Après la mort de Kobain, Dave Grohl a lancé Foo Fighters comme un petit projet parallèle. Interrogé plus tard sur le nom, il a répondu: «Si j'avais réellement considéré cela comme une carrière, je l'aurais probablement appelé quelque chose d'autre, parce que c'est le putain de nom de groupe le plus stupide au monde.

Avant la sortie du premier album de Foo Fighters en 1995, Foo Fighters, qui présentait Grohl comme seul membre officiel, Grohl a recruté le bassiste Nate Mendel et le batteur William Goldsmith, tous deux anciennement de Sunny Day Real Estate, ainsi que le guitariste de tournée Nirvana Pat Smear pour compléter la gamme.

Foo Fighters released its sixth album, Echoes, Silence, Patience & Grace, in 2007.

En novembre 2014, le huitième album studio du groupe, Sonic Highways, est sorti en tant que bande originale de la minisérie 2014 du même nom, dirigée par Grohl.

Le 15 septembre 2017, le groupe a sorti son neuvième album studio, Concrete and Gold, qui est devenu le deuxième à atteindre le numéro un aux États-Unis et était le premier album studio du groupe à présenter le claviériste de longue date et en tournée Rami Jaffee en tant que membre à part entière. .

Dave Grohl (photographié en 2006) a fondé Foo Fighters après la fin de son groupe précédent Nirvana en 1994

Finalement, Grohl déclina et entra à la place dans les studios Robert Lang en octobre 1994 pour enregistrer quinze des quarante chansons qu'il avait écrites. [5] À l'exception d'une partie de guitare sur «X-Static», jouée par Greg Dulli des Whigs afghans, Grohl a joué tous les instruments et a chanté chaque voix sur les pistes. [7] "J'étais censé simplement rejoindre un autre groupe et être batteur pour le reste de ma vie", a déclaré Grohl plus tard.

Cependant, la bande de démonstration a circulé dans l'industrie de la musique, créant un intérêt parmi les maisons de disques. [9] [10] Grohl a formé un groupe pour soutenir l'album.

Grohl a demandé à Pat Smear, qui a été guitariste en tournée pour Nirvana après la sortie de son album de 1993, In Utero, de se joindre en tant que deuxième guitariste du groupe. [12] Grohl a finalement autorisé l'album à Capitol Records, le libérant sur son nouveau label, Roswell Records. [5]

Grohl a refusé de faire des interviews ou de visiter de grandes salles pour promouvoir l'album. [12] Foo Fighters a entrepris sa première grande tournée au printemps 1995, ouverture pour Mike Watt.

Le premier single du groupe, "This Is a Call", est sorti en juin 1995 [7] et son premier album Foo Fighters est sorti le mois suivant.

Quatre mois plus tard, en septembre 1997, aux MTV Video Music Awards, Smear annonça simultanément au public son départ du groupe et présenta son remplaçant, l'ancien membre du groupe Scream de Grohl Franz Stahl. [15] Stahl a tourné avec le groupe pendant les mois suivants, et est apparu sur deux morceaux que le groupe a enregistrés pour les bandes sonores de films, un ré-enregistrement de «Walking After You» pour The X-Files et «A320» pour Godzilla.

En 1998, Foo Fighters s'est rendu dans l'État natal de Grohl, en Virginie, pour écrire la musique de son troisième album.

Peu de temps après, Mendel a appelé Grohl pour lui dire qu'il quittait le groupe pour se réunir avec Sunny Day Real Estate, pour revenir sur sa décision le lendemain. [16] Le trio restant de Grohl, Mendel et Hawkins a passé les mois suivants à enregistrer le troisième album du groupe, There Is Nothing Left to Lose, dans le home studio de Grohl en Virginie qu'il a acheté et construit.

Shiflett a d'abord rejoint le groupe en tant que guitariste en tournée, mais a atteint le statut à plein temps avant l'enregistrement du quatrième album du groupe. [17]

Vers 2001, Foo Fighters a établi une relation avec le groupe de rock Queen, dont le groupe (en particulier Grohl [22] et Hawkins [23]) étaient fans.

In March of that year, Grohl and Hawkins inducted the band into the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame[24] and joined them on stage for a rendition of the Queen 1976 classic “Tie Your Mother Down”, with Hawkins playing drums alongside Roger Taylor, while Grohl was playing rhythm guitar and handling vocal duties.[25] Guitarist Brian May added a guitar track to Foo Fighters’ second cover of Pink Floyd’s “Have a Cigar”, which appeared on the soundtrack to the movie Mission: Impossible 2.

Les groupes se sont produits ensemble à plusieurs reprises depuis, dont le concert en tête d'affiche de VH1 Rock Honors et de Foo Fighters à Hyde Park.

Une fois que l'album de Queens of the Stone Age fut terminé et que la tournée avait commencé pour Foo Fighters et Queens of the Stone Age, le groupe était sur le point de se séparer complètement alors que l'animosité grandissait parmi les membres.

Grohl s'est réuni de nouveau avec Hawkins, Shiflett et Mendel pour les faire jouer au Festival de Coachella, avec Queens of the Stone Age jouant un jour et Foo Fighters le suivant.

Le groupe a réenregistré presque tout l'album (sauf «Tired of You») en dix jours au home studio de Grohl à Alexandrie, en Virginie. [17] La version originale de One by One, appelée par le groupe «Million Dollar Demos», n'a jamais été entendue dans son intégralité, à l'exception des fragments qui ont été divulgués. [26]

Après avoir passé un an et demi à tourner derrière One by One, Grohl ne voulait pas se précipiter pour enregistrer un autre disque de Foo Fighters.

Au départ, Grohl avait l'intention d'écrire du matériel acoustique par lui-même, mais finalement le projet a impliqué l'ensemble du groupe. [29] Pour enregistrer son cinquième album, le groupe déménage à Los Angeles et construit un studio d'enregistrement, baptisé Studio 606 West.

En septembre et octobre 2005, le groupe a tourné avec Weezer sur ce qui a été annoncé comme le «Foozer Tour» alors que les deux groupes co-dirigeaient la tournée. [31] Foo Fighters a également joué un titre aux festivals de lecture et de Leeds en 2005.

As Page and Jones left the stage before a final encore of “Best Of You”, an ecstatic Grohl shouted “Welcome to the greatest fucking day of my whole entire life!”.[33] Throughout the tour for Echoes, Silence, Patience & Grace, Foo Fighters had been writing and practicing new songs at sound checks.

Après que Foo Fighters ait terminé cette tournée en septembre 2008, ils ont enregistré 13 nouvelles chansons dans le studio 606, peu de temps après avoir annoncé une interruption de la tournée (qui durerait jusqu'en janvier 2011).

Alors que les membres de Foo Fighters avaient initialement prévu que leur nouvel album (composé de chansons de cette session d'enregistrement) paraisse en 2009 avec presque aucun support de tournée, ils ont finalement décidé de mettre la plupart des chansons de ces sessions en suspens.

Le 3 novembre 2009, le groupe a sorti un album de compilation, Greatest Hits, qui comporte deux nouvelles chansons, «Word Forward» et le single «Wheels». [35] Ces chansons ont été enregistrées lors d'une session qui s'est déroulée entre Echoes, Silence, Patience and Grace et Wasting Light.

Afin de promouvoir leur album le plus grand succès, Foo Fighters a présenté un spectacle au studio 606 en octobre 2009 (qui a été diffusé en ligne), au cours duquel le groupe a accepté les demandes des fans. [36]

En août 2010, le groupe a commencé à enregistrer son septième album studio avec le producteur Butch Vig, qui avait précédemment produit les deux nouvelles pistes pour l'album Greatest Hits du groupe. [37] L'album a été enregistré dans le garage de Dave Grohl en utilisant uniquement du matériel analogique.

L'enregistrement était analogique sur bande et n'utilisait aucun ordinateur, pas même pour le mixage ou le master. [38] Vig a déclaré dans une interview avec MTV que l'album était entièrement analogique jusqu'au post-mastering. [39] Pat Smear était présent sur de nombreuses photos publiées par Grohl sur Twitter et un communiqué de presse en décembre a confirmé que Smear avait joué sur chaque piste de l'album et était à nouveau considéré comme un membre principal du groupe, après avoir initialement quitté en tant que membre à temps plein en 1997. avant de revenir comme guitariste en tournée en 2006. [40]

Le premier single de Wasting Light, «Rope», est sorti à la radio en février 2011. [41] Le 16 avril 2011, Foo Fighters a sorti un album de couvertures, Medium Rare, comme un vinyle en édition limitée pour le Record Store Day. [42] La promotion de l'album a été très appréciée pour son originalité. [43] Wasting Light a fait ses débuts au numéro un du classement Billboard 200, étant le premier album de Foo Fighters à le faire. [44] Parmi les autres singles de l'album figuraient «Walk», «Arlandria», «These Days» et «Bridge Burning»

Le film, intitulé Back and Forth, raconte la carrière du groupe, de la dissolution de Nirvana due à la mort du leader Kurt Cobain à la formation de Foo Fighters en tant que «one-man band» de Dave Grohl jusqu'au statut du groupe en 2011.

Malgré l'annonce initiale d'une pause après avoir soutenu Wasting Light, Grohl a déclaré plus tard en janvier 2013 que le groupe avait commencé à écrire du matériel pour un huitième album studio. [53] Le 20 février 2013, aux Brit Awards, Grohl a déclaré qu'il retournait en Amérique le jour suivant pour commencer à travailler sur le prochain album. [54]

Le 6 septembre 2013, Shiflett a posté une photo sur son compte Instagram indiquant que 13 chansons sont en cours d'enregistrement pour le nouvel album et a ensuite décrit l'album dans une interview comme "plutôt amusant". [55] Rami Jaffee a enregistré des parties de trois chansons, dont l'une est intitulée «In the Way». [56] Butch Vig, qui a travaillé avec le groupe sur Wasting Light, a confirmé via Twitter à la fin d'août 2013 qu'il produisait l'album. [57] [58] Le groupe a confirmé qu'il mettrait fin à sa pause en jouant deux spectacles à Mexico, au Mexique, les 11 et 13 décembre 2013.

Le 31 octobre 2013, une vidéo est apparue sur la chaîne YouTube officielle des Foo Fighters montrant un motocycliste, montré plus tard comme l'acteur Erik Estrada, offrant à chacun des membres du groupe une invitation à jouer au Mexique. [59]

Le 16 janvier 2014, une photo a été publiée sur la page Facebook de Foo Fighters avec plusieurs bandes maîtresses dont certaines sont étiquetées «LP 8». [60] Le 15 mai 2014, il a été annoncé que le huitième album du groupe serait publié en novembre 2014 et que les Foo Fighters commémoreraient l'album et leur 20e anniversaire avec une série télévisée HBO dirigée par Dave Grohl intitulée Sonic Highways. [61] Huit chansons ont été écrites et enregistrées dans huit studios de huit villes américaines différentes.

La série les montre en train de faire cela alors qu'ils essaient de capturer l'histoire et l'ambiance de chaque ville pour la chanson dédiée à cette région. [62] Le 30 juillet 2014, Butch Vig a révélé que les Foo Fighters avaient terminé l'enregistrement et le mixage du nouvel album et qu'il était prévu de le sortir un mois après la première de l'émission télévisée. [63]

Le groupe a joué 23 chansons au cours de deux heures et demie. [65] Foo Fighters a annoncé que leur tournée comprendrait des performances au Cap, en Afrique du Sud, le 10 décembre 2014, et à Johannesburg le 13 décembre.

Le groupe a joué trois représentations sous le pseudonyme «The Holy Shits» en septembre 2014; le premier au club Concorde 2 à Brighton, en Angleterre, où Dave Grohl a invité le chanteur principal Jay Apperley du groupe hommage «UK Foo Fighters» sur scène à chanter, [66] [67] puis à la «House of Vans», et enfin à «Islington Assembly Hall».

Le 11 août, le groupe a annoncé que le nouvel album serait intitulé Sonic Highways et serait sorti le 10 novembre 2014. [69] [70] Les Foo Fighters ont également annoncé une tournée internationale, baptisée Sonic Highways World Tour, avec des performances en Afrique du Sud en décembre 2014 et en Amérique du Sud en janvier 2015. [71] Leur tournée s'est poursuivie en Australie et en Nouvelle-Zélande en février et mars 2015. [72]

Le 12 juin 2015, Grohl est tombé d'une scène de concert à Göteborg, en Suède, pendant la deuxième chanson du set des Foo Fighters et s'est cassé la jambe. [76] Le groupe a joué sans Grohl pendant qu'il recevait des soins médicaux, et Grohl est ensuite retourné sur scène, assis sur une chaise pour jouer les deux dernières heures du set du groupe pendant qu'un médecin s'occupait de sa jambe. [76] Après le concert, Grohl a été transporté à Londres pour une opération chirurgicale, où les médecins ont inséré six broches métalliques dans sa jambe. [77] À la suite de la blessure de Grohl, le 16 juin, le groupe a annoncé qu'il annulait toutes ses dates de tournée européennes restantes. [77]

Les Foo Fighters prévoyaient de suivre leur tournée internationale avec une tournée nord-américaine pour promouvoir Sonic Highways, en commençant par un événement spécial du 20 juillet à Washington, DC, qui commémorerait le 79e anniversaire du groupe. [80] Cet événement d'une journée entière, qui se tiendra au stade RFK de Washington, a été annoncé comme présentant des performances de Joan Jett et des Blackhearts, Heart, LL Cool J, Gary Clark Jr. et Buddy Guy. [81] La blessure à la jambe de Dave Grohl a d'abord conduit à la spéculation que le groupe abandonnerait l'événement, mais ils ont confirmé plus tard qu'ils joueraient toujours; [2015] cependant, la blessure les a empêchés de faire la tête d'affiche du Festival de Glastonbury 2017 (bien qu'ils reviendraient et feraient la une en XNUMX).

En commençant par le spectacle du 4 juillet, les Foo Fighters ont renommé la tournée nord-américaine comme le Broken Leg Tour. [82] Le groupe a continué à utiliser le nouveau nom de tournée lors de représentations plus tard en Amérique du Nord. [84] [85] Au cours de la tournée, avant un concert au Sprint Center de Kansas City, Missouri, le 21 août 2015, les Foo Fighters ont organisé une contre-manifestation contre des membres de l'Église baptiste de Westboro, qui protestaient contre leur concert, les faisant rouler par l'arrière d'une camionnette. [86]

Grohl a annoncé que le groupe passerait une grande partie de 2017 à enregistrer son neuvième album studio. [90] Le 1er juin 2017, leur nouveau single «Run» est sorti. [91] «Run» a dominé le palmarès américain Billboard Mainstream Rock Songs le mois suivant.

Avec la sortie du nouvel album, les Foo Fighters ont également confirmé que le claviériste en tournée Rami Jaffee est officiellement le sixième membre du groupe. [92] Les Foo Fighters ont annoncé le 20 juin 2017 que leur nouvel album, Concrete and Gold, sortirait en septembre.

Les Foo Fighters ont été décrits comme du grunge, [104] [105] rock alternatif, [106] post-grunge [107] et hard rock. [108] Lorsque Grohl a créé le groupe pour la première fois, sa musique était souvent comparée à celle de son groupe précédent, Nirvana.

Foo Fighters a également utilisé la technique de basculement entre les couplets calmes et les refrains forts, ce qui, selon Grohl, était influencé par les membres de Nirvana «aimant The Knack, Bay City Rollers, Beatles et ABBA autant que nous aimions Flipper et Black Flag, je suppose ». [4] Écrivant et enregistrant lui-même des chansons pour le premier album de Foo Fighters, Grohl a écrit les riffs de guitare pour être aussi rythmés que possible.

These include four Grammys in the Best Rock Album category for There Is Nothing Left to Lose, One by One, Echoes, Silence, Patience & Grace and Wasting Light, and three awards for Best Hard Rock Performance for the songs “All My Life”, “The Pretender” and “White Limo”.[111] The band also received three Kerrang!

Le groupe a été nominé pour six Grammy Awards, dont l'album de l'année, la meilleure performance rock, la meilleure performance hard rock / métal, la meilleure chanson rock, le meilleur album rock et la meilleure vidéo musicale longue durée (pour Back and Forth).


La source: Foo Fighters

Following Kobain’s death, Dave Grohl started Foo Fighters as a small side project. When asked later about the name, he responded “Had I actually considered this to be a career, I probably would have called it something else, because it’s the stupidest fucking band name in the world.”

Prior to the release of Foo Fighters’ 1995 debut album Foo Fighters, which featured Grohl as the only official member, Grohl recruited bassist Nate Mendel and drummer William Goldsmith, both formerly of Sunny Day Real Estate, as well as Nirvana touring guitarist Pat Smear to complete the lineup.

Foo Fighters released its sixth album, Echoes, Silence, Patience & Grace, in 2007.

In November 2014, the band’s eighth studio album, Sonic Highways, was released as an accompanying soundtrack to the Grohl-directed 2014 miniseries of the same name.

On September 15, 2017, the band released their ninth studio album, Concrete and Gold, which became their second to reach number one in the United States and was the band’s first studio album to feature longtime session and touring keyboardist Rami Jaffee as a full member.

Dave Grohl (pictured in 2006) founded Foo Fighters after his previous band Nirvana ended in 1994

Ultimately, Grohl declined and instead entered Robert Lang Studios in October 1994 to record fifteen of the forty songs he had written.[5] With the exception of a guitar part on “X-Static”, played by Greg Dulli of the Afghan Whigs, Grohl played every instrument and sang every vocal on the tracks.[7] “I was supposed to just join another band and be a drummer the rest of my life,” Grohl later said.

However, the demo tape circulated in the music industry, creating interest among record labels.[9][10] Grohl formed a band to support the album.

Grohl asked Pat Smear, who served as a touring guitarist for Nirvana after the release of its 1993 album, In Utero, to join as the group’s second guitarist.[12] Grohl ultimately licensed the album to Capitol Records, releasing it on his new record label, Roswell Records.[5]

Grohl refused to do interviews or tour large venues to promote the album.[12] Foo Fighters undertook its first major tour in the spring of 1995, opening for Mike Watt.

The band’s first single, “This Is a Call”, was released in June 1995,[7] and its debut album Foo Fighters was released the next month.

Four months later in September 1997 at the MTV Video Music Awards, Smear simultaneously announced to the public his departure from the band and introduced his replacement, Grohl’s former Scream bandmate Franz Stahl.[15] Stahl toured with the band for the next few months, and appeared on two tracks that the band recorded for movie soundtracks, a re-recording of “Walking After You” for The X-Files and “A320” for Godzilla.

In 1998, Foo Fighters traveled to Grohl’s home state of Virginia to write music for its third album.

Shortly after that, Mendel called Grohl to say he was quitting the band to reunite with Sunny Day Real Estate, only to reverse his decision the next day.[16] The remaining trio of Grohl, Mendel, and Hawkins spent the next several months recording the band’s third album, There Is Nothing Left to Lose, in Grohl’s Virginia home studio that he bought and built.

Shiflett initially joined the band as touring guitarist, but achieved full-time status prior to the recording of the group’s fourth album.[17]

Around 2001, Foo Fighters established a relationship with rock band Queen, of whom the band (particularly Grohl[22] and Hawkins[23]) were fans.

In March of that year, Grohl and Hawkins inducted the band into the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame[24] and joined them on stage for a rendition of the Queen 1976 classic “Tie Your Mother Down”, with Hawkins playing drums alongside Roger Taylor, while Grohl was playing rhythm guitar and handling vocal duties.[25] Guitarist Brian May added a guitar track to Foo Fighters’ second cover of Pink Floyd’s “Have a Cigar”, which appeared on the soundtrack to the movie Mission: Impossible 2.

The bands have performed together on several occasions since, including VH1 Rock Honors and Foo Fighters’ headlining concert in Hyde Park.

Once the Queens of the Stone Age album was finished, and touring had started for both Foo Fighters and Queens of the Stone Age, the band was on the verge of breaking up entirely as the animosity grew amongst the members.

Grohl reconvened with Hawkins, Shiflett and Mendel to have them play at the Coachella Festival, with Queens of the Stone Age playing one day and Foo Fighters the following.

The group re-recorded nearly all of the album (save “Tired of You”) in a ten-day stretch at Grohl’s home studio in Alexandria, Virginia.[17] The original version of One by One, referred to by the band as “Million Dollar Demos”, has never been heard in its entirety, except for fragments that were leaked.[26]

Having spent a year and a half touring behind One by One, Grohl did not want to rush into recording another Foo Fighters record.

Initially Grohl intended to write acoustic material by himself, but eventually the project involved the entire band.[29] To record its fifth album, the band shifted to Los Angeles and built a recording studio, dubbed Studio 606 West.

During September and October 2005, the band toured with Weezer on what was billed as the ‘Foozer Tour’ as the two bands co-headlined the tour.[31] Foo Fighters also played a headline performance at the 2005 Reading and Leeds Festivals.

As Page and Jones left the stage before a final encore of “Best Of You”, an ecstatic Grohl shouted “Welcome to the greatest fucking day of my whole entire life!”.[33] Throughout the tour for Echoes, Silence, Patience & Grace, Foo Fighters had been writing and practicing new songs at sound checks.

After Foo Fighters had completed this tour in September 2008, they recorded 13 new songs in studio 606, shortly after announcing a hiatus from touring (which would last until January 2011).

While the members of Foo Fighters had initially planned for their new album (composed of songs from this recording session) to have come out in 2009 with almost no touring support, they ultimately decided to shelve most of the songs from these sessions.

On November 3, 2009, the band released a compilation album, Greatest Hits, which features two new songs, “Word Forward” and the single “Wheels”.[35] These songs were recorded during a session which occurred between Echoes, Silence, Patience and Grace and Wasting Light coming out.

In order to promote their greatest hits album, Foo Fighters performed a show at studio 606 in October 2009 (which was broadcast online), during which the band took fan requests.[36][not in citation given]

In August 2010, the band began recording their seventh studio album with producer Butch Vig, who had previously produced the two new tracks for the band’s Greatest Hits album.[37] The album was recorded in Dave Grohl’s garage using only analog equipment.

The recording was analog to tape and used no computers, not even to mix or master.[38] Vig said in an interview with MTV that the album was entirely analog until post-mastering.[39] Pat Smear was present in many photos posted by Grohl on Twitter and a press release in December confirmed Smear played on every track on the album and was considered a core member of the band once again, having initially left as a full-time member in 1997 before returning as a touring guitarist in 2006.[40]

The first single from Wasting Light, “Rope”, was released to radio in February 2011.[41] On April 16, 2011, Foo Fighters released an album of covers, Medium Rare, as a limited-edition vinyl for Record Store Day.[42] The promotion for the album has been highly praised for its originality.[43] Wasting Light debuted at number one on the Billboard 200 chart, being the first Foo Fighters album to do so.[44] Other singles for the album included “Walk”, “Arlandria”, “These Days”, and “Bridge Burning”

The film, entitled Back and Forth, chronicles the band’s career, from the dissolution of Nirvana due to the death of frontman Kurt Cobain to the formation of Foo Fighters as Dave Grohl’s “one-man band” to the status of the band in 2011.

Despite initially announcing a break after supporting Wasting Light, Grohl later stated in January 2013 that the band had started writing material for an eighth studio album.[53] On February 20, 2013, at the Brit Awards, Grohl said he was flying back to America the following day to start work on the next album.[54]

On September 6, 2013, Shiflett posted a photo to his Instagram account that indicates 13 songs are being recorded for the new album and later described the album in an interview as “pretty fucking fun”.[55] Rami Jaffee has recorded parts for three songs, one of which is entitled “In the Way”.[56] Butch Vig, who worked with the band on Wasting Light, confirmed via Twitter in late August 2013 that he is producing the album.[57][58] The band confirmed that it would end its hiatus by playing two shows in Mexico City, Mexico, on December 11 and 13, 2013.

On October 31, 2013, a video appeared on the official Foo Fighters YouTube channel showing a motorcyclist, later shown as actor Erik Estrada, delivering each of the band members an invitation to play in Mexico.[59]

On January 16, 2014, a picture was posted to Foo Fighters’s Facebook page with several master tapes with some labeled “LP 8”.[60] On May 15, 2014, it was announced that the band’s eighth album would be released in November 2014 and that the Foo Fighters would commemorate the album and their 20th anniversary with an HBO TV series directed by Dave Grohl entitled Sonic Highways.[61] Eight songs were written and recorded in eight studios in eight different American cities.

The series shows them doing this as they try to capture the history and feel of each town for the song dedicated to that area.[62] On July 30, 2014, Butch Vig revealed that the Foo Fighters had finished recording and mixing the new album and that it was slated to be released a month after the premiere of the TV show.[63]

The band played 23 songs over the course of two and a half hours.[65] Foo Fighters announced their tour would include performances in Cape Town, South Africa, on December 10, 2014, and Johannesburg on December 13.

The band played three performances under the alias “The Holy Shits” in September 2014; the first at the Concorde 2 club in Brighton, England, where Dave Grohl invited lead singer Jay Apperley of “UK Foo Fighters” tribute band on stage to sing,[66][67] then at the “House of Vans”, and lastly at “Islington Assembly Hall”.

On August 11, the band announced that the new album would be titled Sonic Highways and released on November 10, 2014.[69][70] The Foo Fighters also announced an international tour, dubbed the Sonic Highways World Tour, with performances in South Africa in December 2014 and South America in January 2015.[71] Their tour continued to Australia and New Zealand in February and March 2015.[72]

On June 12, 2015, Grohl fell from a concert stage in Gothenburg, Sweden, during the second song of the Foo Fighters’ set and broke his leg.[76] The band played without Grohl while he received medical attention, and Grohl then returned to the stage, sitting in a chair to perform the last two hours of the band’s set while a medic tended to his leg.[76] After the concert, Grohl was flown to London for surgery, where doctors inserted six metal pins into his leg.[77] As a result of Grohl’s injury, on June 16 the band announced it was cancelling all of its remaining European tour dates.[77]

The Foo Fighters planned to follow their international tour with a North American tour to promote Sonic Highways, beginning with a special Fourth of July event in Washington, D.C., that would commemorate the band’s 20th anniversary.[79] This all-day event, to be held at Washington’s RFK Stadium, was advertised as featuring performances by Joan Jett and the Blackhearts, Heart, LL Cool J, Gary Clark Jr., and Buddy Guy.[80] Dave Grohl’s leg injury initially led to speculation that the band would drop out of the event, but they later confirmed they would still perform;[81] however, the injury did prevent them from headlining the 2015 Glastonbury Festival (although they would return and headline in 2017).

Beginning with the show on July 4, the Foo Fighters re-branded the North American tour as the Broken Leg Tour.[82] The band continued to use the new tour name at later North American performances.[84][85] During the tour, prior to a concert at the Sprint Center in Kansas City, Missouri, on August 21, 2015, the Foo Fighters staged a counter protest against members of the Westboro Baptist Church, who were protesting their concert, rickrolling them from the back of a pickup truck.[86]

Grohl announced that the band would spend much of 2017 recording their ninth studio album.[90] On June 1, 2017, their new single “Run” was released.[91] “Run” topped the US Billboard Mainstream Rock Songs chart the following month.

With the new album release, the Foo Fighters also confirmed that touring keyboardist Rami Jaffee is officially the sixth member of the group.[92] The Foo Fighters announced on June 20, 2017, that their new album, Concrete and Gold, would be released in September.

Foo Fighters have been described as grunge,[104][105] alternative rock,[106] post-grunge[107] and hard rock.[108] When Grohl first started the band, its music was often compared to that of his previous group, Nirvana.

Foo Fighters also utilized the technique of shifting between quiet verses and loud choruses, which Grohl said was influenced by the members of Nirvana “liking The Knack, Bay City Rollers, Beatles, and ABBA as much as we liked Flipper and Black Flag, I suppose”.[4] Writing and recording songs for the first Foo Fighters album by himself, Grohl wrote the guitar riffs to be as rhythmic as possible.

These include four Grammys in the Best Rock Album category for There Is Nothing Left to Lose, One by One, Echoes, Silence, Patience & Grace and Wasting Light, and three awards for Best Hard Rock Performance for the songs “All My Life”, “The Pretender” and “White Limo”.[111] The band also received three Kerrang!

The band was nominated for six Grammy Awards, including Album of the Year, Best Rock Performance, Best Hard Rock/Metal Performance, Best Rock Song, Best Rock Album and Best Long Form Music Video (for Back and Forth).


Source: Foo Fighters