الجيروسكوب والدونر والشاورما ، وهي أنواع متشابهة من الأطعمة المطبوخة على المشواة العمودية ، تعني جميعها "قلب" بلغات مختلفة.

شاورما (/ ʃəˈwɑːrmə / ؛ عربي: شاورما) هو طبق في مطبخ الشرق الأوسط يتكون من اللحم المقطّع إلى شرائح رفيعة ، مكدسة بشكل يشبه المخروط ، وتحمص على شواية عمودية تدور ببطء أو بصق. كانت شاورما اليوم مصنوعة في الأصل من لحم الضأن أو لحم الضأن ، وقد تكون أيضًا دجاج أو ديك رومي أو لحم بقري أو لحم العجل. يتم حلق شرائح رقيقة من السطح المطبوخ حيث تدور باستمرار. الشاورما من أشهر الأطعمة الشعبية في العالم ، خاصة في مصر وبلاد الشام وشبه الجزيرة العربية وما وراءها.

بسط و علل

الشاورما هو ترجمة عربية من التركية دوران[tʃeviɾˈme] "تحول" ، في إشارة إلى المشواة تحول.

تاريخنا

على الرغم من أن تحميص اللحم على البصاق الأفقية له تاريخ قديم ، إلا أن تقنية شوي كومة رأسية من شرائح اللحم وتقطيعها أثناء طهيها ظهرت لأول مرة في الإمبراطورية العثمانية في القرن التاسع عشر ، في ما يعرف الآن بتركيا ، على شكل شطائر الكباب. كل من الجيروسكوبات اليونانية والشاورما مشتقة من هذا. أدت الشاورما بدورها إلى تطوير الطبق المكسيكي المعاصر تاكو آل باستر خلال أوائل القرن العشرين عندما أحضره المهاجرون اللبنانيون. مواصلة القراءة (قراءة 2 دقائق)

8 أفكار حول "الجيروسكوب والدونر والشاورما ، وهي أنواع متشابهة من الطعام المطبوخ على المشواة العمودية ، وكلها تعني" الدوران "بلغات مختلفة."

  1. mhmc20

    الجيروسكوبات

    جيروسكوب

    كنت أعرف أنهم مرتبطون بطريقة ما

  2. باركابوي

    وقت القصة. اعتدت على الطهي بشكل احترافي وكانت إحدى الوظائف الأولى لي في مطعم قبرصي. كان أحد الطهاة الآخرين رجلًا تركيًا ضخمًا يُدعى كمال. عاش كمال حياة ممتعة. كان من عائلة مسلمة وولد فيما كان يوغوسلافيا. غادرت عائلته عندما كان صبيا وانتقلوا إلى تركيا حيث كانت المشاكل أقل. نشأ هناك ، والتحق بالجيش التركي ، ورأى العالم ، وأصبح بطلًا للجيش في الملاكمة للوزن المتوسط ​​(كان يبلغ من العمر حوالي 6 '6' ولكن كان يبلغ 11 رطلاً فقط ، لذا كان لديه وصول كبير). ثم شق طريقه في جميع أنحاء أوروبا قبل أن يأتي إلى لندن ، ويلتقي بفتاة ، ويبدأ عائلة وينتقل إلى المدينة الساحلية الهادئة حيث عملنا معًا.

    في بداية آخر يوم لي في المطعم ، قال كمال "قبل أن تغادر اليوم صديقي ، يجب أن أقدم لك نصيحة واحدة طوال حياتك". اعتقدت "واو ، لقد عاش كمال مثل هذه الحياة الممتعة ، إذا استطاع أن يختصر ذلك في نصيحة واحدة ، فلا بد أنه مهم جدًا." وقضيت بقية اليوم أتساءل بهدوء عما سيقوله.

    انتهى الوقت وكنا جميعًا نتغير فقلت لكمال ، "ماذا لديك لتخبرني؟ ما هو أهم شيء تعلمته؟ " لقد وضع مخلبه الضخم على كتفي ، ونظر إلي بشكل مربع في عيني وقال ببطء وبثقل كبير ، "صديقي ، إذا اتبعت نصيحة واحدة فقط في حياتك ، فليكن هذا. لا تأكل دونر ".

    كان ذلك عام 1992. لم أتطرق إلى واحدة منذ ذلك الحين.

  3. soiltostone

    من المضحك استخدام كلمة "روتيسيري" في المقالة دون ذكر أصلها.

  4. Artteachernc

    كلها تعني "لذيذ" لفمي ....

  5. مانداموكسي

    حسنًا ، أنا جائع الآن.

  6. kerem_ozcan

    الجزء الأكثر إثارة للدهشة بالنسبة لي هو أنني تناولت "شاورما طاووق" و "تافوك تشفيرمي" مرات عديدة في حياتي دون إجراء أي ارتباط اشتقاقي.

  7. CommonSenseAvenger

    يترجم Döner إلى شيء على أنه "عائد" حيث يعود ، أليس كذلك؟ من فعل Dönmek. العائلة التركية تساعدني هنا. لا يعني حقًا الاستدارة ، أليس كذلك؟

  8. john_stuart_kill

    حسنًا ، ليس تمامًا "الشاورما". هذه ترجمة عربية لكلمة مشابهة في التركية ، والتي تعني "تحول" (أو شيء من هذا القبيل) في التركية. "شاورما" لا تعني شيئًا مثل "قلب" في اللغة العربية ؛ انها تعني فقط "الشاورما".

اترك تعليق

Gyros, döner and shawarma, which are similar types of food cooked on a vertical rotisserie, all mean “turning” in different languages.

Shawarma (/ʃəˈwɑːrmə/; Arabic: شاورما‎) is a dish in Middle Eastern cuisine consisting of meat cut into thin slices, stacked in a cone-like shape, and roasted on a slowly-turning vertical rotisserie or spit. Originally made of lamb or mutton, today’s shawarma may also be chicken, turkey, beef, or veal. Thin slices are shaved off the cooked surface as it continuously rotates. Shawarma is one of the world’s most popular street foods, especially in Egypt, the countries of the Levant and the Arabian Peninsula, and beyond.

Etymology

Shawarma is an Arabic rendering of Turkish çevirme[tʃeviɾˈme] ‘turning’, referring to the turning rotisserie.

History

Although the roasting of meat on horizontal spits has an ancient history, the technique of grilling a vertical stack of meat slices and cutting it off as it cooks first appeared in the 19th-century Ottoman Empire, in what is now Turkey, in the form of doner kebab. Both the Greek gyros and shawarma are derived from this. Shawarma, in turn, led to the development during the early 20th century of the contemporary Mexican dish tacos al pastor when it was brought there by Lebanese immigrants. Continue Reading (2 minute read)

8 thoughts on “Gyros, döner and shawarma, which are similar types of food cooked on a vertical rotisserie, all mean “turning” in different languages.”

  1. mhmc20

    gyros

    gyro-scope

    i knew they were connected somehow

  2. ParkaBoi

    Story time. I used to cook professionally and one of my first jobs was in a Cypriot restaurant. One of the other chefs was a huge Turkish guy called Kemal. Kemal had had an interesting life; he was from a Muslim family and was born in what was Yugoslavia. His family left when he was a boy and they moved to Turkey where there was less trouble. He grew up there, joined the Turkish army, saw the world, became army middleweight boxing champion (he was about 6’ 6” but only 11 st 4lbs so he had a big reach). Then he cooked his way around Europe before coming to London, meeting a girl, starting a family and moving to the sleepy seaside town where we both worked.

    At the start of my last day at the restaurant Kemal said “Before you leave today my friend, I must give you one piece of advice for your whole life.” I thought “Wow, Kemal has had such an interesting life, if he can distil that into one piece of advice it must be pretty important.” And I spent the rest of the day quietly wondering what he would say.

    It got to finish time and we were all getting changed so I said to Kemal, “What do you have to tell me? What’s the most important thing you have learned?” He put his big meaty paw on my shoulder, looked me square in the eye and said slowly and with great gravitas, “My friend, if you only follow one piece of advice in your life, let it be this. Don’t eat doner.”

    That was 1992. I haven’t touched one since.

  3. soiltostone

    Funny how the word “rotisserie” is used in the article without mention of its etymology.

  4. Artteachernc

    They all mean “delicious “ to my mouth….

  5. MandaMoxie

    Well, now I’m just hungry.

  6. kerem_ozcan

    The most surprising part for me is that I have had both “shawarma taouk” and “tavuk çevirme” so many times in my life without ever making the etymological connection.

  7. CommonSenseAvenger

    Döner translates to something as “Returner” as in it returns, No? From the verb Dönmek. Turkish fam help me out here. Doesn’t really mean turning, does it?

  8. john_stuart_kill

    Well, not quite for “shawarma.” This is an Arabic transliteration of a similar-sounding word in Turkish, which means “turning” (or something like that) in Turkish. “Shawarma” doesn’t mean anything like “turning” in Arabic; it just means “shawarma.”

Leave a Comment