首页 » 宠物与动物 » 野生动物 » 负鼠和负鼠一样吗?

负鼠和负鼠一样吗?

负鼠有时被认为是负鼠的同义词,强化了负鼠和负鼠相同的错误观念! 但与流行的看法相反,负鼠和负鼠是非常不同的。

虽然负鼠和负鼠有一些相似之处,但它们在不同方面有所不同。 负鼠生活在北美,而负鼠则在东南亚和澳大利亚繁衍生息。

奇特的白兽

唯一记录在案的居住在美国和加拿大的有袋动物是负鼠。 负鼠这个词来自 证词。 辅料 是阿尔冈昆语的一个术语,意思是一只白狗或一只白色的野兽。 虽然它的名字直接翻译为 一个怪兽,它在人类中的名声往往适得其反。

负鼠的第一个已知外观可以追溯到 17 世纪中叶。 在美国弗吉尼亚州首次捕获负鼠时,人们将负鼠描述为具有不成比例或异常比例的身体。 为了进一步研究,伦敦皇家学会收留了这只小动物。

凭借其锋利的牙齿、腹部有一个小袋子以及带有尖端的鼻子的奇怪特征,他们将负鼠描述为狐狸和猿的混合体。 (来源: 心理牙线

负鼠和负鼠

在不同的地方,这个词 负鼠 只是这个词的一个可接受的缩短版本 负鼠; 相反,在某些地区,特别是北美以外的地区, 负鼠 意味着完全不同的动物物种! 

负鼠和负鼠一样,是夜间活动的杂食动物,通常栖息在树上。 尽管它们看起来很相似,但从它们居住的地方开始,它们具有许多将它们区分开来的特征。

负鼠生活在美国和加拿大南部,而负鼠则生活在澳大利亚、新西兰和中国。 这样做的原因是,由于该国气候寒冷,负鼠很难迁移到比加拿大更远的地方。

它们差异的另一个明显指标是它们尾巴的外观。 负鼠,类似于老鼠,有裸露的尾巴。 同时,负鼠的末端类似于松鼠,因为它浓密而厚实。 最常见的负鼠种类刷尾负鼠支持这一说法。

虽然我们讨论的是它们的外观差异,但负鼠和负鼠的大小、形状和颜色也各不相同。 负鼠相对比负鼠大。 它们白色、尖尖的脸和粗糙的皮毛也使它们与负鼠区别开来,它们的身体特征通常是圆形的,上面覆盖着一层厚厚的金棕色皮毛。 此外,负鼠往往有更多不变的大小,因为与负鼠相比,它们的亚种较少。

负鼠和负鼠也属于有袋动物的不同目。 负鼠是 Dipelphimorphia 目的一部分,它在世界西部地区完全主宰有袋类目。 负鼠与袋鼠和考拉属于同一组,属于双齿兽目,有 150 多种有袋动物。

负鼠和负鼠之间最后一个也是最显着的区别是它们的行为。 由于负鼠比较机警,它们学会了一种装死的倾向,从 2 分钟到几个小时不等。 另一方面,澳大利亚血统的负鼠不知道如何装死。 此外,负鼠通常更友好,使它们更容易成为皮毛偷猎者的受害者。 (来源: 鲍勃·维拉

发表评论

Home » Pets & Animals » Wildlife » Are Opossums and Possums the Same?

Are Opossums and Possums the Same?

A possum is sometimes considered a synonym for opossums, strengthening the false idea that opossums and possums are the same! But contrary to popular belief, opossums and possums are very different.

While opossums and possums share some similarities, they vary in different aspects.  Opossums are found in North America, while possums thrive in Southeast Asia and Australia.

The Peculiar White Beast

The only recorded marsupial that resides in the United States and Canada is the opossum. The word opossum comes from aposoum. Aposoum is an Algonquian term that means either a white dog or a white beast. Although its name directly translates as a beast, its reputation among humans is often the opposite.

The first known appearance of the opossum is dated back to the middle of the 17th century. Upon its first capturing in Virginia, United States, people described the opossum as having a disproportionate or a bizarrely proportionate body. For further research, the Royal Society in London took in the small animal.

With its weird characteristics of sharp teeth, a small pouch in its midriff area, and a snout with a pointed end, they described the opossum as a combined mix between a fox and an ape. (Source: Mental Floss

The Opossums and Possums

In various places, the term possum is just an acceptable, shortened version of the word opossum; contrarily, in some areas, specifically outside North America, the term possum means an entirely different animal species! 

Possums, like opossums, are nocturnal omnivores that usually reside in trees. Although they might seem similar, they have a lot of characteristics that separate them from each other, starting from where they live.

While opossums live in the United States and Southern Canada, Possums reside in Australia, New Zealand, and China. The reason for this is that opossums can hardly migrate farther than Canada because of the country’s cold climate.

Another evident indicator of their difference is the appearance of their tail. Opossums, similar to rats, have naked tails. Meanwhile, the ends of possums resemble that of a squirrel, as it is bushy and thick. The most common species of possum, the brushtail possum, supports this statement.

While we’re on the topic of their differences in appearance, the size, shape, and color of opossums and possums also vary. Opossums are relatively larger than possums. Their white, pointed faces and rough coating also set them apart from possums, with their physical attributes being generally rounded and thickly covered with golden brown layers of fur. Additionally, opossums tend to have more unvarying sizes as they have lesser subspecies compared to possums.

Opossums and possums also belong to different orders of the marsupial. Opossums are part of the Dipelphimorphia order, which completely dominates the marsupial order in the Western area of the world. Possums, classified in the same group as kangaroos and koalas, are in the Diprotodontia order with more than 150 kinds of marsupials.

The last and most notable difference between opossums and possums is their behavior. As opossums are warier, they’ve learned to develop a play dead tendency that spans from 2 minutes to more than hours. On the other hand, possums of Australian descent don’t know how to play dead. Moreover, possums are generally friendlier, making them an easier victim for fur poachers. (Source: Bob Vila

Leave a Comment

%d bloggers like this: