الرئيسية » القانون والحكومة » السلامة العامة » الجريمة والعدالة » كان Alcatraz أحد السجون الفيدرالية الوحيدة في ذلك الوقت التي سمحت للاستحمام بالماء الساخن لردع السجناء عن التأقلم مع الماء البارد والهروب عبر خليج سان فرانسيسكو.

كان Alcatraz أحد السجون الفيدرالية الوحيدة في ذلك الوقت التي سمحت للاستحمام بالماء الساخن لردع السجناء عن التأقلم مع الماء البارد والهروب عبر خليج سان فرانسيسكو.

• ادعى النقاد على الجانب الآخر من النقاش أن عدم العثور على جثث كان بمثابة "دليل" على أن السجناء نجحوا في الوصول إلى البر الرئيسي.

في الواقع ، في ليلة الهروب ذاتها ، رجل نبيل أمريكي من أصل أفريقي يُدعى سيمور ويب ، قيل إنه يائس من علاقة فاشلة ، تخلى عن سيارته في منتصف المسافة على جسر البوابة الذهبية وقفز حتى وفاته أمام العديد من شهود العيان.

تكمن أهمية هذا الحدث في أن المنتحر دخل الماء في نفس الوقت تقريبًا مع الهاربين ، ولم يتم العثور على جثته أو استردادها.

تم تزويد الحمامات في Alcatraz دائمًا بمياه ساخنة بشكل معتدل ، من أجل منع النزلاء من التأقلم مع مياه الخليج المتجمدة.

• في 17 يوليو 1962 ، أبلغت السفينة SS Norefjell ، وهي سفينة شحن نرويجية غادرت من الرصيف 38 ، عن رؤية جثة تطفو على بعد عشرين ميلاً شمال غرب جسر البوابة الذهبية.

لاحظ البحارة شيئًا ما يتمايل في الماء ، واستخدموا المناظير لتأكيد أنه جسم يطفو ووجهه لأسفل.


المصدر https://www.alcatrazhistory.com/alcesc3.htm

الهروب الكبير من الكاتراز

أعظم هروب من الكاتراز - تابع

• ادعى النقاد على الجانب الآخر من النقاش أن حقيقة عدم العثور على جثث ترقى إلى "الدليل" على أن النزلاء نجحوا في الوصول إلى البر الرئيسي. كانت الحقيقة أنه كان من الشائع جدًا عدم العثور على الأشخاص الذين لقوا حتفهم في مياه الخليج. في الواقع ، في ليلة الهروب ذاتها ، رجل نبيل أمريكي من أصل أفريقي يُدعى سيمور ويب ، قيل إنه يائس من علاقة فاشلة ، تخلى عن سيارته في منتصف المسافة على جسر البوابة الذهبية وقفز حتى وفاته أمام العديد من شهود العيان. على الرغم من الاستجابة السريعة من خفر السواحل ، لم يتم استرداد جثته أبدًا. تكمن أهمية هذا الحدث في أن المنتحر دخل الماء في نفس الوقت تقريبًا مع الهاربين ، ولم يتم العثور على جثته أو استردادها.

• تراوحت درجات حرارة مياه الخليج من خمسين إلى أربع وخمسين درجة. تقرر أن التعرض للعناصر من شأنه أن يؤثر على وظائف الجسم بعد حوالي عشرين دقيقة. تم تزويد الدشات في Alcatraz دائمًا بمياه ساخنة بدرجة معتدلة ، من أجل منع النزلاء من التأقلم مع مياه الخليج المتجمدة. تم العثور على الأشياء الشخصية التي يحملها السجناء طافية في الخليج في اليوم التالي. كما تم العثور على مادة حافظة للحياة بها علامات أسنان ثقيلة على الصمام. كان يُعتقد أن المشبك المصنوع منزليًا لإغلاق الصمام قد فشل ، مما يجعل من الصعب على السباح البقاء طافيًا.

• في 17 يوليو 1962 ، أبلغت السفينة SS Norefjell ، وهي سفينة شحن نرويجية غادرت من الرصيف 38 ، عن رؤية جثة تطفو على بعد عشرين ميلاً شمال غرب جسر البوابة الذهبية. كانت السفينة في طريقها إلى كندا ، ولم يبلغ الطاقم عن رؤيتها حتى أكتوبر. لاحظ البحارة شيئًا ما يتمايل في الماء ، واستخدموا المناظير لتأكيد أنه كان جسمًا يطفو ووجهه لأسفل. كانت الأيدي والأقدام تتدلى في الماء ، لكن الأرداف كانت واضحة للعيان. على الرغم من ابيضاضه بفعل المحيط والشمس ، كان الجسد يرتدي سروال جينز كامل الطول يبدو مطابقًا لزي السجن. أكد كل من قضاة الوفيات من مقاطعات سان فرانسيسكو وسان ماتيو وألاميدا ومارين أن الجثة يمكن أن تطفو لمدة خمسة أسابيع بعد الغرق. قرر مكتب التحقيقات الفيدرالي أن هذا هو أحد أهم الخيوط في القضية. أكد تقريرهم الرسمي أنه لم يكن هناك أفراد آخرون مفقودون أو غرقوا في ذلك الوقت ممن كانوا يرتدون سراويل مماثلة.

ذكرت عائلات Anglins أن الهروب كان موضوع نقاشات عائلية لعدة سنوات. لم يتصل الأخوان بأي منهم من قبل ، وشعروا أن الرجال كانوا سيتواصلون بشكل ما إذا كانوا قد نجوا. سرعان ما ستعاني عائلة أنجلين من مأساة أخرى. تعرض الأخ الثالث ألفريد للصعق بالكهرباء أثناء محاولته الهروب من سجن كيلبي في مونتغمري ألاباما في عام 1964.

لا يزال اللغز المثير للاهتمام لهذا الهروب قيد الاستكشاف بعد عقود من وقوعه ، ويقوم أكثر من مليون زائر كل عام برحلة إلى الكاتراز لمشاهدة مسرح الجريمة عن كثب.

يقوم أحد الضباط بتصوير جهاز التنفس الصناعي الذي أزاله النزلاء. كان هذا الموقع نقطة خروجهم من الزنزانة.

ألهم هروب موريس وأنجلينز ​​لاحقًا فيلم هوليوود الهروب من الكاتراز بطولة كلينت إيستوود.

صور معاصرة للأدوات الفعلية التي صنعها النزلاء للمساعدة في هروبهم. تم استخدام مفتاح الربط المصنوع بطريقة فجة بشكل فعال لإزالة البراغي الموجودة على شبكة التهوية الموجودة على السطح.

Alcatraz was one of the only federal prisons at the time that allowed hot showers to deter prisoners from acclimating to cold water and escaping through the San Francisco Bay.

• Critics on the other side of the debate claimed that the fact that no bodies were found amounted to “proof” that the inmates had made it successfully to the mainland.

In fact, on the very night of the escape, an African American gentleman named Seymour Webb, reportedly despondent over a failed relationship, abandoned his car mid-span on the Golden Gate Bridge and jumped to his death in front of numerous eyewitnesses.

The significance of this event is that the suicide entered the water at about the same time as the escapees, and his body was never found or recovered.

The showers at Alcatraz were always supplied with moderately hot water, in order to hinder inmates from becoming acclimated to the freezing Bay waters.

• On July 17, 1962 the Ship SS Norefjell, a Norwegian Freighter departing from Pier 38, reported seeing a body floating twenty miles northwest of the Golden Gate Bridge.

The sailors had noticed something bobbing in the water, and used binoculars to confirm that it was a body floating face down.


Source: https://www.alcatrazhistory.com/alcesc3.htm

The Great Escape from Alcatraz

The Greatest Escape from Alcatraz – Continued

• Critics on the other side of the debate claimed that the fact that no bodies were found amounted to “proof” that the inmates had made it successfully to the mainland. The reality was that it was fairly common for people who perished in the Bay waters never to be found. In fact, on the very night of the escape, an African American gentleman named Seymour Webb, reportedly despondent over a failed relationship, abandoned his car mid-span on the Golden Gate Bridge and jumped to his death in front of numerous eyewitnesses. Despite a quick response from the Coast Guard, his body was never recovered. The significance of this event is that the suicide entered the water at about the same time as the escapees, and his body was never found or recovered.

• The Bay water temperatures ranged from fifty to fifty-four degrees. It was determined that exposure to the elements would have affected body functions after approximately twenty minutes. The showers at Alcatraz were always supplied with moderately hot water, in order to hinder inmates from becoming acclimated to the freezing Bay waters. Personal items carried by the inmates were found floating in the Bay the following day. Also found was a life preserver with heavy teeth marks on the valve. It was believed that the homemade clip to seal the valve had failed, making it difficult for the swimmer to stay afloat.

• On July 17, 1962 the Ship SS Norefjell, a Norwegian Freighter departing from Pier 38, reported seeing a body floating twenty miles northwest of the Golden Gate Bridge. The ship was en route to Canada, and the crew failed to report the sighting until October. The sailors had noticed something bobbing in the water, and used binoculars to confirm that it was a body floating face down. The hands and feet were dangling down in the water, but the buttocks were clearly visible. Although bleached by the ocean and sun, the body was clothed in full-length denim trousers that appeared identical to prison issue uniforms. Coroners from San Francisco, San Mateo, Alameda, and Marin Counties all confirmed that a body could float for five weeks after drowning. The FBI determined this to be one of the most significant leads in the case. Their official report established that there were no other individuals missing or drowned at that time who had been wearing similar trousers.

The families of the Anglins stated that the escape had been a topic of family discussions for several years. None of them had ever been contacted by the brothers, and they felt that the men would have made contact in some form if they had survived. The Anglin family would soon suffer yet another tragedy. The third brother, Alfred, was electrocuted while attempting to escape from Kilby Prison in Montgomery Alabama in 1964.

The intriguing mystery of this escape is still being explored decades after the fact, and over a million visitors each year make the trip to Alcatraz to witness firsthand the scene of the crime.

An officer photographs the ventilator removed by the inmates. This location was their egress point from the cellhouse.

The Morris and Anglins’ escape later inspired the Hollywood motion picture Escape from Alcatraz starring Clint Eastwood.

Contemporary photos of the actual tools fashioned by the inmates to aid in their escape. The crudely made wrench was used effectively to remove the bolts on the rooftop ventilator grill.
Advertisement