首页 » 未分类 » 恶魔岛当时是仅有的几家允许热水淋浴以阻止囚犯适应冷水并逃离旧金山湾的联邦监狱之一。

恶魔岛当时是仅有的几家允许热水淋浴以阻止囚犯适应冷水并逃离旧金山湾的联邦监狱之一。

•辩论的另一方批评者声称,没有发现尸体这一事实“证明”了犯人已经成功地将其运到了大陆。

实际上,在逃生的那天晚上,据称因关系破裂而感到沮丧的一位名叫西摩·韦伯(Seymour Webb)的非洲裔美国人绅士在金门大桥上中途放弃了汽车,并在众多目击者面前跳楼致死。

此事件的意义在于自杀与逃逸者几乎同时进入水中,而他的尸体从未被发现或被发现。

恶魔岛的淋浴总是被提供适度的热水,以防止囚犯适应冰冻的海湾水域。

•17年1962月38日,一艘从No.XNUMX码头出发的挪威货轮SS Norefjell船报告看到一具尸体漂浮在金门大桥西北XNUMX英里处。

水手们注意到水中有些东西在晃动,并用双筒望远镜确认那是一个朝下漂浮的尸体。


来源: https://www.alcatrazhistory.com/alcesc3.htm

来自恶魔岛的大逃亡

来自恶魔岛的最大逃亡–续

•辩论的另一方批评者声称,没有发现尸体这一事实“证明”了囚犯已经成功地将其运到了大陆。 现实情况是,死于海湾水域的人们从来没有被发现。 实际上,在逃生的那天晚上,据称因关系破裂而感到沮丧的一位名叫西摩·韦伯(Seymour Webb)的非洲裔美国人绅士在金门大桥上中途放弃了汽车,并在众多目击者面前跳楼致死。 尽管海岸警卫队迅速作出反应,但他的尸体从未康复。 此事件的意义在于自杀与逃逸者几乎同时进入水中,而他的尸体从未被发现或被发现。

•海湾水温在五十到五十度之间。 已确定暴露于这些元素将在大约二十分钟后影响身体功能。 恶魔岛的淋浴总是被提供适度的热水,以防止囚犯适应冰冻的海湾水域。 第二天,发现囚犯携带的个人物品漂浮在海湾中。 还发现了一个在阀门上有重齿痕的救生圈。 可以相信,用来密封阀门的自制夹子失效了,使游泳者难以保持漂浮。

•17年1962月38日,一艘从No.XNUMX码头出发的挪威货轮SS Norefjell船报告看到一具尸体漂浮在金门大桥西北XNUMX英里处。 该船在前往加拿大的途中,船员直到XNUMX月份才报告目击事件。 水手们注意到水中有些东西在晃动,并用双筒望远镜确认那是一个朝下漂浮的尸体。 手和脚在水中晃来晃去,但臀部清晰可见。 尽管被海洋和阳光所漂白,但尸体仍穿着全长牛仔长裤,看上去与监狱服一样。 来自旧金山,圣马特奥,阿拉米达和马林县的验尸官都证实,溺水后尸体可以漂浮五周。 联邦调查局认为这是此案中最重要的线索之一。 他们的官方报告确定,当时没有其他人穿着类似的裤子失踪或溺水。

盎格鲁家族的家人说,逃亡已经成为家庭讨论的话题了好几年了。 兄弟俩从未与他们接触过,他们认为如果他们幸存下来,他们将以某种形式进行接触。 盎格鲁一家很快将遭受另一场悲剧。 1964年,第三兄弟阿尔弗雷德(Alfred)在试图逃离阿拉巴马州蒙哥马利的基尔比监狱时被电死。

事发几十年后,人们仍在探索这种逃脱的神秘奥秘,每年有超过一百万的游客前往恶魔岛亲眼目睹犯罪现场。

一名军官拍摄了囚犯带走的呼吸机。 这个位置是他们从牢房出发的出口。

莫里斯(Morris)和安格林斯(Anglins)的逃亡后来启发了由克林特·伊斯特伍德(Clint Eastwood)主演的好莱坞电影《逃离恶魔岛》。

囚犯为帮助他们逃脱而制作的实际工具的当代照片。 粗制的扳手可有效地卸下屋顶通风格栅上的螺栓。

Alcatraz was one of the only federal prisons at the time that allowed hot showers to deter prisoners from acclimating to cold water and escaping through the San Francisco Bay.

• Critics on the other side of the debate claimed that the fact that no bodies were found amounted to “proof” that the inmates had made it successfully to the mainland.

In fact, on the very night of the escape, an African American gentleman named Seymour Webb, reportedly despondent over a failed relationship, abandoned his car mid-span on the Golden Gate Bridge and jumped to his death in front of numerous eyewitnesses.

The significance of this event is that the suicide entered the water at about the same time as the escapees, and his body was never found or recovered.

The showers at Alcatraz were always supplied with moderately hot water, in order to hinder inmates from becoming acclimated to the freezing Bay waters.

• On July 17, 1962 the Ship SS Norefjell, a Norwegian Freighter departing from Pier 38, reported seeing a body floating twenty miles northwest of the Golden Gate Bridge.

The sailors had noticed something bobbing in the water, and used binoculars to confirm that it was a body floating face down.


Source: https://www.alcatrazhistory.com/alcesc3.htm

The Great Escape from Alcatraz

The Greatest Escape from Alcatraz – Continued

• Critics on the other side of the debate claimed that the fact that no bodies were found amounted to “proof” that the inmates had made it successfully to the mainland. The reality was that it was fairly common for people who perished in the Bay waters never to be found. In fact, on the very night of the escape, an African American gentleman named Seymour Webb, reportedly despondent over a failed relationship, abandoned his car mid-span on the Golden Gate Bridge and jumped to his death in front of numerous eyewitnesses. Despite a quick response from the Coast Guard, his body was never recovered. The significance of this event is that the suicide entered the water at about the same time as the escapees, and his body was never found or recovered.

• The Bay water temperatures ranged from fifty to fifty-four degrees. It was determined that exposure to the elements would have affected body functions after approximately twenty minutes. The showers at Alcatraz were always supplied with moderately hot water, in order to hinder inmates from becoming acclimated to the freezing Bay waters. Personal items carried by the inmates were found floating in the Bay the following day. Also found was a life preserver with heavy teeth marks on the valve. It was believed that the homemade clip to seal the valve had failed, making it difficult for the swimmer to stay afloat.

• On July 17, 1962 the Ship SS Norefjell, a Norwegian Freighter departing from Pier 38, reported seeing a body floating twenty miles northwest of the Golden Gate Bridge. The ship was en route to Canada, and the crew failed to report the sighting until October. The sailors had noticed something bobbing in the water, and used binoculars to confirm that it was a body floating face down. The hands and feet were dangling down in the water, but the buttocks were clearly visible. Although bleached by the ocean and sun, the body was clothed in full-length denim trousers that appeared identical to prison issue uniforms. Coroners from San Francisco, San Mateo, Alameda, and Marin Counties all confirmed that a body could float for five weeks after drowning. The FBI determined this to be one of the most significant leads in the case. Their official report established that there were no other individuals missing or drowned at that time who had been wearing similar trousers.

The families of the Anglins stated that the escape had been a topic of family discussions for several years. None of them had ever been contacted by the brothers, and they felt that the men would have made contact in some form if they had survived. The Anglin family would soon suffer yet another tragedy. The third brother, Alfred, was electrocuted while attempting to escape from Kilby Prison in Montgomery Alabama in 1964.

The intriguing mystery of this escape is still being explored decades after the fact, and over a million visitors each year make the trip to Alcatraz to witness firsthand the scene of the crime.

An officer photographs the ventilator removed by the inmates. This location was their egress point from the cellhouse.

The Morris and Anglins’ escape later inspired the Hollywood motion picture Escape from Alcatraz starring Clint Eastwood.

Contemporary photos of the actual tools fashioned by the inmates to aid in their escape. The crudely made wrench was used effectively to remove the bolts on the rooftop ventilator grill.
Advertisement