独立宣言的56个签署人之一威廉·惠普勒(William Whipple)在签署奴隶后释放了他的奴隶,因为他相信一个奴隶不能同时争取自由并束缚另一个人。

威廉·惠普尔

有关美国陆军将军的信息,请参见小威廉·惠普尔。

莫法特-拉德故居,新罕布什尔州朴茨茅斯的威廉·惠普尔的家

小威廉·惠普尔(William Whipple Jr.)(25年1731月14日,新墨西哥州(1730年28月1785日)– 1776年1779月1785日)是美国独立宣言的签署人,从55年至XNUMX年担任新罕布什尔州的代表和大陆会议的成员他既担任船长,又担任商人,并在大学学习成为一名法官。 他于XNUMX年死于心脏病,享年XNUMX岁。

早年生活和教育

Whipple出生在缅因州的Kittery的William Whipple House,与上尉William Whipple和他的妻子Mary(néeCutt)在一起,并在一所普通学校接受教育,直到他离开学校为止。 继续阅读(4分钟阅读)

关于“独立宣言”的11个签署人之一的威廉·惠普勒(William Whipple)签署了56条意见,因为他相信一个人不能同时争取自由并束缚另一个人,从而释放了奴隶。

  1. 雪人情人

    这是他的前奴隶:

    惠普尔王子(Prince Whipple)出生在加纳的安布市(Abbou),父母比较富裕。 大约十岁的时候,他和他们堂兄一起被他们送到了美国接受教育。 一个哥哥在四年前回来了,他的父母担心他们的孩子也应该获得同样的福利。 带走了这两个男孩的船长被证明是一个奸诈的恶棍,并把他们带到巴尔的摩,在那里他把它们暴露出来出售,他们俩都被新罕布什尔州的朴茨茅斯人买下,王子由威廉·惠普尔将军买下。 他在[革命]战争中被解放,倍受尊敬,并曾经被将军委托从塞勒姆带到朴次茅斯的大笔钱。 他在纽伯里波特附近的道路上遭到两名uff子的袭击; 一个被鞭打着,另一个被他击打了……王子被所有认识他的人所钟爱。 他也被称为朴次茅斯的“ Caleb Quotom”,死于遗died寡妇Dinah,一个自由人和两个孩子。

    https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Prince_Whipple

  2. PolarBearClanGaming

    对于奴隶主来说,姓“ whipple”并不好看

  3. 塔可比尔

    这就是您从硬变软的方式

  4. 讨厌的

    他的奴隶惠普勒亲王直到在革命战争中服完兵役后,才于1781年被正式释放,1784年被正式释放。

    旁注:有传言说,普林斯在战争期间曾出现在华盛顿的两幅著名画作中,分别是特拉华州的穿越和特拉华州的通行。 他可能不在前者中,但可能在后者中,因为他在战争中确实名声大噪。

  5. 寡妇

    南方人承认奴隶制是邪恶的,这一点甚至鲜为人知。 请参阅《联邦主义者文件》,其中解释了《宪法》背后的思想并回应了批评。

  6. 量化自我

    应该有这个家伙的雕像

  7. dman2316

    我希望这是一条信息,希望更多的人能大致了解生活。 这与从不做坏事无关。 当然,最好一开始就避免做坏事,但是事实是,这是完全不可避免的。 您将在某个时候成为恶棍。 首先,拥有完美的能力是拥有诚实地自我评估您过去和当前行为的能力,评估它们在道德上是否正义,然后采取措施像本文中的人一样去纠正它们,这是最重要的。诚实地看待自己,发现自己的行为有错误,并尽力纠正了该错误,即使没有任何事情迫使他这样做。 这就是增长,在当今时代,我们已经失去了发展的位置。 如果某人做错了某事或有严重的品格缺陷,往往是错误的,他们会被错误的举止打上烙印,并在社会的眼中永远被它所污染,无论他们付出了多少努力他们永远无法摆脱的缺陷。

    附带说明一下,我不是要说人们不应该因其所犯的罪行或类似的行为而受到惩罚。

    编辑:感谢白金,这是我有史以来的第一个,我很高兴它在此评论。

  8. -菲尔博士-

    我和一些鞭子有关

    疯狂的吸毒者

  9. 鼻窦炎

    一个有品格的人保持言行一致的情况多么罕见。 不像托马斯·杰斐逊。

  10. 特韦尔

    我的姓Whipple,弟弟给儿子William命名,这样他有一天可以查到这个并感到自豪。

    但是我们是他的兄弟(或堂兄不记得了)的后代,他在战后很长时间才让他的奴隶贸易船继续前进。 哪个不太好找到。

发表评论

William Whipple, one of the 56 signers of the Declaration of Independence, freed his slave after signing it because he believed one cannot simultaneously fight for freedom and hold another person in bondage.

William Whipple

For the United States Army general, see William Whipple Jr.

The Moffatt-Ladd House, home of William Whipple in Portsmouth, New Hampshire

William Whipple Jr. (January 25, 1731 NS [January 14, 1730 OS] – November 28, 1785) was a signatory of the United States Declaration of Independence as a representative of New Hampshire and a member of the Continental Congress from 1776 through 1779. He worked as both a ship’s captain and a merchant, and he studied in college to become a judge. He died of heart complications in 1785, aged 55.

Early life and education

Whipple was born in Kittery, Maine in the William Whipple House to Captain William Whipple Sr. and his wife Mary (née Cutt), and educated at a common school until he went off t… Continue Reading (4 minute read)

11 thoughts on “William Whipple, one of the 56 signers of the Declaration of Independence, freed his slave after signing it because he believed one cannot simultaneously fight for freedom and hold another person in bondage.”

  1. Yeti-lover

    This is the person who was his former slave:

    >Prince Whipple was born in Ambou [sic], in Ghana, of comparatively wealthy parents. When about ten years of age, he was sent by them, in company with a cousin, to America to be educated. An elder brother had returned four years before, and his parents were anxious that their child should receive the same benefits. The captain who brought the two boys over proved to be a treacherous villain, and carried them to Baltimore, where he exposed them for sale, they were both purchased by Portsmouth, New Hampshire men, Prince falling to General William Whipple. He was emancipated during the [Revolutionary] War, was much esteemed, and was once entrusted by the General with a large sum of money to carry from Salem to Portsmouth. He was attacked on the road, near Newburyport, by two ruffians; one was struck with a loaded whip, the other one he shot … Prince was beloved by all who knew him. He was also known as “Caleb Quotom” of Portsmouth, where he died leaving a widow, Dinah, a freeperson and two children.

    https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Prince_Whipple

  2. PolarBearClanGaming

    The last name “whipple” isn’t a good look for a slave owner

  3. Taco_Bill

    And that’s how you go from hard to soft Whipples

  4. gruey

    His slave, Prince Whipple, was not freed until 1781 unofficially and 1784 officially after completing his military service in the revolutionary war.

    Side note: Prince is rumored to be in two famous paintings of Washington during the war, the crossing of the delaware and the passage of the delaware. He probably isn’t in the former, but may be in the latter as he actually did gain some fame during the war.

  5. widowdogood

    Even less known were mainstream Southerners admitting slavery was evil. See the Federalist Papers which explained the thinking behind the Constitution and responding to criticisms.

  6. quantizedself

    There should be statues of this guy

  7. yophozy

    I misread it as singers ….

  8. dman2316

    This is a message i wish more people would understand about life in general. It’s not about never doing bad things. Sure, it’s better to try to avoid doing bad things in the first place, but the fact of the matter is is that is entirely unavoidable. You will be the villain at some point. What’s more important than being perfect to begin with, is holding the ability to honestly self evaluate your past and current actions, assess if they are morally just or not and if not then take measures to correct them like the man in this post, he took an honest look at himself, saw the wrong in his actions and did what was within his power to correct it even though nothing was forcing him to. It’s called growth and we have lost site of that in this day and age. If someone does something that is wrong or has a serious character flaw, more often than not that’s it, they are labeled by their wrong doings and forever tainted by it in the eyes of society and no matter how much good effort they put in to fixing that flaw they can never escape it.

    As a side note, no i’m not saying people shouldn’t be punished for crimes they commit or anything like that.

    Edit: thanks for the platinum, it’s the first one I have ever gotten, and i’m glad it was on this comment.

  9. -Dr-Fill-

    I’m related to some Whipple’s

    Crazy drug addicts

  10. VergeThySinus

    How rare, a man of character who keeps his words and actions consistent. Unlike Thomas Jefferson.

  11. Tvearl

    My last names Whipple, my brother named his son William so he can look this up one day and be proud.

    But we’re descendants of his brother(or cousin can’t remember) who kept his slave trade ship going long after the war. Which isn’t as nice to find.

Leave a Comment