柯本(Kobain)死后,戴夫·格罗尔(Dave Grohl)创办了Foo Fighters,这是一个小型项目。 后来当被问及这个名字时,他回答说:“如果我实际上认为这是一个职业,我可能会改称别的名字,因为这是世界上最愚蠢的乐队名称。”

在Foo Fighters 1995年发行的首张专辑Foo Fighters发行之前,Grohl是唯一的正式成员,Grohl聘请了贝斯手Nate Mendel和鼓手William Goldsmith(均曾是Sunny Day Real Estate)以及Nirvana巡演吉他手Pat Smear来完成阵容。

Foo Fighters released its sixth album, Echoes, Silence, Patience & Grace, in 2007.

2014年2014月,乐队的第八张录音室专辑《 Sonic Highways》作为配乐发行,发行了由Grohl执导的XNUMX年同名迷你剧。

15年2017月XNUMX日,乐队发行了他们的第九张录音室专辑《 Concrete and Gold》,成为他们在美国的第二张专辑,并且是乐队的第一张录音室专辑,该专辑包含了长时间的录音和键盘手Rami Jaffee的正式成员。

戴夫·格罗(Dave Grohl,2006年摄)在他的前乐队《极乐世界》于1994年结束后创立了Foo Fighters

最终,格洛尔拒绝了,而是在1994年5月进入罗伯特·兰工作室,录制了他创作的7首歌曲中的XNUMX首。[XNUMX] 除了由阿富汗辉格党的格雷格·杜利(Greg Dulli)演奏的“ X-Static”吉他声之外,格劳尔(Grohl)演奏每一种乐器并演唱曲目中的每一个声音。[XNUMX] 格罗尔后来说:“我应该加入另一支乐队,成为我一生的鼓手。”

然而,演示磁带在音乐界流传开来,引起唱片公司的兴趣。[9] [10] Grohl组成乐队来支持专辑。

格罗尔(Grohl)邀请帕特·斯米尔(Pat Smear)加入乐队的第二位吉他手。帕特·史米尔(Pat Smear)是涅磐乐队(1993)发行专辑In Utero后担任巡回吉他手的角色。 Grohl最终将该唱片授权给了Capitol Records,并在他的新唱片公司Roswell Records发行。[12]

Grohl拒绝接受采访或在大型场所进行巡回宣传专辑。[12] Foo Fighters于1995年春季为Mike Watt进行了首次大型巡回演出。

乐队的第一张单曲“ This Is a Call”于1995年7月发行,[XNUMX]而其首张专辑《 Foo Fighters》则在下个月发行。

四个月后的1997年15月,在MTV音乐录影带大奖上,Smear同时向公众宣布了他的乐队离职,并介绍了他的接班人Grohl的前Scream乐队成员Franz Stahl。[320] Stahl在接下来的几个月中与乐队一起巡回演出,并出现在乐队录制的电影音轨的两首曲目中,重新录制了X档案的“ Walking After You”和哥斯拉的“ AXNUMX”。

1998年,Foo Fighters前往Grohl的家乡弗吉尼亚州为其第三张专辑创作音乐。

此后不久,孟德尔打电话给格罗尔(Grohl),说他要退出乐队与“晴天房地产”团聚,但第二天才撤销他的决定。[16] 剩余的三人组合Grohl,Mendel和Hawkins用了接下来的几个月在他购买并建造的Grohl的弗吉尼亚州家庭录音室中录制了乐队的第三张专辑《 Nothing Left to Lose》。

Shiflett最初以巡回吉他手的身份加入乐队,但在录制乐队的第四张专辑之前获得了全职身份。[17]

2001年左右,Foo Fighters与Queen摇滚乐队建立了联系,该乐队的乐队(尤其是Grohl [22]和Hawkins [23])是歌迷。

In March of that year, Grohl and Hawkins inducted the band into the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame[24] and joined them on stage for a rendition of the Queen 1976 classic “Tie Your Mother Down”, with Hawkins playing drums alongside Roger Taylor, while Grohl was playing rhythm guitar and handling vocal duties.[25] Guitarist Brian May added a guitar track to Foo Fighters’ second cover of Pink Floyd’s “Have a Cigar”, which appeared on the soundtrack to the movie Mission: Impossible 2.

自此以来,乐队已经多次演出,包括VH1摇滚荣誉奖和Foo Fighters在海德公园的头条演唱会。

一旦《石器时代的女王》专辑制作完成,并且Foo Fighters和《石器时代的女王》都开始巡回演出,随着成员之间的敌意情绪增加,乐队濒临破裂。

Grohl与Hawkins,Shiflett和Mendel再次聚会,让他们参加Coachella音乐节,而石器时代的Queens则参加一天,而Foo Fighters则参加了。

乐队在位于弗吉尼亚州亚历山大市的Grohl的家庭录音室中进行了为期十天的录音,几乎重新录制了几乎所有专辑(保存为“ Tired of You”)。[17] 乐队将其称为“百万美元演示”的原始版本,除了被泄露的片段外,从未完整听过。[26]

在花了一年半的时间逐个巡回演出之后,Grohl不想急于录制另一张Foo Fighters唱片。

最初,Grohl打算自己编写声学材料,但最终该项目涉及整个乐队。[29] 为了录制第五张专辑,乐队转移到洛杉矶,并建立了一个录音室,称为Studio 606 West。

在2005年31月和2005月期间,乐队与Weezer一起巡回演出,这被称为“ Foozer巡回演唱会”,因为这两个乐队共同成为巡回演出的头条新闻。[XNUMX] Foo Fighters还在XNUMX年雷丁音乐节和利兹音乐节上发表了重要的表演。

As Page and Jones left the stage before a final encore of “Best Of You”, an ecstatic Grohl shouted “Welcome to the greatest fucking day of my whole entire life!”.[33] Throughout the tour for Echoes, Silence, Patience & Grace, Foo Fighters had been writing and practicing new songs at sound checks.

Foo Fighters在2008年13月完成本次巡回演出后,在宣布巡回演出中断(直到606年2011月)后不久,他们在XNUMX工作室录制了XNUMX首新歌。

尽管Foo Fighters的成员最初计划在2009年发行他们的新专辑(由本次录音的歌曲构成),几乎没有巡回演出的支持,但他们最终还是决定搁置这些专辑中的大多数歌曲。

3年2009月35日,乐队发行了合辑《 Greatest Hits》,其中收录了两首新歌“ Word Forward”和单曲“ Wheels”。[XNUMX] 这些歌曲是在回声,沉默,耐心和恩典与哭泣之光之间的一段录音中录制的。

为了宣传他们最畅销的专辑,Foo Fighters于606年2009月在36工作室进行了一场表演(在线播放),在此期间乐队接受了歌迷的要求。[XNUMX] [未引用]

2010年37月,乐队开始与制作人Butch Vig录制他们的第七张录音室专辑,后者此前曾为乐队的Greatest Hits专辑制作过两首新曲目。[XNUMX] 专辑仅使用模拟设备记录在Dave Grohl的车库中。

录音类似于磁带,不使用计算机,甚至不进行混音或录音。[38] 维格在接受MTV采访时说,专辑制作完成后才完全是模拟唱片。[39] Pat Smear出现在Grohl在Twitter上发布的许多照片中,并在1997月的新闻稿中证实了Smear曾在专辑的每个曲目上演出,并再次被视为乐队的核心成员,最初于2006年离开公司成为专职成员在40年以巡回吉他手的身份返回之前。[XNUMX]

《浪费之光》的第一首单曲“绳索”于2011年41月发布到广播中。[16] 2011年42月43日,Foo Fighters发行了唱片专辑“ Medium Rare”,作为唱片商店日的限量版黑胶唱片。[200] 专辑的促销活动因其原创性而受到高度赞扬。[44] [Wasting Light]在Billboard XNUMX排行榜上排名第一,是第一张这样做的Foo Fighters专辑。[XNUMX] 专辑的其他单曲包括“走”,“亚兰德里亚”,“这些天”和“桥烧”

影片名为Back and Forth,记录了乐队的职业生涯,从因主唱Kurt Cobain的死而导致的涅磐解散,到Dave Grohl的“单人乐队”的Foo Fighters的成立,一直到2011年乐队的地位。

尽管最初在支持Wasting Light之后宣布休息,但Grohl后来在2013年53月表示乐队已经开始为第八张录音室专辑创作材料。[20] 在2013年54月XNUMX日的全英音乐奖上,格罗尔(Grohl)说他第二天飞回美国,开始制作下一张专辑。[XNUMX]

6年2013月13日,席弗莱特(Shiflett)在自己的Instagram帐户上发布了一张照片,表明正在为新专辑录制55首歌曲,后来在一次采访中将该专辑描述为“非常有趣”。[56] 拉米·贾菲(Rami Jaffee)录制了三首歌曲的一部分,其中一首名为“在路上”。[2013] 与该乐队在Wasting Light上合作的Butch Vig在57年58月下旬通过Twitter确认自己正在制作这张专辑。[11] [13] 乐队确认将在2013年XNUMX月XNUMX日至XNUMX日在墨西哥墨西哥城举行两场演出,以结束中断。

31年2013月59日,在Foo Fighters YouTube官方频道上播放了一段视频,展示了一个摩托车手,后来饰演演员Erik Estrada,向每个乐队成员发出了在墨西哥演出的邀请。[XNUMX]

16年2014月8日,一张图片发布在Foo Fighters的Facebook页面上,上面放着几张母带,上面贴着一些标有“ LP 60”的文字。[15] 2014年2014月20日,宣布该乐队的第八张专辑将于61年XNUMX月发行,Foo Fighters将通过Dave Grohl执导的HBO电视连续剧《 Sonic Highways》来纪念该专辑及其XNUMX周年。[XNUMX] 在八个美国城市的八个录音室中录制并录制了八首歌曲。

该系列节目向他们展示了这样做的原因,因为他们试图捕获献给该地区的歌曲的每个城镇的历史和感觉。[62] 30年2014月63日,布奇·维格(Butch Vig)透露,《 Foo Fighters》已经完成了新专辑的录制和混音,并且定于电视节目首映后一个月发行。[XNUMX]

乐队在两个半小时的时间内演奏了23首歌曲。[65] Foo Fighters宣布巡回演出将包括10年2014月13日在南非开普敦和XNUMX月XNUMX日在约翰内斯堡的表演。

乐队在2014年2月以“ The Holy Shits”的名义演奏了三场表演; 第一次是在英国布莱顿的Concorde 66俱乐部,戴夫·格罗尔(Dave Grohl)邀请舞台上的“英国Foo Fighters”贡乐队的主唱杰伊·阿佩里(Jay Apperley)演唱,[67] [XNUMX]然后在“范斯之家”(House of Vans)演唱,最后在“伊斯灵顿礼堂”。

乐队于11月10日宣布,新专辑的标题将为“ Sonic Highways”,并于2014年69月70日发行。[2014] [2015] “ Foo Fighters”还宣布了一项国际巡演,称为“ Sonic Highways世界巡回演唱会”,该巡回演出将于71年2015月在南非和72年XNUMX月在南美进行。[XNUMX] 他们的巡演于XNUMX年XNUMX月和XNUMX月继续前往澳大利亚和新西兰。[XNUMX]

12年2015月76日,Grohl在Foo Fighters演唱会的第二首歌中从瑞典哥德堡的音乐会舞台跌落,摔断了腿。[76] 乐队在受到医疗救助的情况下没有Grohl演奏,然后Grohl回到舞台上,坐在椅子上进行乐队演出的最后两个小时,而医护人员则向他的腿倾斜。[77] 音乐会结束后,格罗尔飞到伦敦进行手术,医生在他的腿上插入了六个金属别针。[16] 由于格罗尔(Grohl)的受伤,乐队在77月XNUMX日宣布将取消所有剩余的欧洲巡演日期。[XNUMX]

Foo Fighters计划在国际巡回演出之后进行北美巡回演出,以推广Sonic Highways,首先是在华盛顿特区举行的特殊的七月四日活动,以纪念该乐队成立20周年。[79] 这项全天活动将在华盛顿的RFK体育场举行,并被广告宣传为其中包括琼·杰特(Joan Jett)和黑心党(Blackhearts),《心》,《 LL Cool J》,小加里·克拉克(Gary Clark Jr.)和巴迪·盖(Buddy Guy)的表演。[80] 戴夫·格罗(Dave Grohl)的腿部受伤最初导致人们猜测乐队会退出比赛,但后来他们确认他们仍然会表演; [81]但是,伤病确实阻止了他们成为2015年格拉斯顿伯里音乐节的头条新闻(尽管他们会返回并成为头条新闻在2017年)。

从4月82日的演出开始,“ Foo Fighters”将北美巡回赛更名为“断腿巡回赛”。[84] 乐队在随后的北美演出中继续使用新的巡演名称。[85] [21] 在巡回演出期间,2015年86月XNUMX日,在密苏里州堪萨斯城的Sprint中心举行音乐会之前,Foo Fighters发起了一场抗议,抗议韦斯特伯勒浸信会教堂的成员,他们抗议音乐会,将他们从后方滚走卡车。[XNUMX]

Grohl宣布,乐队将在2017年的大部分时间里录制他们的第90张录音室专辑。[1] 2017年91月XNUMX日,他们发行了新单曲“ Run”。[XNUMX] 次月,“奔跑”荣登美国广告牌主流摇滚歌曲排行榜榜首。

随着新专辑的发行,Foo Fighters还确认了巡回键盘手Rami Jaffee正式成为该乐队的第六位成员。[92] Foo Fighters在20年2017月XNUMX日宣布,他们的新专辑《 Concrete and Gold》将于XNUMX月发行。

Foo Fighter被描述为垃圾,[104] [105]替代岩石,[106]垃圾后[107]和硬石。[108] 当Grohl刚开始创建乐队时,其音乐经常与他之前的乐队Nirvana进行比较。

Foo Fighters还利用了在安静的诗句和响亮的合唱之间切换的技术,Grohl说这受到了涅rv乐队成员的影响,“我喜欢我们喜欢Flipper和Black Flag,就像喜欢The Knack,Bay City Rollers,Beatles和ABBA一样。 ”。[4] Grohl亲自撰写和录制了第一张Foo Fighters专辑的歌曲,并写出了吉他Rriff,使其具有尽可能的节奏感。

These include four Grammys in the Best Rock Album category for There Is Nothing Left to Lose, One by One, Echoes, Silence, Patience & Grace and Wasting Light, and three awards for Best Hard Rock Performance for the songs “All My Life”, “The Pretender” and “White Limo”.[111] The band also received three Kerrang!

乐队获得了六项格莱美奖提名,包括年度专辑,最佳摇滚表演,最佳硬摇滚/金属表演,最佳摇滚歌曲,最佳摇滚专辑和最佳长片音乐录影带(Back和Forth)。


来源: Foo Fighters乐队

Following Kobain’s death, Dave Grohl started Foo Fighters as a small side project. When asked later about the name, he responded “Had I actually considered this to be a career, I probably would have called it something else, because it’s the stupidest fucking band name in the world.”

Prior to the release of Foo Fighters’ 1995 debut album Foo Fighters, which featured Grohl as the only official member, Grohl recruited bassist Nate Mendel and drummer William Goldsmith, both formerly of Sunny Day Real Estate, as well as Nirvana touring guitarist Pat Smear to complete the lineup.

Foo Fighters released its sixth album, Echoes, Silence, Patience & Grace, in 2007.

In November 2014, the band’s eighth studio album, Sonic Highways, was released as an accompanying soundtrack to the Grohl-directed 2014 miniseries of the same name.

On September 15, 2017, the band released their ninth studio album, Concrete and Gold, which became their second to reach number one in the United States and was the band’s first studio album to feature longtime session and touring keyboardist Rami Jaffee as a full member.

Dave Grohl (pictured in 2006) founded Foo Fighters after his previous band Nirvana ended in 1994

Ultimately, Grohl declined and instead entered Robert Lang Studios in October 1994 to record fifteen of the forty songs he had written.[5] With the exception of a guitar part on “X-Static”, played by Greg Dulli of the Afghan Whigs, Grohl played every instrument and sang every vocal on the tracks.[7] “I was supposed to just join another band and be a drummer the rest of my life,” Grohl later said.

However, the demo tape circulated in the music industry, creating interest among record labels.[9][10] Grohl formed a band to support the album.

Grohl asked Pat Smear, who served as a touring guitarist for Nirvana after the release of its 1993 album, In Utero, to join as the group’s second guitarist.[12] Grohl ultimately licensed the album to Capitol Records, releasing it on his new record label, Roswell Records.[5]

Grohl refused to do interviews or tour large venues to promote the album.[12] Foo Fighters undertook its first major tour in the spring of 1995, opening for Mike Watt.

The band’s first single, “This Is a Call”, was released in June 1995,[7] and its debut album Foo Fighters was released the next month.

Four months later in September 1997 at the MTV Video Music Awards, Smear simultaneously announced to the public his departure from the band and introduced his replacement, Grohl’s former Scream bandmate Franz Stahl.[15] Stahl toured with the band for the next few months, and appeared on two tracks that the band recorded for movie soundtracks, a re-recording of “Walking After You” for The X-Files and “A320” for Godzilla.

In 1998, Foo Fighters traveled to Grohl’s home state of Virginia to write music for its third album.

Shortly after that, Mendel called Grohl to say he was quitting the band to reunite with Sunny Day Real Estate, only to reverse his decision the next day.[16] The remaining trio of Grohl, Mendel, and Hawkins spent the next several months recording the band’s third album, There Is Nothing Left to Lose, in Grohl’s Virginia home studio that he bought and built.

Shiflett initially joined the band as touring guitarist, but achieved full-time status prior to the recording of the group’s fourth album.[17]

Around 2001, Foo Fighters established a relationship with rock band Queen, of whom the band (particularly Grohl[22] and Hawkins[23]) were fans.

In March of that year, Grohl and Hawkins inducted the band into the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame[24] and joined them on stage for a rendition of the Queen 1976 classic “Tie Your Mother Down”, with Hawkins playing drums alongside Roger Taylor, while Grohl was playing rhythm guitar and handling vocal duties.[25] Guitarist Brian May added a guitar track to Foo Fighters’ second cover of Pink Floyd’s “Have a Cigar”, which appeared on the soundtrack to the movie Mission: Impossible 2.

The bands have performed together on several occasions since, including VH1 Rock Honors and Foo Fighters’ headlining concert in Hyde Park.

Once the Queens of the Stone Age album was finished, and touring had started for both Foo Fighters and Queens of the Stone Age, the band was on the verge of breaking up entirely as the animosity grew amongst the members.

Grohl reconvened with Hawkins, Shiflett and Mendel to have them play at the Coachella Festival, with Queens of the Stone Age playing one day and Foo Fighters the following.

The group re-recorded nearly all of the album (save “Tired of You”) in a ten-day stretch at Grohl’s home studio in Alexandria, Virginia.[17] The original version of One by One, referred to by the band as “Million Dollar Demos”, has never been heard in its entirety, except for fragments that were leaked.[26]

Having spent a year and a half touring behind One by One, Grohl did not want to rush into recording another Foo Fighters record.

Initially Grohl intended to write acoustic material by himself, but eventually the project involved the entire band.[29] To record its fifth album, the band shifted to Los Angeles and built a recording studio, dubbed Studio 606 West.

During September and October 2005, the band toured with Weezer on what was billed as the ‘Foozer Tour’ as the two bands co-headlined the tour.[31] Foo Fighters also played a headline performance at the 2005 Reading and Leeds Festivals.

As Page and Jones left the stage before a final encore of “Best Of You”, an ecstatic Grohl shouted “Welcome to the greatest fucking day of my whole entire life!”.[33] Throughout the tour for Echoes, Silence, Patience & Grace, Foo Fighters had been writing and practicing new songs at sound checks.

After Foo Fighters had completed this tour in September 2008, they recorded 13 new songs in studio 606, shortly after announcing a hiatus from touring (which would last until January 2011).

While the members of Foo Fighters had initially planned for their new album (composed of songs from this recording session) to have come out in 2009 with almost no touring support, they ultimately decided to shelve most of the songs from these sessions.

On November 3, 2009, the band released a compilation album, Greatest Hits, which features two new songs, “Word Forward” and the single “Wheels”.[35] These songs were recorded during a session which occurred between Echoes, Silence, Patience and Grace and Wasting Light coming out.

In order to promote their greatest hits album, Foo Fighters performed a show at studio 606 in October 2009 (which was broadcast online), during which the band took fan requests.[36][not in citation given]

In August 2010, the band began recording their seventh studio album with producer Butch Vig, who had previously produced the two new tracks for the band’s Greatest Hits album.[37] The album was recorded in Dave Grohl’s garage using only analog equipment.

The recording was analog to tape and used no computers, not even to mix or master.[38] Vig said in an interview with MTV that the album was entirely analog until post-mastering.[39] Pat Smear was present in many photos posted by Grohl on Twitter and a press release in December confirmed Smear played on every track on the album and was considered a core member of the band once again, having initially left as a full-time member in 1997 before returning as a touring guitarist in 2006.[40]

The first single from Wasting Light, “Rope”, was released to radio in February 2011.[41] On April 16, 2011, Foo Fighters released an album of covers, Medium Rare, as a limited-edition vinyl for Record Store Day.[42] The promotion for the album has been highly praised for its originality.[43] Wasting Light debuted at number one on the Billboard 200 chart, being the first Foo Fighters album to do so.[44] Other singles for the album included “Walk”, “Arlandria”, “These Days”, and “Bridge Burning”

The film, entitled Back and Forth, chronicles the band’s career, from the dissolution of Nirvana due to the death of frontman Kurt Cobain to the formation of Foo Fighters as Dave Grohl’s “one-man band” to the status of the band in 2011.

Despite initially announcing a break after supporting Wasting Light, Grohl later stated in January 2013 that the band had started writing material for an eighth studio album.[53] On February 20, 2013, at the Brit Awards, Grohl said he was flying back to America the following day to start work on the next album.[54]

On September 6, 2013, Shiflett posted a photo to his Instagram account that indicates 13 songs are being recorded for the new album and later described the album in an interview as “pretty fucking fun”.[55] Rami Jaffee has recorded parts for three songs, one of which is entitled “In the Way”.[56] Butch Vig, who worked with the band on Wasting Light, confirmed via Twitter in late August 2013 that he is producing the album.[57][58] The band confirmed that it would end its hiatus by playing two shows in Mexico City, Mexico, on December 11 and 13, 2013.

On October 31, 2013, a video appeared on the official Foo Fighters YouTube channel showing a motorcyclist, later shown as actor Erik Estrada, delivering each of the band members an invitation to play in Mexico.[59]

On January 16, 2014, a picture was posted to Foo Fighters’s Facebook page with several master tapes with some labeled “LP 8”.[60] On May 15, 2014, it was announced that the band’s eighth album would be released in November 2014 and that the Foo Fighters would commemorate the album and their 20th anniversary with an HBO TV series directed by Dave Grohl entitled Sonic Highways.[61] Eight songs were written and recorded in eight studios in eight different American cities.

The series shows them doing this as they try to capture the history and feel of each town for the song dedicated to that area.[62] On July 30, 2014, Butch Vig revealed that the Foo Fighters had finished recording and mixing the new album and that it was slated to be released a month after the premiere of the TV show.[63]

The band played 23 songs over the course of two and a half hours.[65] Foo Fighters announced their tour would include performances in Cape Town, South Africa, on December 10, 2014, and Johannesburg on December 13.

The band played three performances under the alias “The Holy Shits” in September 2014; the first at the Concorde 2 club in Brighton, England, where Dave Grohl invited lead singer Jay Apperley of “UK Foo Fighters” tribute band on stage to sing,[66][67] then at the “House of Vans”, and lastly at “Islington Assembly Hall”.

On August 11, the band announced that the new album would be titled Sonic Highways and released on November 10, 2014.[69][70] The Foo Fighters also announced an international tour, dubbed the Sonic Highways World Tour, with performances in South Africa in December 2014 and South America in January 2015.[71] Their tour continued to Australia and New Zealand in February and March 2015.[72]

On June 12, 2015, Grohl fell from a concert stage in Gothenburg, Sweden, during the second song of the Foo Fighters’ set and broke his leg.[76] The band played without Grohl while he received medical attention, and Grohl then returned to the stage, sitting in a chair to perform the last two hours of the band’s set while a medic tended to his leg.[76] After the concert, Grohl was flown to London for surgery, where doctors inserted six metal pins into his leg.[77] As a result of Grohl’s injury, on June 16 the band announced it was cancelling all of its remaining European tour dates.[77]

The Foo Fighters planned to follow their international tour with a North American tour to promote Sonic Highways, beginning with a special Fourth of July event in Washington, D.C., that would commemorate the band’s 20th anniversary.[79] This all-day event, to be held at Washington’s RFK Stadium, was advertised as featuring performances by Joan Jett and the Blackhearts, Heart, LL Cool J, Gary Clark Jr., and Buddy Guy.[80] Dave Grohl’s leg injury initially led to speculation that the band would drop out of the event, but they later confirmed they would still perform;[81] however, the injury did prevent them from headlining the 2015 Glastonbury Festival (although they would return and headline in 2017).

Beginning with the show on July 4, the Foo Fighters re-branded the North American tour as the Broken Leg Tour.[82] The band continued to use the new tour name at later North American performances.[84][85] During the tour, prior to a concert at the Sprint Center in Kansas City, Missouri, on August 21, 2015, the Foo Fighters staged a counter protest against members of the Westboro Baptist Church, who were protesting their concert, rickrolling them from the back of a pickup truck.[86]

Grohl announced that the band would spend much of 2017 recording their ninth studio album.[90] On June 1, 2017, their new single “Run” was released.[91] “Run” topped the US Billboard Mainstream Rock Songs chart the following month.

With the new album release, the Foo Fighters also confirmed that touring keyboardist Rami Jaffee is officially the sixth member of the group.[92] The Foo Fighters announced on June 20, 2017, that their new album, Concrete and Gold, would be released in September.

Foo Fighters have been described as grunge,[104][105] alternative rock,[106] post-grunge[107] and hard rock.[108] When Grohl first started the band, its music was often compared to that of his previous group, Nirvana.

Foo Fighters also utilized the technique of shifting between quiet verses and loud choruses, which Grohl said was influenced by the members of Nirvana “liking The Knack, Bay City Rollers, Beatles, and ABBA as much as we liked Flipper and Black Flag, I suppose”.[4] Writing and recording songs for the first Foo Fighters album by himself, Grohl wrote the guitar riffs to be as rhythmic as possible.

These include four Grammys in the Best Rock Album category for There Is Nothing Left to Lose, One by One, Echoes, Silence, Patience & Grace and Wasting Light, and three awards for Best Hard Rock Performance for the songs “All My Life”, “The Pretender” and “White Limo”.[111] The band also received three Kerrang!

The band was nominated for six Grammy Awards, including Album of the Year, Best Rock Performance, Best Hard Rock/Metal Performance, Best Rock Song, Best Rock Album and Best Long Form Music Video (for Back and Forth).


Source: Foo Fighters