После смерти Кобейна Дэйв Грол основал Foo Fighters как небольшой побочный проект. Когда позже его спросили о названии, он ответил: «Если бы я действительно считал это своей карьерой, я бы, наверное, назвал это как-нибудь иначе, потому что это самое дурацкое название группы в мире».

Перед выпуском дебютного альбома Foo Fighters 1995 года Foo Fighters, в котором Грол был единственным официальным участником, Грол нанял басиста Нейта Менделя и барабанщика Уильяма Голдсмита, которые ранее работали в Sunny Day Real Estate, а также гитариста Nirvana Пэта Смира. завершить модельный ряд.

Foo Fighters released its sixth album, Echoes, Silence, Patience & Grace, in 2007.

В ноябре 2014 года восьмой студийный альбом группы Sonic Highways был выпущен в качестве сопровождающего саундтрека к одноименному мини-сериалу 2014 года, снятому Гролом.

15 сентября 2017 года группа выпустила свой девятый студийный альбом Concrete and Gold, который стал их вторым студийным альбомом, занявшим первое место в США, и первым студийным альбомом группы, в котором в качестве полноправного участника выступил давний сессионный и гастролирующий клавишник Рами Джеффи. .

Дэйв Грол (на фото в 2006 году) основал Foo Fighters после того, как его предыдущая группа Nirvana распалась в 1994 году.

В конце концов, Грол отказался и вместо этого в октябре 1994 года вошел в студию Роберта Ланга, чтобы записать пятнадцать из сорока написанных им песен [5]. За исключением гитарной партии на «X-Static», которую сыграл Грег Дулли из «Афганских вигов», Грол играл на всех инструментах и ​​спел каждый вокал на треках. [7] «Я должен был просто присоединиться к другой группе и всю оставшуюся жизнь быть барабанщиком», - сказал позже Грол.

Однако демо-запись распространилась в музыкальной индустрии, вызвав интерес среди звукозаписывающих компаний. [9] [10] Грол сформировал группу в поддержку альбома.

Грол попросил Пэта Смира, который был гитаристом Nirvana после выхода ее альбома 1993 года In Utero, присоединиться к группе в качестве второго гитариста [12]. В конечном итоге Грол передал лицензию на альбом Capitol Records, выпустив его на своем новом лейбле Roswell Records. [5]

Грол отказался давать интервью или гастролировать по большим площадкам для продвижения альбома. [12] Весной 1995 года Foo Fighters отправились в свой первый крупный тур, на разогреве которого выступил Майк Уотт.

Первый сингл группы «This Is a Call» был выпущен в июне 1995 года [7], а ее дебютный альбом Foo Fighters вышел в следующем месяце.

Четыре месяца спустя, в сентябре 1997 года, на церемонии вручения наград MTV Video Music Awards Смир одновременно объявил публике о своем уходе из группы и представил свою замену, бывшего товарища Грола по группе Scream Франца Штала [15]. Шталь гастролировал с группой в течение следующих нескольких месяцев и появился на двух треках, которые группа записала для саундтреков к фильмам, перезаписи «Walking After You» для The X-Files и «A320» для Godzilla.

В 1998 году Foo Fighters поехали в штат Вирджиния, где родился Грол, чтобы написать музыку для своего третьего альбома.

Вскоре после этого Мендель позвонил Гролу и сообщил, что покидает группу, чтобы воссоединиться с Sunny Day Real Estate, но на следующий день отменил свое решение [16]. Оставшееся трио Грола, Менделя и Хокинса провело следующие несколько месяцев, записывая третий альбом группы, There Is Nothing Left to Lose, в домашней студии Грола в Вирджинии, которую он купил и построил.

Первоначально Шифлетт присоединился к группе в качестве гастролирующего гитариста, но до записи четвертого альбома группы достиг постоянного статуса. [17]

Примерно в 2001 году Foo Fighters установили отношения с рок-группой Queen, фанатами которой были группы (особенно Грол [22] и Хокинс [23]).

In March of that year, Grohl and Hawkins inducted the band into the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame[24] and joined them on stage for a rendition of the Queen 1976 classic “Tie Your Mother Down”, with Hawkins playing drums alongside Roger Taylor, while Grohl was playing rhythm guitar and handling vocal duties.[25] Guitarist Brian May added a guitar track to Foo Fighters’ second cover of Pink Floyd’s “Have a Cigar”, which appeared on the soundtrack to the movie Mission: Impossible 2.

С тех пор группы несколько раз выступали вместе, в том числе хедлайнерский концерт VH1 Rock Honors и Foo Fighters в Гайд-парке.

Как только альбом Queens of the Stone Age был закончен, и начались гастроли для Foo Fighters и Queens of the Stone Age, группа была на грани полного расставания, так как враждебность среди участников группы выросла.

Грол снова встретился с Хокинсом, Шифлеттом и Менделем, чтобы они сыграли на фестивале Coachella: один день играли Queens of the Stone Age, а завтра - Foo Fighters.

Группа перезаписала почти весь альбом (за исключением «Tired of You») за десять дней в домашней студии Грола в Александрии, штат Вирджиния [17]. Оригинальная версия One by One, именуемая группой «Million Dollar Demos», никогда не звучала полностью, за исключением просочившихся фрагментов [26].

Проведя полтора года в туре за One by One, Грол не хотел спешить с записью очередного альбома Foo Fighters.

Изначально Грол намеревался писать акустический материал сам, но в итоге в проекте была задействована вся группа. [29] Чтобы записать свой пятый альбом, группа переехала в Лос-Анджелес и построила студию звукозаписи под названием Studio 606 West.

В течение сентября и октября 2005 года группа гастролировала с Weezer в рамках того, что было объявлено «Foozer Tour», поскольку обе группы выступили в качестве со-хэдлайнеров тура. Foo Fighters также выступили в качестве заголовков на фестивалях в Рединге и Лидсе в 31 году.

As Page and Jones left the stage before a final encore of “Best Of You”, an ecstatic Grohl shouted “Welcome to the greatest fucking day of my whole entire life!”.[33] Throughout the tour for Echoes, Silence, Patience & Grace, Foo Fighters had been writing and practicing new songs at sound checks.

После того, как Foo Fighters завершили этот тур в сентябре 2008 года, они записали 13 новых песен в студии 606, вскоре после объявления о перерыве в туре (который продлится до января 2011 года).

Хотя участники Foo Fighters изначально планировали, что их новый альбом (состоящий из песен с этой записи) выйдет в 2009 году практически без поддержки туров, в конечном итоге они решили отложить большинство песен с этих сессий.

3 ноября 2009 года группа выпустила сборник «Greatest Hits», в который вошли две новые песни «Word Forward» и сингл «Wheels» [35]. Эти песни были записаны во время сессии, которая произошла между выходом Echoes, Silence, Patience and Grace и Wasting Light.

Чтобы продвинуть свой альбом лучших хитов, Foo Fighters в октябре 606 года отыграли шоу в студии 2009 (которое транслировалось в Интернете), во время которого группа принимала запросы фанатов. [36] [не цитируется]

В августе 2010 года группа начала запись своего седьмого студийного альбома с продюсером Бутчем Вигом, который ранее продюсировал два новых трека для альбома Greatest Hits [37]. Альбом был записан в гараже Дэйва Грола с использованием только аналогового оборудования.

Запись была аналогична кассете и не использовалась компьютерами, даже для сведения или мастеринга. [38] Виг сказал в интервью MTV, что альбом был полностью аналоговым до постмастеринга. [39] Пэт Смир присутствовал на многих фотографиях, опубликованных Гролом в Твиттере, а пресс-релиз в декабре подтвердил, что Смир играл на всех треках альбома и снова считался одним из основных участников группы, первоначально оставив его как полноправный участник в 1997 году. прежде чем вернуться в качестве гастролирующего гитариста в 2006 году. [40]

Первый сингл с Wasting Light, «Rope», был выпущен на радио в феврале 2011 года. [41] 16 апреля 2011 года Foo Fighters выпустили альбом каверов Medium Rare ограниченным тиражом ко Дню музыкального магазина. [42] Рекламная кампания альбома получила высокую оценку за его оригинальность. [43] Wasting Light дебютировал под номером один в чарте Billboard 200, став первым альбомом Foo Fighters, сделавшим это. [44] Другие синглы для альбома включали «Walk», «Arlandria», «These Days» и «Bridge Burning».

Фильм под названием Back and Forth рассказывает о карьере группы, от роспуска Nirvana из-за смерти фронтмена Курта Кобейна до образования Foo Fighters в качестве «единственной группы» Дэйва Грола до статуса группы в 2011 году.

Несмотря на то, что первоначально Грол объявил перерыв после поддержки Wasting Light, позже в январе 2013 года Грол заявил, что группа начала писать материал для восьмого студийного альбома. [53] 20 февраля 2013 года на церемонии вручения наград Brit Awards Грол сказал, что на следующий день вылетает обратно в Америку, чтобы начать работу над следующим альбомом [54].

6 сентября 2013 года Шифлетт опубликовал в своем аккаунте в Instagram фотографию, на которой указано, что для нового альбома записывается 13 песен, а позже назвал альбом в интервью «чертовски забавным» [55]. Рами Джаффи записал партии для трех песен, одна из которых называется «In the Way» [56]. Бутч Виг, который работал с группой над Wasting Light, подтвердил через Twitter в конце августа 2013 года, что он продюсирует альбом. [57] [58] Группа подтвердила, что прекратит перерыв в исполнении двух концертов в Мехико, Мексика, 11 и 13 декабря 2013 года.

31 октября 2013 года на официальном канале Foo Fighters на YouTube появилось видео, на котором мотоциклист, позже изображенный как актер Эрик Эстрада, доставляет каждому из участников группы приглашение выступить в Мексике. [59]

16 января 2014 года на странице Foo Fighters в Facebook было размещено изображение с несколькими мастер-кассетами, некоторые из которых были помечены как «LP 8». [60] 15 мая 2014 года было объявлено, что восьмой альбом группы будет выпущен в ноябре 2014 года и что Foo Fighters отметят альбом и свое 20-летие сериалом HBO под названием Sonic Highways, поставленным Дэйвом Гролом. [61] Восемь песен были написаны и записаны на восьми студиях в восьми разных городах Америки.

В сериале показано, как они это делают, пытаясь запечатлеть историю и настроение каждого города в песне, посвященной этой местности. [62] 30 июля 2014 года Бутч Виг сообщил, что Foo Fighters завершили запись и сведение нового альбома и что его планируется выпустить через месяц после премьеры телешоу. [63]

Группа сыграла 23 песни за два с половиной часа. [65] Foo Fighters объявили, что их тур будет включать выступления в Кейптауне, ЮАР, 10 декабря 2014 года и Йоханнесбурге 13 декабря.

В сентябре 2014 года группа отыграла три выступления под псевдонимом «The Holy Shits»; первый в клубе Concorde 2 в Брайтоне, Англия, где Дэйв Грол пригласил вокалиста Джея Апперли из трибьют-группы UK Foo Fighters на сцену, [66] [67] затем в «House of Vans», и, наконец, в «Islington Assembly Hall».

11 августа группа объявила, что новый альбом будет называться Sonic Highways и выпущен 10 ноября 2014 года. [69] [70] Foo Fighters также объявили о международном турне, получившем название Sonic Highways World Tour, с выступлениями в Южной Африке в декабре 2014 года и Южной Америке в январе 2015 года. [71] Их тур продолжился в Австралии и Новой Зеландии в феврале и марте 2015 года. [72]

12 июня 2015 года Грол упал с концертной площадки в Гетеборге, Швеция, во время исполнения второй песни сета Foo Fighters и сломал ногу. [76] Группа играла без Грола, пока ему оказывали медицинскую помощь, и затем Грол вернулся на сцену, сидя в кресле, чтобы отыграть последние два часа выступления группы, пока медик лечил его ногу. [76] После концерта Грол был доставлен в Лондон на операцию, где врачи вставили ему в ногу шесть металлических булавок [77]. В результате травмы Грола 16 июня группа объявила об отмене всех оставшихся концертов в Европе. [77]

За своим международным туром Foo Fighters планировали отправиться в тур по Северной Америке в поддержку Sonic Highways, который начнется со специального мероприятия 20 июля в Вашингтоне, округ Колумбия, в ознаменование 79-летия группы. [80] Это однодневное мероприятие, которое будет проходить на стадионе RFK в Вашингтоне, рекламировалось как показывающее выступления Джоан Джетт и Blackhearts, Heart, LL Cool J, Гэри Кларка-младшего и Бадди Гая. [81] Изначально травма ноги Дэйва Грола привела к предположениям, что группа выйдет из мероприятия, но позже они подтвердили, что продолжат выступать; [2015] однако травма помешала им возглавить фестиваль в Гластонбери 2017 года (хотя они вернутся и станут хедлайнерами). в XNUMX г.).

Начиная с концерта 4 июля, Foo Fighters переименовали тур по Северной Америке в тур «Broken Leg Tour». [82] Группа продолжала использовать новое название тура на более поздних выступлениях в Северной Америке. [84] [85] Во время тура, перед концертом в Sprint Center в Канзас-Сити, штат Миссури, 21 августа 2015 года Foo Fighters устроили встречный протест против членов баптистской церкви Вестборо, которые протестовали против их концерта, рикролируя их со спины. пикапа. [86]

Грол объявил, что большую часть 2017 года группа потратит на запись своего девятого студийного альбома. [90] 1 июня 2017 года вышел их новый сингл «Run». [91] В следующем месяце «Run» возглавила чарт Billboard Mainstream Rock Songs.

С выпуском нового альбома Foo Fighters также подтвердили, что гастролирующий клавишник Рами Джаффи официально является шестым участником группы. [92] 20 июня 2017 года Foo Fighters объявили, что их новый альбом Concrete and Gold выйдет в сентябре.

Foo Fighters называют гранж, [104] [105] альтернативный рок, [106] пост-гранж [107] и хард-рок. [108] Когда Грол только основал группу, ее музыку часто сравнивали с музыкой его предыдущей группы, Nirvana.

Foo Fighters также использовали технику переключения между тихими куплетами и громкими припевами, на что, по словам Грола, повлияло то, что участники Nirvana «любили The Knack, Bay City Rollers, Beatles и ABBA так же сильно, как нам нравились Flipper и Black Flag, я полагаю. ». [4] Самостоятельно сочиняя и записывая песни для первого альбома Foo Fighters, Грол писал гитарные риффы так, чтобы они были максимально ритмичными.

These include four Grammys in the Best Rock Album category for There Is Nothing Left to Lose, One by One, Echoes, Silence, Patience & Grace and Wasting Light, and three awards for Best Hard Rock Performance for the songs “All My Life”, “The Pretender” and “White Limo”.[111] The band also received three Kerrang!

Группа была номинирована на шесть премий «Грэмми», в том числе «Альбом года», «Лучшее рок-исполнение», «Лучшее хард-рок / металлическое выступление», «Лучшая рок-песня», «Лучший рок-альбом» и «Лучшее длинное музыкальное видео» (для Back and Forth).


источник: Foo Fighters

Following Kobain’s death, Dave Grohl started Foo Fighters as a small side project. When asked later about the name, he responded “Had I actually considered this to be a career, I probably would have called it something else, because it’s the stupidest fucking band name in the world.”

Prior to the release of Foo Fighters’ 1995 debut album Foo Fighters, which featured Grohl as the only official member, Grohl recruited bassist Nate Mendel and drummer William Goldsmith, both formerly of Sunny Day Real Estate, as well as Nirvana touring guitarist Pat Smear to complete the lineup.

Foo Fighters released its sixth album, Echoes, Silence, Patience & Grace, in 2007.

In November 2014, the band’s eighth studio album, Sonic Highways, was released as an accompanying soundtrack to the Grohl-directed 2014 miniseries of the same name.

On September 15, 2017, the band released their ninth studio album, Concrete and Gold, which became their second to reach number one in the United States and was the band’s first studio album to feature longtime session and touring keyboardist Rami Jaffee as a full member.

Dave Grohl (pictured in 2006) founded Foo Fighters after his previous band Nirvana ended in 1994

Ultimately, Grohl declined and instead entered Robert Lang Studios in October 1994 to record fifteen of the forty songs he had written.[5] With the exception of a guitar part on “X-Static”, played by Greg Dulli of the Afghan Whigs, Grohl played every instrument and sang every vocal on the tracks.[7] “I was supposed to just join another band and be a drummer the rest of my life,” Grohl later said.

However, the demo tape circulated in the music industry, creating interest among record labels.[9][10] Grohl formed a band to support the album.

Grohl asked Pat Smear, who served as a touring guitarist for Nirvana after the release of its 1993 album, In Utero, to join as the group’s second guitarist.[12] Grohl ultimately licensed the album to Capitol Records, releasing it on his new record label, Roswell Records.[5]

Grohl refused to do interviews or tour large venues to promote the album.[12] Foo Fighters undertook its first major tour in the spring of 1995, opening for Mike Watt.

The band’s first single, “This Is a Call”, was released in June 1995,[7] and its debut album Foo Fighters was released the next month.

Four months later in September 1997 at the MTV Video Music Awards, Smear simultaneously announced to the public his departure from the band and introduced his replacement, Grohl’s former Scream bandmate Franz Stahl.[15] Stahl toured with the band for the next few months, and appeared on two tracks that the band recorded for movie soundtracks, a re-recording of “Walking After You” for The X-Files and “A320” for Godzilla.

In 1998, Foo Fighters traveled to Grohl’s home state of Virginia to write music for its third album.

Shortly after that, Mendel called Grohl to say he was quitting the band to reunite with Sunny Day Real Estate, only to reverse his decision the next day.[16] The remaining trio of Grohl, Mendel, and Hawkins spent the next several months recording the band’s third album, There Is Nothing Left to Lose, in Grohl’s Virginia home studio that he bought and built.

Shiflett initially joined the band as touring guitarist, but achieved full-time status prior to the recording of the group’s fourth album.[17]

Around 2001, Foo Fighters established a relationship with rock band Queen, of whom the band (particularly Grohl[22] and Hawkins[23]) were fans.

In March of that year, Grohl and Hawkins inducted the band into the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame[24] and joined them on stage for a rendition of the Queen 1976 classic “Tie Your Mother Down”, with Hawkins playing drums alongside Roger Taylor, while Grohl was playing rhythm guitar and handling vocal duties.[25] Guitarist Brian May added a guitar track to Foo Fighters’ second cover of Pink Floyd’s “Have a Cigar”, which appeared on the soundtrack to the movie Mission: Impossible 2.

The bands have performed together on several occasions since, including VH1 Rock Honors and Foo Fighters’ headlining concert in Hyde Park.

Once the Queens of the Stone Age album was finished, and touring had started for both Foo Fighters and Queens of the Stone Age, the band was on the verge of breaking up entirely as the animosity grew amongst the members.

Grohl reconvened with Hawkins, Shiflett and Mendel to have them play at the Coachella Festival, with Queens of the Stone Age playing one day and Foo Fighters the following.

The group re-recorded nearly all of the album (save “Tired of You”) in a ten-day stretch at Grohl’s home studio in Alexandria, Virginia.[17] The original version of One by One, referred to by the band as “Million Dollar Demos”, has never been heard in its entirety, except for fragments that were leaked.[26]

Having spent a year and a half touring behind One by One, Grohl did not want to rush into recording another Foo Fighters record.

Initially Grohl intended to write acoustic material by himself, but eventually the project involved the entire band.[29] To record its fifth album, the band shifted to Los Angeles and built a recording studio, dubbed Studio 606 West.

During September and October 2005, the band toured with Weezer on what was billed as the ‘Foozer Tour’ as the two bands co-headlined the tour.[31] Foo Fighters also played a headline performance at the 2005 Reading and Leeds Festivals.

As Page and Jones left the stage before a final encore of “Best Of You”, an ecstatic Grohl shouted “Welcome to the greatest fucking day of my whole entire life!”.[33] Throughout the tour for Echoes, Silence, Patience & Grace, Foo Fighters had been writing and practicing new songs at sound checks.

After Foo Fighters had completed this tour in September 2008, they recorded 13 new songs in studio 606, shortly after announcing a hiatus from touring (which would last until January 2011).

While the members of Foo Fighters had initially planned for their new album (composed of songs from this recording session) to have come out in 2009 with almost no touring support, they ultimately decided to shelve most of the songs from these sessions.

On November 3, 2009, the band released a compilation album, Greatest Hits, which features two new songs, “Word Forward” and the single “Wheels”.[35] These songs were recorded during a session which occurred between Echoes, Silence, Patience and Grace and Wasting Light coming out.

In order to promote their greatest hits album, Foo Fighters performed a show at studio 606 in October 2009 (which was broadcast online), during which the band took fan requests.[36][not in citation given]

In August 2010, the band began recording their seventh studio album with producer Butch Vig, who had previously produced the two new tracks for the band’s Greatest Hits album.[37] The album was recorded in Dave Grohl’s garage using only analog equipment.

The recording was analog to tape and used no computers, not even to mix or master.[38] Vig said in an interview with MTV that the album was entirely analog until post-mastering.[39] Pat Smear was present in many photos posted by Grohl on Twitter and a press release in December confirmed Smear played on every track on the album and was considered a core member of the band once again, having initially left as a full-time member in 1997 before returning as a touring guitarist in 2006.[40]

The first single from Wasting Light, “Rope”, was released to radio in February 2011.[41] On April 16, 2011, Foo Fighters released an album of covers, Medium Rare, as a limited-edition vinyl for Record Store Day.[42] The promotion for the album has been highly praised for its originality.[43] Wasting Light debuted at number one on the Billboard 200 chart, being the first Foo Fighters album to do so.[44] Other singles for the album included “Walk”, “Arlandria”, “These Days”, and “Bridge Burning”

The film, entitled Back and Forth, chronicles the band’s career, from the dissolution of Nirvana due to the death of frontman Kurt Cobain to the formation of Foo Fighters as Dave Grohl’s “one-man band” to the status of the band in 2011.

Despite initially announcing a break after supporting Wasting Light, Grohl later stated in January 2013 that the band had started writing material for an eighth studio album.[53] On February 20, 2013, at the Brit Awards, Grohl said he was flying back to America the following day to start work on the next album.[54]

On September 6, 2013, Shiflett posted a photo to his Instagram account that indicates 13 songs are being recorded for the new album and later described the album in an interview as “pretty fucking fun”.[55] Rami Jaffee has recorded parts for three songs, one of which is entitled “In the Way”.[56] Butch Vig, who worked with the band on Wasting Light, confirmed via Twitter in late August 2013 that he is producing the album.[57][58] The band confirmed that it would end its hiatus by playing two shows in Mexico City, Mexico, on December 11 and 13, 2013.

On October 31, 2013, a video appeared on the official Foo Fighters YouTube channel showing a motorcyclist, later shown as actor Erik Estrada, delivering each of the band members an invitation to play in Mexico.[59]

On January 16, 2014, a picture was posted to Foo Fighters’s Facebook page with several master tapes with some labeled “LP 8”.[60] On May 15, 2014, it was announced that the band’s eighth album would be released in November 2014 and that the Foo Fighters would commemorate the album and their 20th anniversary with an HBO TV series directed by Dave Grohl entitled Sonic Highways.[61] Eight songs were written and recorded in eight studios in eight different American cities.

The series shows them doing this as they try to capture the history and feel of each town for the song dedicated to that area.[62] On July 30, 2014, Butch Vig revealed that the Foo Fighters had finished recording and mixing the new album and that it was slated to be released a month after the premiere of the TV show.[63]

The band played 23 songs over the course of two and a half hours.[65] Foo Fighters announced their tour would include performances in Cape Town, South Africa, on December 10, 2014, and Johannesburg on December 13.

The band played three performances under the alias “The Holy Shits” in September 2014; the first at the Concorde 2 club in Brighton, England, where Dave Grohl invited lead singer Jay Apperley of “UK Foo Fighters” tribute band on stage to sing,[66][67] then at the “House of Vans”, and lastly at “Islington Assembly Hall”.

On August 11, the band announced that the new album would be titled Sonic Highways and released on November 10, 2014.[69][70] The Foo Fighters also announced an international tour, dubbed the Sonic Highways World Tour, with performances in South Africa in December 2014 and South America in January 2015.[71] Their tour continued to Australia and New Zealand in February and March 2015.[72]

On June 12, 2015, Grohl fell from a concert stage in Gothenburg, Sweden, during the second song of the Foo Fighters’ set and broke his leg.[76] The band played without Grohl while he received medical attention, and Grohl then returned to the stage, sitting in a chair to perform the last two hours of the band’s set while a medic tended to his leg.[76] After the concert, Grohl was flown to London for surgery, where doctors inserted six metal pins into his leg.[77] As a result of Grohl’s injury, on June 16 the band announced it was cancelling all of its remaining European tour dates.[77]

The Foo Fighters planned to follow their international tour with a North American tour to promote Sonic Highways, beginning with a special Fourth of July event in Washington, D.C., that would commemorate the band’s 20th anniversary.[79] This all-day event, to be held at Washington’s RFK Stadium, was advertised as featuring performances by Joan Jett and the Blackhearts, Heart, LL Cool J, Gary Clark Jr., and Buddy Guy.[80] Dave Grohl’s leg injury initially led to speculation that the band would drop out of the event, but they later confirmed they would still perform;[81] however, the injury did prevent them from headlining the 2015 Glastonbury Festival (although they would return and headline in 2017).

Beginning with the show on July 4, the Foo Fighters re-branded the North American tour as the Broken Leg Tour.[82] The band continued to use the new tour name at later North American performances.[84][85] During the tour, prior to a concert at the Sprint Center in Kansas City, Missouri, on August 21, 2015, the Foo Fighters staged a counter protest against members of the Westboro Baptist Church, who were protesting their concert, rickrolling them from the back of a pickup truck.[86]

Grohl announced that the band would spend much of 2017 recording their ninth studio album.[90] On June 1, 2017, their new single “Run” was released.[91] “Run” topped the US Billboard Mainstream Rock Songs chart the following month.

With the new album release, the Foo Fighters also confirmed that touring keyboardist Rami Jaffee is officially the sixth member of the group.[92] The Foo Fighters announced on June 20, 2017, that their new album, Concrete and Gold, would be released in September.

Foo Fighters have been described as grunge,[104][105] alternative rock,[106] post-grunge[107] and hard rock.[108] When Grohl first started the band, its music was often compared to that of his previous group, Nirvana.

Foo Fighters also utilized the technique of shifting between quiet verses and loud choruses, which Grohl said was influenced by the members of Nirvana “liking The Knack, Bay City Rollers, Beatles, and ABBA as much as we liked Flipper and Black Flag, I suppose”.[4] Writing and recording songs for the first Foo Fighters album by himself, Grohl wrote the guitar riffs to be as rhythmic as possible.

These include four Grammys in the Best Rock Album category for There Is Nothing Left to Lose, One by One, Echoes, Silence, Patience & Grace and Wasting Light, and three awards for Best Hard Rock Performance for the songs “All My Life”, “The Pretender” and “White Limo”.[111] The band also received three Kerrang!

The band was nominated for six Grammy Awards, including Album of the Year, Best Rock Performance, Best Hard Rock/Metal Performance, Best Rock Song, Best Rock Album and Best Long Form Music Video (for Back and Forth).


Source: Foo Fighters