناول الطعام في أمريكا ، نظرة عامة تدريجية تراكمية عن كيفية وصولنا من هناك ... إلى هنا." أدناه ، المقدمة: مواصلة القراءة (قراءة 5 دقائق)

5 أفكار حول "كتبت فتاة تبلغ من العمر 86 عامًا مراجعة متفائلة لصحيفتها المحلية حول حديقة زيتون جديدة. لقد سخرت بلا رحمة من الإنترنت. اعتقد أنتوني بوردان أن لديها وجهة نظر قيمة في تناول الطعام في بلدة صغيرة. لذلك نشر كتابًا عن مراجعاتها ".

  1. سليكجوي

    نظرًا لأنني لم أر أي شخص نشره ، فإليك المراجعة اللعينة:

    بعد انتظار طويل لفتح Olive Garden في Grand Forks ، كانت الخطوط طويلة في فبراير. الحداثة تتلاشى ببطء ، لكن المتابعة الثابتة تشهد على الترحيب الحار.

    كانت زيارتي الأولى إلى أوليف جاردن في منتصف فترة الظهيرة ، لذا يمكنني التأكد من الدخول. بعد تناول وجبة الإفطار في وقت متأخر ، اعتقدت أن تناول الغداء في وقت متأخر سيكون رائجًا.

    المكان مثير للإعجاب. إنه مصمم على طراز مزرعة توسكان مع مدخل ترحاب. هناك أماكن جلوس لمن ينتظرون.

    كان كشكي بالقرب من المطبخ ، وشاهدت النوادل يرتدون قمصانًا بيضاء وربطات عنق وسراويل سوداء ومآزر مزينة بمناشف ذهبية اللون. كانوا مشغولين في منتصف النهار ، يلكمون الطلبات ويحملون الخبز والمعكرونة.

    لقد مرت بضع سنوات منذ أن أكلت في مطعم Olive Garden الأقدم في فارجو ، لذلك درست قائمتين يمكن التحكم فيهما يقدمان المقبلات والحساء والسلطات والسندويشات المشوية والبيتزا والأطباق الكلاسيكية والدجاج والمأكولات البحرية والباستا المحشوة.

    مطولاً ، سألت الخادم الخاص بي عما ستوصي به. اقترحت دجاج ألفريدو ، وذهبت مع ذلك. بدلاً من عصير الليمون التوت الذي اقترحته ، شربت الماء.

    أحضرت لي أولاً وعاء سلطة أوليف جاردن المألوف مع الخضار الهش والفلفل وحلقات البصل ونعم - عدة زيتون أسود. إلى جانب ذلك ، جاء طبق به اثنين من أعواد الخبز الدافئة.

    كان دجاج ألفريدو (10.95 دولارًا) دافئًا ومريحًا في يوم بارد. الجزء كان سخيا. كان الخادم الخاص بي جاهزًا بجبن البارميزان.

    عندما كنت أتناول الطعام ، لاحظت أن المزهريات والمزارع مع عروض أزهار دائمة على الحواف. يوجد العديد من مناطق تناول الطعام ذات المداخل المقوسة. ويوجد مدفأة تضيف الدفء للديكور.

    تحتوي حديقة الزيتون على منطقة بار جذابة على يمين المدخل. يتمتع المطعم بترخيص كامل للمشروبات الكحولية وقائمة نبيذ تقدم مجموعة واسعة من الوجبات الإيطالية. تشمل المشروبات غير الكحولية المبردات وأنواع القهوة المتخصصة والشاي الساخن.

    في أحد أيام الصيف الحارة ، سأجرب عصير توت العليق الموصى به.

    يتوفر حساء محلي الصنع وسلطة وعصا الخبز حتى الساعة 4 مساءً يوميًا مقابل 6.95 دولارًا.

    يشير غصن الزيتون في عناصر القائمة إلى مقبلات قليلة الدسم. يتوفر دليل التغذية الخاص بأجرة الحديقة للعملاء الباحثين عن طعام خالٍ من الغلوتين. ولأولئك الذين يعانون من الحساسية تجاه الطعام ، فإن أوليف جاردن لديها دليل معلومات عن مسببات الحساسية

    الكل في الكل ، إنه أكبر وأجمل مطعم يعمل الآن في جراند فوركس. يجذب الزوار من خارج المدينة وكذلك الأشخاص الذين يعيشون هنا.

    تعتبر Olive Garden جزءًا من سلسلة مطاعم Darden التي تدير أيضًا Red Lobster. يوجد حوالي 700 مطعم ، بما في ذلك أربعة حدائق الزيتون في المدن الرئيسية في داكوتا الشمالية.

    اكتسبت حديقة أوليف جاردن أتباعًا منذ عام 1982 بأجزاءها الوفيرة وأجواءها المريحة. تشتهر باللازانيا الكلاسيكية ، فيتوتشيني ألفريدو ودجاج بارميجيانا.

  2. matty80

    عندما يمكنك طلب نصف شطيرة ، فنجان من الحساء.

    حسنًا ، ها هي تجربتي في هذا. أنا من المملكة المتحدة ، ولم أجرب حقًا شيء "المطعم / العشاء" الأمريكي الكلاسيكي حتى قبل بضع سنوات. كنت أنا وزوجتي في زيارة لحضور حفل زفاف ، وكنا نتجول في يوم من الأيام نشعر بالبراعة والقليل من الجوع ، ونبحث فقط عن مكان لتناول الغداء.

    لقد جئنا عبر بيركنز. أفترض أن هذا هو المكان الذي يأتي منه "النخر" ولكني لم أسمع بهذا المكان في الحقيقة. دخلنا ، وجلسنا ، وحضرت سيدة عجوز ودودة حقًا ، وطلبنا الشاي المثلج ، ونصف شطيرة وكوب من الحساء لكل منهما ، ثم جلسنا هناك في سعادة رصينة غامضة تغذيها أمريكانا لمدة ساعة لتناول هذه الأشياء وشربها . حتى أننا تناولنا فطيرة.

    أتعلم؟ بغض النظر عن المزاح ، كان الأمر رائعًا حقًا حقًا. أسمع من أين تأتي هذه السيدة. هناك الكثير مما يمكن قوله لمجرد الجلوس هناك في زغب غامض بينما يملأ شخص لطيف الشاي المثلج وأشياءك.

    جيد عليها.

  3. نجم النجوم 42

    ذكر أنتوني أنه طفل صغير نحيف خلال بداية المدرسة الثانوية وتعرضه للتنمر. بلغ سن البلوغ وانتهى به الأمر 6'4 ″ ، لذلك توقف التنمر.

    لم ينس أبدًا كونه ضعيفًا. أعتقد أن هذا لون موقفه ونظرته للعالم كثيرًا. من المؤكد أنه كان له علاقة بالسبب الذي جعله يأخذ ، شخصيًا ، مشكلة في كيفية تشويه آراء هذه السيدة العجوز اللطيفة.

  4. TooShiftyForYou

    إنها ليست لئيمة أبدًا - حتى عندما تبرر الظروف بوضوح مرفقًا حادًا ، وهي ملاحظة قاسية. في الواقع ، مشاهدة مارلين تكافح للعثور على شيء لطيف لتقوله عن مكان تكرهه بوضوح هو جزء من المرح. إنها ، بلا كلل ، جارة جيدة ومواطنة صالحة أولاً - وفنانة ثانيًا.

    أي شخص يبتعد عن هذا العمل بأي شيء أقل من سحر السيدة هاجرتي - والأماكن والشخصيات التي تصفها - لديه قلب من الحجر.

    هذا الكتاب يقتل شرك ميتا.

    كان بوردان دائمًا رائعًا في التراجع والإشارة إلى الأفضل في الأشياء.

    "للحظة ، أو ثانية ، تختفي التعبيرات المضغوطة للأوغاد البائسين الساخطين ، المرهقين من العالم ، الذين يقطعون الحلق ، والذين كان علينا جميعًا أن نصبح ، عندما نواجه شيئًا بسيطًا مثل طبق من الطعام. "

  5. موردو 1 تي

    "إذا جلست مع الناس وقلت فقط ،" ما الذي يجعلك سعيدًا؟ ماذا تريد أن تأكل؟' سيقولون لك أشياء غير عادية ، كثير منها لا علاقة له بالطعام "- أنتوني بوردان

    أتخيل أنه استخدم هذا النوع من الفلسفة عند التحدث إلى هذه المرأة. منظور رائع

اترك تعليق

Who is the Genius Behind – Grand Forks: A History of American Dinning in 128 Reviews?

What happens when restaurant chains start opening in small towns? This unique point of view convinced Anthony Bourdain to publish the book – Grand Forks: A History of American Dinning in 128 Reviews.

Marilyn Hagerty, wrote a review on the Olive Garden back in 2012. It was a very positive take on the restaurant, but it focused more on the decor rather than the food. She was mocked mercilessly until Anthony Bourdain decided to publish her reviews.

Who is Marilyn Hagerty?

Marilyn Hagerty was a newspaper columnist for the Grand Forks Herald since 1957 when her husband; Jack Hagerty became the editor. For 27 years, she has been covering the restaurant scene in Grand Forks, North Dakota. She has been writing reviews for several restaurants in the area. (Source: Eater)

She became famous in 2012 in her oddly positive review of the Olive Garden. Bourdain calls her work a sincere and genuine reportage of food that people don’t really see or talk about. He goes on to describing how Marilyn is never mean even when the situation calls for it, she will struggle to find something nice to say about a place she clearly dislikes. Her son, who writes obituaries, also describes his mother as a very kind woman who will never say anything bad. That if she is displeased with the food or service, she will talk about the decor. (Source: Eater)

What is the Olive Garden Review About?

If you haven’t read the review yet, you will find it here. In a nutshell, the review was overwhelmingly positive. Now, the reason why this was problematic was the fact that writing reviews for chain restaurants weren’t as respected amongst food critics.

Her rise to fame started when another critic wrote about her review on their blog using quite a condescending tone. In a matter of hours, the post went viral and Marilyn Hagerty became the talk of the town. A lot of people, especially those on Reddit, poked fun at her for how she was very enthusiastic about the Olive Garden. This was something that got out of hand but Marilyn wasn’t really affected by the mockery. She had been reviewing other chain restaurants like Taco Bell, Subway, and even McDonald’s for quite some time and is unfazed by the attention. (Source: Wavy Web Surf)

Should You Read Her Book?

After the media circus and tons of unwanted attention. The famous author and chef; Anthony Bourdain stepped and offered Marilyn Hagerty a book deal. He encourages everyone to read the book by saying: “Reading these reviews, we can see, we can watch over the course of time, who makes it and who doesn’t. And you will understand why the opening of an Olive Garden might be earnestly anticipated as an exciting and much welcome event. Her reviews, writes Bourdain, offer up a fascinating picture of dining in America, a gradual, cumulative overview of how we got from there to here.” (Source: Eater)

At the end of they day, people should remember how it’s different in each town. Grand Forks is not New York after all. What may be common in big cities may seem grand and sophisticated in others.

5 thoughts on “Who is the Genius Behind – Grand Forks: A History of American Dinning in 128 Reviews?”

  1. slickguy

    Since I didn’t see anyone who posted it, here’s the damn review:

    After a lengthy wait for Olive Garden to open in Grand Forks, the lines were long in February. The novelty is slowly wearing off, but the steady following attests the warm welcome.

    My first visit to Olive Garden was during midafternoon, so I could be sure to get in. After a late breakfast, I figured a late lunch would be fashionable.

    The place is impressive. It’s fashioned in Tuscan farmhouse style with a welcoming entryway. There is seating for those who are waiting.

    My booth was near the kitchen, and I watched the waiters in white shirts, ties, black trousers and aprons adorned with gold-colored towels. They were busy at midday, punching in orders and carrying out bread and pasta.

    It had been a few years since I ate at the older Olive Garden in Fargo, so I studied the two manageable menus offering appetizers, soups and salads, grilled sandwiches, pizza, classic dishes, chicken and seafood and filled pastas.

    At length, I asked my server what she would recommend. She suggested chicken Alfredo, and I went with that. Instead of the raspberry lemonade she suggested, I drank water.

    She first brought me the familiar Olive Garden salad bowl with crisp greens, peppers, onion rings and yes — several black olives. Along with it came a plate with two long, warm breadsticks.

    The chicken Alfredo ($10.95) was warm and comforting on a cold day. The portion was generous. My server was ready with Parmesan cheese.

    As I ate, I noticed the vases and planters with permanent flower displays on the ledges. There are several dining areas with arched doorways. And there is a fireplace that adds warmth to the decor.

    Olive Garden has an attractive bar area to the right of the entryway. The restaurant has a full liquor license and a wine list offering a wide selection to complement Italian meals. Nonalcoholic beverages include coolers, specialty coffees and hot teas.

    On a hot summer day, I will try the raspberry lemonade that was recommended.

    There’s a homemade soup, salad and breadstick lunch available until 4 p.m. daily for $6.95.

    An olive branch on menu items signified low-fat entrees. There is a Garden Fare Nutrition Guide available for customers seeking gluten-free food. And for those with food allergies, Olive Garden has an Allergen Information Guide.

    All in all, it is the largest and most beautiful restaurant now operating in Grand Forks. It attracts visitors from out of town as well as people who live here.

    Olive Garden is part of the Darden chain of restaurants that also operates Red Lobster. There are about 700 restaurants, including four Olive Gardens in North Dakota’s major cities.

    Olive Garden has gained a following since 1982 with its ample portions and relaxed ambience. It’s known for its classic lasagna, fettuccine Alfredo and chicken Parmigiana.

  2. matty80

    When you could order a half sandwich, a cup of soup.

    Okay, so here’s my experience of this. I’m from the UK, and I’d never really experienced the classic American ‘family restaurant/diner’ thing until a few years ago. My wife and I were visiting for a wedding and were driving around one day feeling knackered and a bit hungover, and just looking for somewhere to grab lunch.

    We came across a Perkins. I assume this is where the ‘snark’ comes from but, really I’d never heard of this place. We went in, sat down, a really friendly old lady came over, we ordered iced tea, a half-sandwich and a cup of soup each, and then sat there in vaguely Americana-fuelled sedate happiness for an hour eating and drinking this stuff. We even had pie.

    You know what? All joking aside, it was actually just really, really nice. I hear where this lady is coming from. There’s a lot to be said for just sitting there in a vaguely hungover fuzz while a nice person fills up up your iced tea and stuff.

    Good on her.

  3. starstarstar42

    Anthony mentioned being a skinny, small kid through the start of high school and being bullied. Puberty hit and he ended up 6’4″, so the bullying stopped.

    He never forgot about being vulnerable though. That colored his attitude and world-view a lot I suspect. It certainly had something to do with why he took, so personally, issue with how this sweet old lady’s reviews were denigrated.

  4. TooShiftyForYou

    She is never mean—even when circumstances would clearly excuse a sharp elbow, a cruel remark. In fact, watching Marilyn struggle to find something nice to say about a place she clearly loathes is part of the fun. She is, unfailingly, a good neighbor and good citizen first—and entertainer second.

    Anyone who comes away from this work anything less than charmed by Ms. Hagerty—and the places and characters she describes—has a heart of stone.

    This book kills snark dead.

    Bourdain was always great at taking a step back and pointing out the best in things.

    “For a moment, or a second, the pinched expressions of the cynical, world-weary, throat-cutting, miserable bastards we’ve all had to become disappears, when we’re confronted with something as simple as a plate of food.”

  5. murdo1tj

    “If you sit down with people and just say, ‘Hey what makes you happy? What do you like to eat?’ They’ll tell you extraordinary things, many of which have nothing to do with food” – Anthony Bourdain

    I imagine he used this type of philosophy when talking to this woman. Great perspective

Leave a Comment