في عام 1836 ، اكتشف عامل الصرف الصحي بالصدفة مصرفًا قديمًا كان يصب مباشرة في قبو بنك إنجلترا الذهبي. كتب رسائل إلى مديري البنك وطلب عقد اجتماع داخل القبو في ساعة من اختيارهم - وخرج من الأرضية للترحيب بهم

أقبية تحت الأرض ، قضبان ذهبية ، ومدخل سري: التاريخ غير المحتمل لبنك إنجلترا

اليوم ، قد يكون لبنك إنجلترا مكاتب في مبنى زجاجي حديث في ليدز ، لكن موقعه الرئيسي لا يزال يمثل شخصية مهيبة بأعمدة في شارع Threadneedle في مدينة لندن. ذات مرة ، قيل أن البنك كان عبارة عن هيكل كلاسيكي جديد رائع من خيال المهندس المعماري جون سوان. لسوء الحظ ، لم يتبق سوى القليل من أعماله ، حيث أعيد بناء البنك في الثلاثينيات من قبل السير هربرت بيكر. يبلغ عمر المبنى أكثر من 1930 عامًا ، وهو غارق في التاريخ ، وبعض حكاياته غريبة بالفعل.

يقع بنك إنجلترا في الأصل في شارع Walbrook في موقع معبد روماني في عام 1694 ، ولم ينتقل بنك إنجلترا إلى موقع شارع Threadneedle حتى عام 1730. استغرق الأمر 50 عامًا أخرى لبدء البناء في مبنى Soane حيث استحوذ البنك على الممتلكات المجاورة ، وأبرزها الكنيسة المجاورة بعد أن أطلقت مجموعة من المتظاهرين صواريخ على البنك من برج الكنيسة. بدوره ، اشتراه البنك ، ووعد بالحفاظ على قبور باحة الكنيسة فيما أصبح لاحقًا ساحة الحديقة.

عملاق البنك

في عام 1798 ، تم استخدام نفس الحديقة مرة أخرى كمقبرة ، وهذه المرة لما يسمى "عملاق البنك." وفقًا لـ Bloomberg ، كان الرجل المعني يعمل كصراف في بنك إنجلترا خلال حياته ، وكان يبلغ ارتفاعه 6 أقدام و 7.5 بوصات - أكثر من قدم أطول من المتوسط ​​في ذلك الوقت. وافق البنك على دفنه في مقبرة الحديقة الآمنة بناءً على طلب أصدقائه وعائلته ، الذين كانوا يخشون من سرقة جثته لعرضها في المتاحف أو لعروض سيرك بشعة. تم العثور على رفاته عندما بدأ Soane البناء بعد نصف قرن.

الأنفاق السرية

بعد فترة وجيزة من الانتهاء من المبنى ، بدأ محافظو البنك في تلقي رسائل مجهولة المصدر من شخص يدعي أنه يمكنه الوصول إلى خزائنهم الذهبية. هذه الخزائن ، التي تم الانتهاء منها قبل بضع سنوات فقط ، تجلس على صخر طيني ويعتقد أنها من أكثر الأقبية أمانًا في العالم. كان واحدًا حتى تستخدم كملجأ من القنابل في وقت واحد. بطبيعة الحال ، كان المخرجون متشككين وتجاهلوا في البداية طلب الكاتب لمقابلتهم في القبو في ساعة من اختيارهم. بعد إقناعهم في النهاية ، التقوا أخيرًا في القبو بعد ساعات ومع تغيير ألواح الأرضية ، خرج عامل الصرف الصحي الذي وجد المدخل أثناء الإصلاحات. بالنسبة الى موقع البنك على الانترنت، لم يأخذ العامل أي شيء ، وحصل على 800 جنيه إسترليني مقابل صدقه.

قصص شبح

الغريب الآخر في تاريخ البنك هو مطاردة "الراهبة السوداء" ، أو السيدة ذات الرداء الأسود، أخت موظف بنك سابق تم شنقه بتهمة التزوير. المرأة ، التي علمت بشنق البنك ولم تر جثة شقيقها ، كانت تعود يوميًا في حداد كامل أسود حتى تم الدفع لها أخيرًا للبقاء بعيدًا. وفقًا للأسطورة ، لا يزال شبحها يبحث في أقبية وممرات شارع Threadneedle ، باحثًا عن شقيقها.

In 1836, a sewer worker accidentally discovered an old drain which ran directly into the Bank of England’s gold vault. He wrote letters to the directors of the bank and requested a meeting inside the vault at an hour of their choosing – and popped out of the floor to greet them

Underground Vaults, Gold Bars, and A Secret Entrance: The Unlikely History of the Bank of England

Today, the Bank of England may have offices in a modern, glass building in Leeds, but its main site still cuts an imposing, columned figure on Threadneedle Street in the City of London. Once upon a time, the bank is said to have been a magnificent neoclassical structure from the imagination of architect John Soane. Unfortunately, very little of his work survives, as the bank was rebuilt in the 1930’s by Sir Herbert Baker. At over 320 years old, the building is steeped in history, and some of its tales are strange indeed.

Originally housed in Walbrook Street on the site of a Roman temple in 1694, the Bank of England didn’t move to its Threadneedle Street location until the 1730’s. It took another 50 years to begin construction on the Soane building as the bank acquired neighboring property, most notably the church next door after a group of protestors fired missiles into the bank from the tower of the church. In turn, the bank bought it, promising to preserve the churchyard graves in what later became the Garden Court.

The Bank Giant

In 1798, that same Garden was again used as a graveyard, this time for the so-called “Bank Giant.” According to Bloomberg, the man in question was a teller at the Bank of England during his life, and stood at 6 feet, 7.5 inches – over a foot taller than average at the time. The bank agreed to bury him in the secure garden graveyard at the request of his friends and family, who feared his body would be stolen for museum displays or a grotesque circus attraction. His remains were found when Soane began construction half a century later.

Secret Tunnels

Not long after the building was finished, the governors of the bank began receiving anonymous letters from someone claiming to have access to their gold vaults. These vaults, finished only a few years earlier, sit on clay bedrock and are thought to be some of the most secure in the world. One was even used as a bomb shelter at one time. Naturally, the directors were skeptical and at first ignored the writer’s request to meet them in the vault at an hour of their choosing. Eventually persuaded, however, they finally met in the vault after hours and with a shifting of floorboards, out popped a sewer worker who had found the entrance during repairs. According to the bank’s website, the worker hadn’t taken anything, and was rewarded £800 for his honesty.

Ghost Stories

Another oddity in the bank’s history is the the haunting of the “Black Nun,” or the Lady in Black, the sister of a former bank employee who had been hanged for forgery. The woman, who had found out about the hanging from the bank and never saw her brother’s body, returned daily in full mourning black until she was finally paid to stay away. According to the legend, her ghost still searches the vaults and corridors of Threadneedle Street, looking for her brother.