بقعة المشتري الحمراء العظيمة صاخبة للغاية ، حيث تعمل الموجات الصوتية على تسخين الغلاف الجوي المحيط إلى ما يقرب من 2400 درجة فهرنهايت

عندما مر مسبار ناسا بايونير 10 بالقرب من كوكب المشتري في عام 1973 ، أعاد العلماء بعض القراءات المحيرة المأخوذة من الغلاف الجوي العلوي للكوكب.

حتى ذلك الحين ، اعتقد معظم الباحثين الكوكبيين أن الروافد العليا لكوكب المشتري ستكون باردة جدًا ، مع الأخذ في الاعتبار مدى بعد العملاق الغازي عن أشعة الشمس الدافئة.

والمشتري ليس الكوكب الوحيد الذي يعاني من هذه المشكلة: فقد واجه العلماء صعوبة في شرح سبب كون عمالقة الغاز الآخرين ممتعين للغاية أيضًا ، وفقًا لتقرير بيكي فيريرا لموقع Motherboard.

يقول لوك مور ، عالم الأبحاث بجامعة بوسطن والمؤلف المشارك للدراسة ، فيريرا: "بالنسبة لكل هذه الكواكب [الغازية العملاقة] ، لدينا مشكلة في شرح سبب ارتفاع درجة حرارة الغلاف الجوي العلوي لها".

باستخدام بيانات درجة الحرارة التي تم جمعها من مرفق تلسكوب الأشعة تحت الحمراء التابع لوكالة ناسا في هاواي ، اكتشف أودونوغو ومور أن البقعة الحمراء العظيمة أعلى مرتين من متوسط ​​درجات الحرارة الموجودة في جميع أنحاء الغلاف الجوي لكوكب المشتري.


المصدر https://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/jupiters-great-red-spot-also-red-hot-180959949/

بقعة المشتري الحمراء العظيمة حمراء أيضًا

البقعة الحمراء العظيمة لكوكب المشتري هي الميزة الأكثر تحديدًا لعملاق الغاز. عاصفة دوامة من الغاز تدور لمئات السنين ، تعد البقعة أيضًا مصدرًا لبعض أعمق ألغاز الكوكب. الآن ، بفضل بحث جديد نُشر في مجلة Nature ، ربما تم حل أحد هذه الألغاز.

عندما مر مسبار ناسا بايونير 10 على كوكب المشتري في عام 1973 ، أعاد العلماء بعض القراءات المحيرة المأخوذة من الغلاف الجوي العلوي للكوكب. كانت درجة حرارة الكوكب أكثر سخونة مما توقعوه.

حتى ذلك الحين ، اعتقد معظم الباحثين الكوكبيين أن الروافد العليا لكوكب المشتري ستكون باردة جدًا ، مع الأخذ في الاعتبار مدى بعد العملاق الغازي عن أشعة الشمس الدافئة. لكن بدلاً من درجة حرارة -100 فهرنهايت السريعة التي توقعوها ، ذكرت بايونير 10 أن الغلاف الجوي لكوكب المشتري كان يحوم في الواقع حول 1,000 درجة ، حسبما أفاد كينيث تشانج لصحيفة نيويورك تايمز.

قال الباحث ومؤلف الدراسة في جامعة بوسطن جيمس أودونوغو لـ Chang: "هناك نوع من الأزمة تحدث بشكل أساسي". "هذا يسلط الضوء على نقص حاد في المعرفة."

في الواقع ، على مر السنين ، أُطلق على المشكلة اسم "أزمة الطاقة" لكوكب المشتري بسبب الاختلاف الشاسع بين الطاقة التي يحتاجها الكوكب للبقاء ساخناً للغاية وما افترضه العلماء. والمشتري ليس الكوكب الوحيد الذي يعاني من هذه المشكلة: فقد واجه العلماء صعوبة في شرح سبب كون عمالقة الغاز الآخرين ممتعين للغاية أيضًا ، وفقًا لتقرير بيكي فيريرا لموقع Motherboard.

يقول لوك مور ، عالم الأبحاث بجامعة بوسطن والمؤلف المشارك للدراسة ، فيريرا: "بالنسبة لكل هذه الكواكب [الغازية العملاقة] ، لدينا مشكلة في شرح سبب ارتفاع درجة حرارة الغلاف الجوي العلوي لها". "في أي وقت توجد مشكلة لا يمكننا تفسيرها ، فهذا يعني أن هناك بعض الفهم المفقود في علمنا عن هذه الكواكب."

بينما اقترح العلماء جميع أنواع الأفكار ، مثل الشفق القطبي لكوكب المشتري قد يساعد في تسخين الكوكب ، إلا أن معظمهم حتى الآن يعاني من بعض العيوب القاتلة. الآن يبدو أنه قد تم العثور على قطعة اللغز المفقودة.

باستخدام بيانات درجة الحرارة التي تم جمعها من مرفق تلسكوب الأشعة تحت الحمراء التابع لوكالة ناسا في هاواي ، اكتشف أودونوغو ومور أن البقعة الحمراء العظيمة أعلى مرتين من متوسط ​​درجات الحرارة الموجودة في جميع أنحاء الغلاف الجوي لكوكب المشتري. يعتقد الباحثون أن البقعة الحمراء العظيمة قد تكون مسؤولة جزئيًا عن تسخين العملاق الغازي بالكامل ، وفقًا لتقارير لورين جروش لموقع The Verge.

قد يأتي المفتاح من رياح بقعة ، التي تهب بسرعات تصل إلى 400 ميل في الساعة. مع هذا القدر من الاضطراب ، سيكون أيضًا مرتفعًا جدًا ، مما ينتج عنه موجات صوتية تنطلق لأعلى وتهز الذرات في الغلاف الجوي العلوي. هذا من شأنه أن يمنح حتى أبعد مناطق الغلاف الجوي لكوكب المشتري دفعة إضافية للطاقة ، مما يساعده على البقاء ساخنًا ، وفقًا لتقارير Grush.

يقول O'Donoghue لـ Grush: "إن القياس الجيد لهذا هو أنه يشبه إلى حد كبير تقليب فنجان من القهوة بالملعقة". "إذا كنت تقوم بتحريكه في اتجاه عقارب الساعة ، ولكنك فجأة حركته عكس اتجاه عقارب الساعة ، سيكون هناك الكثير من الحركة ... إنه يشير إلى وجود بعض الموجات الصوتية قادمة من هذا الانهيار ".

لا تقدم هذه النتائج الجديدة دليلًا جديدًا على سبب ارتفاع درجة حرارة كوكب المشتري ، ولكنها تشير إلى أن المناطق العلوية والسفلية من غلافه الجوي أكثر ارتباطًا مما كان يعتقد العلماء سابقًا. مع وجود هذه البيانات الجديدة في متناول اليد ، يبحث الباحثون الآن في عواصف جوفيان الأخرى الأصغر لمعرفة ما إذا كان نفس الشيء يحدث هناك أيضًا. مع وجود مركبة الفضاء جونو التابعة لوكالة ناسا أخيرًا في مدار حول عملاق الغاز بعد سنوات من الطيران عبر الفضاء ، قد لا يظل كوكب المشتري غامضًا تمامًا لفترة طويلة.

Jupiter’s Great Red Spot is so loud, it’s acoustic sound waves heat up the surrounding atmosphere to almost 2400 degrees Fahrenheit

When the NASA probe Pioneer 10 passed by Jupiter in 1973, it sent scientists back some puzzling readings taken from the planet’s upper atmosphere.

Until then, most planetary researchers believed that Jupiter’s upper reaches would be pretty cold, considering how far the gas giant is from the sun’s warming rays.

And Jupiter isn’t the only planet with this problem: scientists have had trouble explaining why other gas giants are so toasty too, Becky Ferreira reports for Motherboard.

“For all of these [gas giant] planets, we have a problem explaining why their upper atmospheres are as hot as they are,” Luke Moore, a Boston University research scientist and the study’s co-author, tells Ferreira.

Using temperature data gathered from the NASA Infrared Telescope Facility in Hawaii, O’Donoghue and Moore discovered that the Great Red Spot is more than twice as hot than the average temperatures found throughout the rest of Jupiter’s atmosphere.


Source: https://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/jupiters-great-red-spot-also-red-hot-180959949/

Jupiter’s Great Red Spot Is Also Red Hot

Jupiter’s Great Red Spot is the gas giant’s most defining feature. A swirling storm of gas that has whirled for hundreds of years, the Spot is also the source of some of the planet’s deepest mysteries. Now, thanks to new research published in the journal Nature, one of those mysteries may have been solved.

When the NASA probe Pioneer 10 passed by Jupiter in 1973, it sent scientists back some puzzling readings taken from the planet’s upper atmosphere. The planet’s temperature was much hotter than they guessed it would be.

Until then, most planetary researchers believed that Jupiter’s upper reaches would be pretty cold, considering how far the gas giant is from the sun’s warming rays. But instead of the brisk -100 degrees Fahrenheit that they expected, Pioneer 10 reported that Jupiter’s atmosphere actually hovered around 1,000 degrees, Kenneth Chang reports for the New York Times.

“Essentially there’s a bit of a crisis going on,” Boston University researcher and study author James O’Donoghue tells Chang. “That highlights a severe lack of knowledge.”

In fact, over the years, the problem was nicknamed Jupiter’s “energy crisis” because of the vast difference between the energy the planet needed to stay so hot and what scientists had theorized. And Jupiter isn’t the only planet with this problem: scientists have had trouble explaining why other gas giants are so toasty too, Becky Ferreira reports for Motherboard.

“For all of these [gas giant] planets, we have a problem explaining why their upper atmospheres are as hot as they are,” Luke Moore, a Boston University research scientist and the study’s co-author, tells Ferreira. “Anytime there’s a problem that we can’t explain, it implies that there is some missing understanding in our science of these planets.”

While scientists have proposed all kinds of ideas, such as Jupiter’s polar aurorae may help heat up the planet, so far most of them have had some fatal flaw. Now it seems, however, that the missing puzzle piece may have been found.

Using temperature data gathered from the NASA Infrared Telescope Facility in Hawaii, O’Donoghue and Moore discovered that the Great Red Spot is more than twice as hot than the average temperatures found throughout the rest of Jupiter’s atmosphere. Broiling at more than 2,400 degrees Fahrenheit, the researchers believe that the Great Red Spot may be partially responsible for heating up the entire all gas giant, Loren Grush reports for The Verge.

The key may come from the Spot’s gales, which blow at speeds of up to 400 miles per hour. With that much turbulence, it would also be pretty loud, generating sound waves that shoot upward and rattle the atoms in the upper atmosphere. That would give even the farthest reaches of Jupiter’s atmosphere an extra energy boost, helping it stay hot, Grush reports.

“A good analogy for this is it’s pretty much like stirring a cup of coffee with a spoon,” O’Donoghue tells Grush. “If you’re stirring it clockwise, but then you suddenly stir it anti-clockwise, there will be a lot of sloshing around… And that sloshing around, you can actually hear that. It indicates there are actually some sound waves coming from that sloshing.”

These new findings not only provide new evidence for why Jupiter is so warm, but suggests that the upper and lower regions of its atmosphere are much more interconnected than scientists once thought. With this new data in hand, the researchers are now looking at other smaller Jovian storms to see whether the same thing happens there, too. With NASA’s Juno spacecraft finally in orbit around the gas giant after years of flying through space, Jupiter may not stay quite so mysterious for long.