木星的“大红色斑点”是如此响亮,它的声波将周围的大气加热到接近2400华氏度

当10年木星通过的NASA先锋1973号探测器送回科学家时,他们从行星的高层大气中获得了一些令人费解的读数。

在此之前,大多数行星研究人员认为,考虑到这颗天然气巨人离太阳变暖的光线有多远,木星的上游将非常寒冷。

而且木星并不是唯一一个存在这个问题的星球:贝基·费雷拉(Becky Ferreira)为《主板》报道,科学家很难解释为什么其他天然气巨头也是如此敬酒。

波士顿大学研究科学家,该研究的合著者卢克·摩尔对费雷拉说:“对于所有这些[气体巨人]行星,我们都有一个问题来解释为什么它们的高层大气如此之高。”

O'Donoghue和Moore利用从夏威夷的NASA红外望远镜设施收集的温度数据,发现大红斑的温度是木星其余大气层平均温度的两倍以上。


来源: https://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/jupiters-great-red-spot-also-red-hot-180959949/

木星的大红斑也很热

木星的“大红色斑点”是天然气巨头最具定义性的特征。 旋转了数百年的旋转的天然气风暴,也是地球上一些最深奥秘的来源。 现在,由于发表在《自然》杂志上的新研究,这些谜团之一可能已经解决。

当10年木星通过的NASA先锋1973号探测器送回科学家时,他们从行星的高层大气中获得了一些令人费解的读数。 行星的温度比他们想象的要热得多。

在此之前,大多数行星研究人员认为,考虑到这颗天然气巨人离太阳变暖的光线有多远,木星的上游将非常寒冷。 但肯尼思·张向《纽约时报》报道,先锋100号报告称木星的大气实际上徘徊在10度左右,而不是他们期望的华氏-1,000度。

波士顿大学的研究人员和研究作家詹姆斯·奥多诺休(James O'Donoghue)告诉张:“本质上来说,危机正在持续下去。” “这凸显了知识的严重缺乏。”

实际上,多年来,这个问题被昵称为木星的“能源危机”,因为行星保持高温所需的能量与科学家的理论之间存在巨大差异。 而且木星并不是唯一一个存在这个问题的星球:贝基·费雷拉(Becky Ferreira)为《主板》报道,科学家很难解释为什么其他天然气巨头也是如此敬酒。

波士顿大学研究科学家,该研究的合著者卢克·摩尔对费雷拉说:“对于所有这些[气体巨人]行星,我们都有一个问题来解释为什么它们的高层大气如此之高。” “任何时候我们都无法解释这个问题,这意味着我们对这些行星的科学缺乏了解。”

尽管科学家们提出了各种各样的想法,例如木星的极光可能有助于加热地球,但到目前为止,大多数想法都存在致命的缺陷。 但是现在看来,可能已经找到了丢失的拼图。

O'Donoghue和Moore利用从夏威夷的NASA红外望远镜设施收集的温度数据,发现大红斑的温度是木星其余大气层平均温度的两倍以上。 洛伦·格鲁什(Loren Grush)为The Verge报道,研究人员认为,在超过2,400华氏度的温度下燃烧时,研究人员认为,大红色斑点可能是导致整个天然气巨人升温的部分原因。

关键可能来自Spot的阵风,其风速高达每小时400英里。 有了这么多的湍流,它也将非常响亮,产生声波,这些声波向上发射并扰动高层大气中的原子。 格鲁什报道说,这将使木星最远的大气层获得额外的能量提升,帮助其保持高温。

O'Donoghue告诉Grush:“一个很好的比喻是,这就像用勺子搅拌一杯咖啡。” “如果您沿顺时针方向旋转它,但是突然突然将其逆时针方向旋转,则会有很多晃动……而晃动时,您实际上可以听到。 它表明实际上有一些声波从晃动而来。”

这些新发现不仅为木星为何如此温暖提供了新证据,而且表明木星大气的上部和下部比科学家曾经想像的更为紧密。 有了这些新数据,研究人员现在正在研究其他较小的Jovian风暴,以查看是否也发生了同样的事情。 经过多年的太空飞行,NASA的朱诺(Juno)航天器终于在这颗天然气巨星周围运行,木星可能不会长期保持如此神秘。

Jupiter’s Great Red Spot is so loud, it’s acoustic sound waves heat up the surrounding atmosphere to almost 2400 degrees Fahrenheit

When the NASA probe Pioneer 10 passed by Jupiter in 1973, it sent scientists back some puzzling readings taken from the planet’s upper atmosphere.

Until then, most planetary researchers believed that Jupiter’s upper reaches would be pretty cold, considering how far the gas giant is from the sun’s warming rays.

And Jupiter isn’t the only planet with this problem: scientists have had trouble explaining why other gas giants are so toasty too, Becky Ferreira reports for Motherboard.

“For all of these [gas giant] planets, we have a problem explaining why their upper atmospheres are as hot as they are,” Luke Moore, a Boston University research scientist and the study’s co-author, tells Ferreira.

Using temperature data gathered from the NASA Infrared Telescope Facility in Hawaii, O’Donoghue and Moore discovered that the Great Red Spot is more than twice as hot than the average temperatures found throughout the rest of Jupiter’s atmosphere.


Source: https://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/jupiters-great-red-spot-also-red-hot-180959949/

Jupiter’s Great Red Spot Is Also Red Hot

Jupiter’s Great Red Spot is the gas giant’s most defining feature. A swirling storm of gas that has whirled for hundreds of years, the Spot is also the source of some of the planet’s deepest mysteries. Now, thanks to new research published in the journal Nature, one of those mysteries may have been solved.

When the NASA probe Pioneer 10 passed by Jupiter in 1973, it sent scientists back some puzzling readings taken from the planet’s upper atmosphere. The planet’s temperature was much hotter than they guessed it would be.

Until then, most planetary researchers believed that Jupiter’s upper reaches would be pretty cold, considering how far the gas giant is from the sun’s warming rays. But instead of the brisk -100 degrees Fahrenheit that they expected, Pioneer 10 reported that Jupiter’s atmosphere actually hovered around 1,000 degrees, Kenneth Chang reports for the New York Times.

“Essentially there’s a bit of a crisis going on,” Boston University researcher and study author James O’Donoghue tells Chang. “That highlights a severe lack of knowledge.”

In fact, over the years, the problem was nicknamed Jupiter’s “energy crisis” because of the vast difference between the energy the planet needed to stay so hot and what scientists had theorized. And Jupiter isn’t the only planet with this problem: scientists have had trouble explaining why other gas giants are so toasty too, Becky Ferreira reports for Motherboard.

“For all of these [gas giant] planets, we have a problem explaining why their upper atmospheres are as hot as they are,” Luke Moore, a Boston University research scientist and the study’s co-author, tells Ferreira. “Anytime there’s a problem that we can’t explain, it implies that there is some missing understanding in our science of these planets.”

While scientists have proposed all kinds of ideas, such as Jupiter’s polar aurorae may help heat up the planet, so far most of them have had some fatal flaw. Now it seems, however, that the missing puzzle piece may have been found.

Using temperature data gathered from the NASA Infrared Telescope Facility in Hawaii, O’Donoghue and Moore discovered that the Great Red Spot is more than twice as hot than the average temperatures found throughout the rest of Jupiter’s atmosphere. Broiling at more than 2,400 degrees Fahrenheit, the researchers believe that the Great Red Spot may be partially responsible for heating up the entire all gas giant, Loren Grush reports for The Verge.

The key may come from the Spot’s gales, which blow at speeds of up to 400 miles per hour. With that much turbulence, it would also be pretty loud, generating sound waves that shoot upward and rattle the atoms in the upper atmosphere. That would give even the farthest reaches of Jupiter’s atmosphere an extra energy boost, helping it stay hot, Grush reports.

“A good analogy for this is it’s pretty much like stirring a cup of coffee with a spoon,” O’Donoghue tells Grush. “If you’re stirring it clockwise, but then you suddenly stir it anti-clockwise, there will be a lot of sloshing around… And that sloshing around, you can actually hear that. It indicates there are actually some sound waves coming from that sloshing.”

These new findings not only provide new evidence for why Jupiter is so warm, but suggests that the upper and lower regions of its atmosphere are much more interconnected than scientists once thought. With this new data in hand, the researchers are now looking at other smaller Jovian storms to see whether the same thing happens there, too. With NASA’s Juno spacecraft finally in orbit around the gas giant after years of flying through space, Jupiter may not stay quite so mysterious for long.