La couleur des fleurs d'hortensia change en fonction du pH du sol. Un sol avec un pH de 5.5 ou moins fera germer des hortensias bleus, un pH de 6.5 ou plus produira des hortensias roses et un sol entre 5.5 et 6.5 aura des hortensias violets

L'hortensia (/ haɪˈdreɪndʒiə /; [1] noms communs hortensia ou hortensia) est un genre de 70 à 75 espèces de plantes à fleurs originaires d'Asie du Sud et de l'Est (Chine, Japon, Taiwan, Corée, Himalaya et Indonésie) et des Amériques .

Hydrangea paniculata

Hydrangea aspera.

Hydrangea candida.

Hydrangea caudatifolia.

Hydrangea chinensis.

Hydrangea chungii.

Hydrangea coenobialis.

Hydrangea heteromalla.

Hydrangea hypoglauca.

Hydrangea integrifolia.

Hydrangea jelskii.

Hydrangea kawakamii.

Hydrangea lingii.

Hydrangea linkweiensis.

Hydrangea peruviana.

Hydrangea robusta.

Hydrangea sargentiana.

Hydrangea serrata.

Hydrangea serratifolia.

Hydrangea stenophylla.

Hydrangea strigosa.

Hydrangea stylosa.

Hydrangea sungpanensis.

Hydrangea tarapotensis.

Hydrangea xanthoneura.

Hydrangea zhewanensis.

Hydrangea macrophylla

Fleurs d'hortensia se bouchent.

Hydrangea macrophylla, fleurs.

Hydrangea macrophylla, fleurs

Hydrangea quercifolia

Hydrangea arborescens

Hydrangea arborescens

Hydrangea arborescens.

Hydrangea paniculata

Fleurs d'hortensias en fleurs au temple de Kanonji (Japon).

Fleurs d'hydrangea

Fleurs d'hortensia violet

«Hortensia».


La source: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hydrangea


Hortensia

«Hortensia» redirige ici. Pour d'autres utilisations, voir Hortensia (homonymie).

«Ajisai» redirige ici. Pour le satellite, voir Charge utile géodésique expérimentale.

Pour le navire de la Garde côtière des États-Unis, voir USCGC Hydrangea (WAGL-236).

Pour le cheval de course, voir Hydrangea (cheval).

L'hortensia (/ haɪˈdreɪndʒiə /; [1] noms communs hortensia ou hortensia) est un genre de 70–75 espèces de plantes à fleurs originaires d'Asie du Sud et de l'Est (Chine, Japon, Taiwan, Corée, Himalaya et Indonésie) et des Amériques . La plus grande diversité d'espèces se trouve de loin en Asie de l'Est, notamment en Chine, au Japon et en Corée. La plupart sont des arbustes de 1 à 3 mètres de haut, mais certains sont de petits arbres et d'autres des lianes atteignant jusqu'à 30 m (98 pieds) en grimpant aux arbres. Ils peuvent être caduques ou persistants, bien que les espèces tempérées largement cultivées soient toutes à feuilles caduques. [2]

Ayant été introduit aux Açores, H. macrophylla est maintenant très commun, en particulier sur Faial, qui est connue comme «l'île bleue» en raison du grand nombre d'hortensias présents sur l'île.

«Hydrangea» est dérivé du grec et signifie «récipient d'eau», qui fait référence à la forme de ses capsules de graines. [3] Le nom antérieur, Hortensia, est une version latinisée du prénom français Hortense, en référence à l'épouse de Jean-André Lepaute. [4]

Cycle de vie [modifier |

Les fleurs d'hortensia sont produites du début du printemps à la fin de l'automne; ils poussent en capitules (corymbes ou panicules) le plus souvent aux extrémités des tiges. En règle générale, les capitules contiennent deux types de fleurs: de petites fleurs non voyantes au centre ou à l'intérieur du capitule et de grandes fleurs voyantes avec de grands sépales colorés (tépales). Ces fleurs voyantes sont souvent étendues en anneau ou à l'extérieur des petites fleurs. Les plantes des populations sauvages ont généralement peu ou pas de fleurs voyantes, tandis que les hortensias cultivés ont été élevés et sélectionnés pour avoir plus de fleurs de type plus gros.

Il y a deux arrangements floraux dans les hortensias avec des inflorescences de style corymbe, qui comprennent l '«hortensia à grandes feuilles» communément cultivé - Hydrangea macrophylla. Les fleurs de Mophead sont de grandes têtes rondes ressemblant à des pompons ou, comme son nom l'indique, à la tête d'une vadrouille. En revanche, les fleurs de lacecap portent des capitules ronds et plats avec un noyau central de petites fleurs tamisées entourées d'anneaux extérieurs de fleurs plus grandes ayant des sépales ou des tépales voyants. Les fleurs de certains rhododendrons et viornes peuvent apparaître, à première vue, similaires à celles de certains hortensias.

Couleurs et acidité du sol [modifier |

La couleur des fleurs d'hortensia change en fonction du pH du sol. Comme le montre le graphique, un sol avec un pH de 5.5 ou moins produira des hortensias bleus, un pH de 6.5 ou plus produira des hortensias roses et un sol entre 5.5 et 6.5 aura des hortensias violets. Les hortensias blancs ne peuvent pas être manipulés par le pH du sol, ils seront toujours blancs car ils ne contiennent pas de pigment pour la couleur.

Dans la plupart des espèces, les fleurs sont blanches, mais chez certaines espèces (notamment H. macrophylla), elles peuvent être bleues, rouges, roses, violet clair ou violet foncé. Chez ces espèces, la couleur est affectée par la présence d'ions aluminium qui sont disponibles ou liés en fonction du pH du sol. [5] [6] Pour les cultivars H. macrophylla et H. serrata, la couleur des fleurs peut être déterminée par l'acidité relative du sol: un sol acide (pH inférieur à 7), aura des ions aluminium disponibles et produira généralement des fleurs bleues à violettes, [7 ] alors qu'un sol alcalin (pH supérieur à 7) attachera des ions aluminium et donnera des fleurs roses ou rouges. Ceci est causé par un changement de couleur des pigments floraux en présence d'ions aluminium qui peuvent être absorbés par les plantes hyperaccumulables. [8] Abaisser le pH des terreaux ou des mélanges ne change généralement pas la couleur des fleurs en bleu, car ces sols ne contiennent pas d'ions aluminium. La capacité de bleuir ou de rose un hortensia est également influencée par le cultivar. Certaines plantes sont sélectionnées pour leur capacité à être bleuies, tandis que d'autres sont sélectionnées et sélectionnées pour être rouges, roses ou blanches. La couleur des fleurs de la plupart des autres espèces d'hortensias n'est pas affectée par l'aluminium et ne peut pas être modifiée ou déplacée. Les hortensias ont également un surnom appelé «Change Rose».

Liste partielle des espèces [modifier |

Hydrangea paniculata

† Hydrangea alaskana une espèce fossile récupérée dans les strates paléogènes de Jaw Mountain en Alaska. [9]

Hydrangea anomala (hortensia grimpant). Himalaya, sud-ouest de la Chine continentale.

Hydrangea arborescens (hortensia lisse). Est de l'Amérique du Nord.

Hydrangea aspera. Chine continentale, Himalaya.

Hydrangea bretschneideri. Chine continentale.

Hydrangea candida. Chine continentale.

Hydrangea caudatifolia. Chine continentale.

Hydrangea chinensis. Chine continentale et Taiwan.

Hydrangea chungii. Chine continentale.

Hydrangea cinerea (hortensia cendré). Est des États-Unis.

Hydrangea coacta. Chine continentale.

Hydrangea coenobialis. Chine continentale.

Hydrangea davidii. Chine continentale.

Hydrangea dumicola. Chine continentale.

Hydrangea gracilis. Chine continentale.

Hydrangea heteromalla. Himalaya, ouest et nord de la Chine continentale.

Hydrangea hirta. Japon.

Hydrangea hypoglauca. Chine continentale.

Hydrangea integrifolia. Chine continentale.

Hydrangea involucrata. Japon, Taiwan.

Hydrangea jelskii. Andes.

Hydrangea kawakamii. Taïwan.

Hydrangea kwangsiensis. Chine continentale.

Hydrangea kwangtungensis. Chine continentale.

Hydrangea lingii. Chine continentale.

Hydrangea linkweiensis. Chine continentale.

Hydrangea longifolia. Chine continentale.

Hydrangea longipes. Chine occidentale.

Hydrangea macrocarpa. Chine continentale.

Hydrangea macrophylla (hortensia à grandes feuilles). Sud-est du Japon, sud de la Chine.

Hydrangea mangshanensis. Chine continentale.

Hydrangea paniculata (hortensia paniqué). Chine continentale orientale, Japon, Corée, Sakhaline.

Hydrangea petiolaris (hortensia grimpant). Japon, Corée, Sakhaline.

Hydrangea peruviana. Costa Rica et Panama, Andes.

Hydrangea quercifolia (hortensia à feuilles de chêne). Sud-est des États-Unis.

Hydrangea radiata (hortensia à feuilles d'argent). Sud-est des États-Unis.

Hydrangea robusta. Chine continentale, Himalaya.

Hydrangea sargentiana. Chine continentale occidentale.

Hortensia scandens. Le sud du Japon au sud des Philippines.

Hydrangea serrata. Japon, Corée.

Hydrangea serratifolia. Chili, ouest de l'Argentine.

Hydrangea stenophylla. Chine continentale.

Hydrangea strigosa. Chine continentale.

Hydrangea stylosa. Chine continentale.

Hydrangea sungpanensis. Chine continentale.

Hydrangea tarapotensis. Andes.

Hydrangea xanthoneura. Chine continentale.

Hydrangea zhewanensis. Chine continentale.

Culture et usages [modifier |

Les hortensias sont des plantes ornementales populaires, cultivées pour leurs grands capitules, l'Hydrangea macrophylla étant de loin la plus cultivée avec plus de 600 cultivars nommés, beaucoup sélectionnés pour n'avoir que de grandes fleurs stériles dans les capitules. Hydrangea macrophylla, également connu sous le nom d'hortensia à grandes feuilles, peut être divisé en deux catégories principales; Hydrangea Mophead & Hydrangea Lacecap. [10] Certains sont mieux taillés annuellement lorsque les nouveaux bourgeons foliaires commencent à apparaître. S'il n'est pas taillé régulièrement, le buisson deviendra très `` aux longues jambes '', poussant vers le haut jusqu'à ce que le poids des tiges soit supérieur à leur force, auquel cas les tiges s'affaisseront jusqu'au sol et se casseront éventuellement. D'autres espèces ne fleurissent que sur du «vieux bois». Ainsi, le bois neuf issu de la taille ne produira de fleurs que la saison suivante.

La racine et le rhizome d'hortensia sont indiqués pour le traitement des affections des voies urinaires dans le PDR pour la phytothérapie et peuvent avoir des propriétés diurétiques. [11] Les hortensias sont modérément toxiques s'ils sont consommés, toutes les parties de la plante contenant des glycosides cyanogènes. [12] L'hydrangea paniculata serait parfois fumé comme intoxicant, malgré le risque de maladie et / ou de mort dû au cyanure. [13] [14]

Les fleurs d'un hortensia peuvent passer du bleu au rose ou du rose au bleu d'une saison à l'autre selon le niveau d'acidité du sol. [15] L'ajout de matières organiques telles que le marc de café, les écorces d'agrumes ou les coquilles d'œufs augmentera l'acidité et rendra les fleurs d'hortensia roses, comme décrit dans un article sur Gardenista. [16] Un hortensia rose populaire appelé Vanilla Strawberry a été nommé «Top Plant» par l'American Nursery and Landscape Association.

L'hybride «Runaway Bride Snow White», élevé par Ushio Sakazaki du Japon, a été nommée plante de l'année au RHS Chelsea Flower Show 2018 [17].

Dans la culture [modifier |

Au Japon, ama-cha, 甘 茶 signifiant thé sucré, est une autre tisane à base d'Hydrangea serrata, dont les feuilles contiennent une substance qui développe un goût sucré (phyllodulcine). Pour un goût plus complet, les feuilles fraîches sont froissées, cuites à la vapeur et séchées, ce qui donne des feuilles de thé brun foncé. Ama-cha est principalement utilisé pour le kan-butsu-e (la cérémonie du bain de Bouddha) le 8 avril de chaque année - le jour considéré comme l'anniversaire de Bouddha au Japon. Au cours de la cérémonie, Ama-cha est versé sur une statue de Bouddha et servi aux personnes présentes. Une légende raconte que le jour de la naissance de Bouddha, neuf dragons ont déversé Amrita sur lui; ama-cha est remplacé par Amrita au Japon.

Dans le thé coréen, l'Hydrangea serrata (hangul: 산수 국 hanja: 山水 菊) est utilisée pour une tisane appelée sugukcha (수국 차) ou ilsulcha (이슬 차).

L'hortensia rose a gagné en popularité dans le monde entier, mais surtout en Asie. Les hortensias roses ont de nombreuses significations différentes, mais signifient généralement «Vous êtes le battement de mon cœur», comme le décrit le célèbre fleuriste asiatique Tan Jun Yong, où il a été cité en disant: «Le léger rougissement délicat des pétales me rappelle un cœur battant, alors que la taille ne pouvait correspondre qu'au cœur de l'expéditeur! »[18]

Hydrangea quercifolia a été déclarée fleur sauvage officielle de l'État de l'Alabama en 1999. [19]

Galerie [modifier]

Hydrangea macrophylla

Fleurs d'hortensia se bouchent.

Fleurs

Hydrangea macrophylla, fleurs.

Hydrangea macrophylla, fleurs

Hydrangea sp peint par l'artiste botanique Redouté.

Hydrangea quercifolia

Hydrangea macrophylla, feuilles

Hortensia sauvage c.Annabelle

Hydrangea arborescens

Hortensia sauvage c.Annabelle

Hydrangea arborescens

Fleur d'hortensia Annabelle de 8 po. Hydrangea arborescens.

Hydrangea aspera ssp. Sargentiana

Hydrangea paniculata

Fleurs d'hortensia du Kerala, Inde

H. macrophylla, Château de Watermouth, North Devon, Angleterre.

Hortensias devant le bâtiment de l'Office de Tourisme à Chartres, France.

Fleurs d'hortensias dans le parc national «Cerro El Avila», Venezuela.

Fleurs d'hortensia, Srinagar, Cachemire, Inde.

Fleurs d'hortensias en fleurs au temple de Kanonji (Japon).

Fleurs d'hydrangea

Fleurs d'hortensia à Petrópolis, Brésil.

Hortensias près du lac noir de Gramado, sud du Brésil.

Fleurs d'hortensia violet

Feuille d'hortensia arborescens

Maladies [modifier |

Article principal: Liste des maladies des hortensias

Notes [modifier]

[modifier]

Cet article incorpore le texte d'une publication maintenant dans le domaine public: Chisholm, Hugh, éd. (1911). «Hortensia». Encyclopædia Britannica. 13 (11e éd.). La presse de l'Universite de Cambridge. p. 34.

Liens externes [modifier]

erowid.org

Flore du Népal: liste des espèces d'hortensias

Hortensia - sélection d'arbustes

Espèces d'hortensias et hybrides

Propagation d'hortensias

Liste rouge des hortensias menacés

The Hydrangea flower color changes based on the pH in soil. Soil with a pH of 5.5 or lower will sprout blue hydrangeas, a ph of 6.5 or higher will produce pink hydrangeas, and soil in between 5.5 and 6.5 will have purple hydrangeas

Hydrangea (/haɪˈdreɪndʒiə/;[1] common names hydrangea or hortensia) is a genus of 70–75 species of flowering plants native to southern and eastern Asia (China, Japan, Taiwan, Korea, the Himalayas, and Indonesia) and the Americas.

Hydrangea paniculata

Hydrangea aspera.

Hydrangea candida.

Hydrangea caudatifolia.

Hydrangea chinensis.

Hydrangea chungii.

Hydrangea coenobialis.

Hydrangea heteromalla.

Hydrangea hypoglauca.

Hydrangea integrifolia.

Hydrangea jelskii.

Hydrangea kawakamii.

Hydrangea lingii.

Hydrangea linkweiensis.

Hydrangea peruviana.

Hydrangea robusta.

Hydrangea sargentiana.

Hydrangea serrata.

Hydrangea serratifolia.

Hydrangea stenophylla.

Hydrangea strigosa.

Hydrangea stylosa.

Hydrangea sungpanensis.

Hydrangea tarapotensis.

Hydrangea xanthoneura.

Hydrangea zhewanensis.

Hydrangea macrophylla

Hydrangea flowers close up.

Hydrangea macrophylla, flowers.

Hydrangea macrophylla, flowers

Hydrangea quercifolia

Hydrangea arborescens

Hydrangea arborescens

Hydrangea arborescens.

Hydrangea paniculata

Hydrangea flowers blooming at the Kanonji temple (Japan).

Hydrangea flowers

Purple hydrangea flowers

“Hydrangea” .


Source: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hydrangea


Hydrangea

“Hortensia” redirects here. For other uses, see Hortensia (disambiguation).

“Ajisai” redirects here. For the satellite, see Experimental Geodetic Payload.

For the United States Coast Guard ship, see USCGC Hydrangea (WAGL-236).

For the racehorse, see Hydrangea (horse).

Hydrangea (/haɪˈdreɪndʒiə/;[1] common names hydrangea or hortensia) is a genus of 70–75 species of flowering plants native to southern and eastern Asia (China, Japan, Taiwan, Korea, the Himalayas, and Indonesia) and the Americas. By far the greatest species diversity is in eastern Asia, notably China, Japan, and Korea. Most are shrubs 1 to 3 meters tall, but some are small trees, and others lianas reaching up to 30 m (98 ft) by climbing up trees. They can be either deciduous or evergreen, though the widely cultivated temperate species are all deciduous.[2]

Having been introduced to the Azores, H. macrophylla is now very common, particularly on Faial, which is known as the “blue island” due to the vast number of hydrangeas present on the island.

‘Hydrangea’ is derived from Greek and means ‘water vessel’, which is in reference to the shape of its seed capsules.[3] The earlier name, Hortensia, is a Latinised version of the French given name Hortense, referring to the wife of Jean-André Lepaute.[4]

Life cycle[edit]

Hydrangea flowers are produced from early spring to late autumn; they grow in flowerheads (corymbs or panicles) most often at the ends of the stems. Typically the flowerheads contain two types of flowers: small non-showy flowers in the center or interior of the flowerhead, and large, showy flowers with large colorful sepals (tepals). These showy flowers are often extended in a ring, or to the exterior of the small flowers. Plants in wild populations typically have few to none of the showy flowers, while cultivated hydrangeas have been bred and selected to have more of the larger type flowers.

There are two flower arrangements in hydrangeas with corymb style inflorescences, which includes the commonly grown “bigleaf hydrangea”—Hydrangea macrophylla. Mophead flowers are large round flowerheads resembling pom-poms or, as the name implies, the head of a mop. In contrast, lacecap flowers bear round, flat flowerheads with a center core of subdued, small flowers surrounded by outer rings of larger flowers having showy sepals or tepals. The flowers of some rhododendrons and viburnums can appear, at first glance, similar to those of some hydrangeas.

Colours and soil acidity[edit]

Hydrangea flower color changes based on the pH in soil. As the graph depicts, soil with a pH of 5.5 or lower will sprout blue hydrangeas, a ph of 6.5 or higher will produce pink hydrangeas, and soil in between 5.5 and 6.5 will have purple hydrangeas. White hydrangeas can not be manipulated by soil pH, they will always be white because they do not contain pigment for color.

In most species the flowers are white, but in some species (notably H. macrophylla), can be blue, red, pink, light purple, or dark purple. In these species the color is affected by the presence of aluminium ions which are available or tied up depending upon the soil pH.[5][6] For H. macrophylla and H. serrata cultivars, the flower color can be determined by the relative acidity of the soil: an acidic soil (pH below 7), will have available aluminum ions and typically produce flowers that are blue to purple,[7] whereas an alkaline soil (pH above 7) will tie up aluminum ions and result in pink or red flowers. This is caused by a color change of the flower pigments in the presence of aluminium ions which can be taken up into hyperaccumulating plants.[8] Lowering the pH of potting soils or mixes usually does not change the flower color to blue, because these soils have no aluminum ions. The ability to blue or pink a hydrangea is also influenced by the cultivar. Some plants are selected for their ability to be blued, while others are bred and selected to be red, pink or white. The flower color of most other Hydrangea species is not affected by aluminum and cannot be changed or shifted. Hydrangeas also have a nickname called ‘Change Rose’.

Partial list of species[edit]

Hydrangea paniculata

†Hydrangea alaskana a fossil species recovered from paleogene strata in Jaw Mountain Alaska.[9]

Hydrangea anomala (climbing hydrangea). Himalaya, southwest Mainland China.

Hydrangea arborescens (smooth hydrangea). Eastern North America.

Hydrangea aspera. Mainland China, Himalaya.

Hydrangea bretschneideri. Mainland China.

Hydrangea candida. Mainland China.

Hydrangea caudatifolia. Mainland China.

Hydrangea chinensis. Mainland China and Taiwan.

Hydrangea chungii. Mainland China.

Hydrangea cinerea (ashy hydrangea). Eastern United States.

Hydrangea coacta. Mainland China.

Hydrangea coenobialis. Mainland China.

Hydrangea davidii. Mainland China.

Hydrangea dumicola. Mainland China.

Hydrangea gracilis. Mainland China.

Hydrangea heteromalla. Himalaya, west and north Mainland China.

Hydrangea hirta. Japan.

Hydrangea hypoglauca. Mainland China.

Hydrangea integrifolia. Mainland China.

Hydrangea involucrata. Japan, Taiwan.

Hydrangea jelskii. Andes.

Hydrangea kawakamii. Taiwan.

Hydrangea kwangsiensis. Mainland China.

Hydrangea kwangtungensis. Mainland China.

Hydrangea lingii. Mainland China.

Hydrangea linkweiensis. Mainland China.

Hydrangea longifolia. Mainland China.

Hydrangea longipes. Western China.

Hydrangea macrocarpa. Mainland China.

Hydrangea macrophylla (bigleaf hydrangea). Southeast Japan, southern China.

Hydrangea mangshanensis. Mainland China.

Hydrangea paniculata (panicled hydrangea). Eastern Mainland China, Japan, Korea, Sakhalin.

Hydrangea petiolaris (climbing hydrangea). Japan, Korea, Sakhalin.

Hydrangea peruviana. Costa Rica and Panama, Andes.

Hydrangea quercifolia (oakleaf hydrangea). Southeast United States.

Hydrangea radiata (silverleaf hydrangea). Southeast United States.

Hydrangea robusta. Mainland China, Himalaya.

Hydrangea sargentiana. Western Mainland China.

Hydrangea scandens. Southern Japan south to the Philippines.

Hydrangea serrata. Japan, Korea.

Hydrangea serratifolia. Chile, western Argentina.

Hydrangea stenophylla. Mainland China.

Hydrangea strigosa. Mainland China.

Hydrangea stylosa. Mainland China.

Hydrangea sungpanensis. Mainland China.

Hydrangea tarapotensis. Andes.

Hydrangea xanthoneura. Mainland China.

Hydrangea zhewanensis. Mainland China.

Cultivation and uses[edit]

Hydrangeas are popular ornamental plants, grown for their large flowerheads, with Hydrangea macrophylla being by far the most widely grown with over 600 named cultivars, many selected to have only large sterile flowers in the flowerheads. Hydrangea macrophylla, also known as Bigleaf Hydrangea, can be broken up into two main categories; Mophead Hydrangea & Lacecap Hydrangea.[10] Some are best pruned on an annual basis when the new leaf buds begin to appear. If not pruned regularly, the bush will become very ‘leggy’, growing upwards until the weight of the stems is greater than their strength, at which point the stems will sag down to the ground and possibly break. Other species only flower on ‘old wood’. Thus new wood resulting from pruning will not produce flowers until the following season.

Hydrangea root and rhizome are indicated for treatment of conditions of the urinary tract in the PDR for Herbal Medicine and may have diuretic properties.[11] Hydrangeas are moderately toxic if eaten, with all parts of the plant containing cyanogenic glycosides.[12] Hydrangea paniculata is reportedly sometimes smoked as an intoxicant, despite the danger of illness and/or death due to the cyanide.[13][14]

The flowers on a hydrangea shrub can change from blue to pink or from pink to blue from one season to the next depending on the acidity level of the soil.[15] Adding organic materials such as coffee grounds, citrus peel or eggshells will increase acidity and turn hydrangea flowers pink, as described in an article on Gardenista.[16] A popular pink hydrangea called Vanilla Strawberry has been named “Top Plant” by the American Nursery and Landscape Association.

The hybrid “Runaway Bride Snow White”, bred by Ushio Sakazaki from Japan, was named Plant of the Year at the 2018 RHS Chelsea Flower Show.[17]

In culture[edit]

In Japan, ama-cha,甘茶 meaning sweet tea, is another herbal tea made from Hydrangea serrata, whose leaves contain a substance that develops a sweet taste (phyllodulcin). For the fullest taste, fresh leaves are crumpled, steamed, and dried, yielding dark brown tea leaves. Ama-cha is mainly used for kan-butsu-e (the Buddha bathing ceremony) on April 8 every year—the day thought to be Buddha’s birthday in Japan. During the ceremony, Ama-cha is poured over a statue of Buddha and served to people in attendance. A legend has it that on the day Buddha was born, nine dragons poured Amrita over him; ama-cha is substituted for Amrita in Japan.

In Korean tea, Hydrangea serrata (hangul:산수국 hanja:山水菊) is used for an herbal tea called sugukcha (수국차) or ilsulcha (이슬차).

The pink hydrangea has risen in popularity all over the world, but especially in Asia. Pink hydrangeas have many different meanings, but generally mean, “You are the beat of my heart,” as described by the celebrated Asian florist Tan Jun Yong, where he was quoted saying, “The light delicate blush of the petals reminds me of a beating heart, while the size could only match the heart of the sender!”[18]

Hydrangea quercifolia was declared the official state wildflower of Alabama in 1999.[19]

Gallery[edit]

Hydrangea macrophylla

Hydrangea flowers close up.

Flowers

Hydrangea macrophylla, flowers.

Hydrangea macrophylla, flowers

Hydrangea sp painted by the botanical artist Redouté.

Hydrangea quercifolia

Hydrangea macrophylla, leaves

Wild Hydrangea v. Annabelle

Hydrangea arborescens

Wild Hydrangea v. Annabelle

Hydrangea arborescens

8” Annabelle Hydrangea Bloom. Hydrangea arborescens.

Hydrangea aspera ssp. sargentiana

Hydrangea paniculata

Hydrangea flowers from Kerala, India

H. macrophylla, Watermouth Castle, north Devon, England.

Hydrangeas in front of the Office de Tourisme Building in Chartres, France.

Hydrangea flowers at the “Cerro El Avila” National Park, Venezuela.

Hydrangea flowers, Srinagar, Kashmir, India.

Hydrangea flowers blooming at the Kanonji temple (Japan).

Hydrangea flowers

Hydrangea flowers in Petrópolis, Brazil.

Hydrangeas near the Black Lake of Gramado, southern Brazil.

Purple hydrangea flowers

Hydrangea arborescens leaf

Diseases[edit]

Main article: List of hydrangea diseases

Notes[edit]

[edit]

This article incorporates text from a publication now in the public domain: Chisholm, Hugh, ed. (1911). “Hydrangea” . Encyclopædia Britannica. 13 (11th ed.). Cambridge University Press. p. 34.

External links[edit]

erowid.org

Flora of Nepal: Hydrangea species list

Hydrangea – selecting shrubs

Hydrangea species and hybrids

Propagating Hydrangeas

Red Listing of Threatened Hydrangeas