1938年,年仅19岁的红龙虾的创始人比尔·达登(Bill Darden)开设了一家名为“绿蛙”(Green Frog)的小餐馆,并拒绝根据种族隔离客户,从而违背了乔治亚州南部的法律。

红龙虾创始人比尔·达登(Bill Darden)的传记

威廉·B·达登(William B. Darden)出生于1919年,这意味着他还太年轻,无法享受“咆哮的二十年代”的繁荣,但正好是受到大萧条的经济破坏而在情感上受挫的年龄。 这对他的祖国南方尤其沉重。 然而,他找到了在那个时代度过难关的方法。

1938年,当他才19岁时,他在家乡佐治亚州Waycross开了一家午餐小餐馆。 当时,快餐还不普及。 午餐柜台,食客,苏打水和糖果店则被视为必经之路。 达顿(Darden)走了这条路,命名了他的午餐小餐厅《绿色青蛙》,并将其广告宣传为“带啤酒花的服务”。 他拒绝将客户隔离在其他国家或地区,从而违反了南部国家的法律。 继续阅读


来源: https://www.thebalancesmb.com/bill-darden-biography-1350946

In 1938, at the age of the 19, the eventual founder of Red Lobster Bill Darden opened a diner named the Green Frog and defied the laws of the southern state Georgia by refusing to segregate customers based on race.

The Biography of Red Lobster Founder Bill Darden

William B. Darden was born in 1919, which meant that he was too young to enjoy the prosperity of the “Roaring Twenties,” but just the right age to be emotionally scarred by the economic ravages of the Great Depression. This hit his native South especially hard. Nevertheless, he found a way to get by in that era.

In 1938, when he was just 19 years old, he opened a luncheonette in his hometown of Waycross, Georgia. At the time, fast food was not pervasive. Lunch counters, diners, soda fountains and candy stores were then seen as the way to go. Darden took this path, naming his luncheonette The Green Frog, and advertising it as “Service with a Hop.” And he defied the laws of his Southern State by refusing to segregate his customers based o… Continue Reading


Source: https://www.thebalancesmb.com/bill-darden-biography-1350946