大约15年前开发的富含维生素A的大米可以预防数十万例儿童失明。 由于对转基因食品的担忧,它从未被使用过。

反对金稻米的经济实力

富含维生素A的大米(金大米)是一种经济有效的解决方案,可以大大降低健康成本。 尽管自2000年初以来就可以买到黄金大米,但这种大米尚未在任何国家引入。 各国政府必须察觉到额外费用,该费用过度补偿了该技术的好处,以解释批准的延迟。 我们开发了一个实物期权模型,其中包括不可逆转性和感知成本的不确定性以及新信息的到来,以解释批准的延迟。 该模型已应用于印度案例。 结果表明,在过去十年中,每年的感知成本至少约为199亿美元,以解释该技术批准的延迟。 这表明反对派对黄金大米的经济实力表明,过去十年来印度损失了约1.4万个生命年。 继续阅读(32分钟阅读)

关于“富含维生素A的稻米”的思考已有12年,这是近15年前开发的,可以预防成千上万的儿童失明病例。 由于担心转基因食品,它从未被使用过。”

  1. https://www.reddit.com/user/hiimme70/

    读我的课本很有趣,一两分钟后我发现:

    生物技术还被用于提高农作物的营养价值。 世界上有超过三分之一的人口使用大米作为饮食的主食,但是大多数大米品种都不含或几乎不含维生素A。维生素A缺乏每年导致儿童盲目超过500,000例。 一种叫做金稻的基因工程菌株,体内含有两种高含量的化合物,可以将它们转化为维生素A。金稻应该减轻这种疾病的负担。 其他作物,包括小麦,玉米,豆类和木薯,也都经过改良以增加维生素和矿物质含量,从而提高营养价值。

    Brooker,R.(2012年)。 遗传学的概念。 纽约,纽约:麦格劳-希尔。

  2. Yanrogue

    由于营养不良猖rice,大米还不能对朝鲜有所帮助吗?

  3. 芬德明

    转基因生物本身并不危险,但是增加使用农药和除草剂是危险的。 另一个威胁是拥有农作物知识产权的大公司。

  4. 佩鲁达

    当白痴遇到伪科学时,就会发生这种情况。

  5. 日本人

    我进行了一次农业交流(我是美国人,交流是波兰人的),在两个波兰玉米农场生活了一个多月。 我很惊讶他们对转基因生物的不情愿,就像他们认为自己会萌发双腿并带走孩子一样。 幸运的是,来到这里的波兰孩子们却没有相同的心态。

  6. 马尔沃里夫

    我喜欢在气候变化方面“同行评议”是无懈可击的,但是当伯克利大学的学者和慕尼黑大学的某人发表有关如何挽救数百万生命的论文时,孟山都突然必须落后于它……

  7. 亚当

    绿色和平特别抵制了这一点。

    它向您显示,维权组织一旦实现目标,就会变得更加极端。

    您是否曾经看到一个组织说“我们的工作已经完成,现在该解散了”?

  8. aes0p81

    这些数字是令人误解和虚假的。 没有办法知道那段时间该作物可能造成什么样的生态和政治破坏。 另外,正如其他地方所提到的,如果没有其他饮食补充,就不会解决维生素A缺乏症。

  9. fghfgjgjuzku

    维生素A制造便宜,并且也包含在多种食物中。 如果它严重短缺,其原因当然不是不接受GMO解决方案。 让全世界的农民依靠工程农作物以及拥有知识和专利的少数大公司当然不是一个好主意。

  10. Themantogoto

    转基因是科学的奇妙奇迹,我永远不会完全理解它的阻力。 唯一可笑的是,大型农业每年都让农民购买种子。 它们都经过了广泛的测试,以确保它们可以安全食用,不会被侵入并且可以杀死。 是的,没错,他们可能会为此感到非常担忧。 像大型制药公司一样,大型股份公司也做一些令人惊奇的事情,但从社交和货币上来说,其成本往往很高。

  11. zstandig

    是的,人们对很多事情都抱有偏执,没有理由。

发表评论

Vitamin A enriched rice, developed nearly 15 years ago, could have prevented hundreds of thousands of cases of childhood blindness. It has never been used due to concerns over GMO foods.

The economic power of the Golden Rice opposition

Vitamin A enriched rice (Golden Rice) is a cost-efficient solution that can substantially reduce health costs. Despite Golden Rice being available since early 2000, this rice has not been introduced in any country. Governments must perceive additional costs that overcompensate the benefits of the technology to explain the delay in approval. We develop a real option model including irreversibility and uncertainty about perceived costs and arrival of new information to explain a delay in approval. The model has been applied to the case of India. Results show the annual perceived costs have to be at least US$199 million per year approximately for the last decade to explain the delay in approval of the technology. This is an indicator of the economic power of the opposition towards Golden Rice resulting in about 1.4 million life years lost over the past decade in India. Continue Reading (32 minute read)

12 thoughts on “Vitamin A enriched rice, developed nearly 15 years ago, could have prevented hundreds of thousands of cases of childhood blindness. It has never been used due to concerns over GMO foods.”

  1. https://www.reddit.com/user/hiimme70/

    It’s funny, reading my textbook and after a minute or two of reading I come across this:

    Biotechnology is also being used to enhance the nutritional value of crop plants. More than one-third of the world’s population uses rice as a dietary staple, but most varieties of rice contain little or no vitamin A. Vitamin A deficiency causes more than 500,000 cases of blindness in children each year. A genetically engineered strain, called golden rice, has high levels of two compounds that the body converts to vitamin A. Golden rice should reduce the burden of this disease. Other crops, including wheat, corn, beans, and cassava, are also being modified to enhance nutritional value by increasing their vitamin and mineral content.

    Brooker, R. (2012). Concepts of genetics. New York, NY: McGraw-Hill.

  2. Yanrogue

    Couldn’t enriched rice also help North Korea due to rampant malnutrition?

  3. findmein

    GMO itself isn’t dangerous, but the increased amount of use of pesticides and herbicides is dangerous. Another threat is big corporations which owns rights for the intellectual property of crops.

  4. Peruda

    This is what happens when idiots meet pseudo-science.

  5. Freeiheit

    Anti GMO is pro starvation

  6. japooki

    I did an agricultural exchange (I’m American, exchangees were Polish) and lived on 2 Polish corn farms for a little over a month. I was so surprised how reluctant they were about GMOs, it’s like they thought they would sprout legs and take their children. Luckily, the Polish kids that came over here returned without the same mentality.

  7. malvoliosf

    I love how “peer review” is unassailable when it comes to climate change, but when a Berkeley academic and somebody from the U of Munich publish a paper about how to save millions of lives, suddenly Monsanto must be behind it…

  8. adamwho

    This has been resisted specifically by Green Peace.

    It goes to show you that activist organization once they meet their goals tend to go more extreme.

    Have you ever seen an organization say “Our work is done here, now it is time to disband”?

  9. aes0p81

    Figures like these are misleading and disingenuous. There’s no way to know what type of ecological and political damage the crop could have caused in that time. Also, as mentioned elsewhere, you won’t solve vitamin A deficiency without additional dietary supplementation.

  10. fghfgjgjuzku

    Vitamin A is cheap to make and also contained in many kinds of food. If there is serious shortage of it the reason for that certainly isn’t nonacceptance of a GMO solution. Making farmers worldwide dependent on engineered crops and the few huge companies that hold the knowledge and patents is certainly not a good idea.

  11. Themantogoto

    GMO’s are amazing wonders of science, I will never fully understand the resistance to them. Only shitty thing is big agriculture holding farmers to buy seeds every year. They are all extensively tested to make sure they are safe to consume, will not be invasive, and are actually killable. Yes that is right, it can be so hardy that they worry about that. Big ag, like big pharma, does some amazing stuff but the cost of it socially and monetarily is often to much.

  12. zstandig

    Yeah, people are paranoid about a lot of things without reason.

Leave a Comment