为什么在波兰的一所学校以印度的王公命名?

第二次世界大战期间,有数百名流离失所的波兰儿童被带到苏联孤儿院。 这发生在1939年德国入侵波兰的时期。

1942年,纳瓦纳格尔大君(Daravi's Maharaja)国王Digvijaysinhji Ranjitsinhji Jadeja为波兰的难民儿童建立了波兰儿童营,以使他们免于二战期间苏联孤儿院的艰苦条件。

谁是Digvijaysinhji Ranjitsinhji Jadeja?

Digvijaysinhji Ranjitsinhji Yaduvanshi家族的拉杰普特(Rajput)的Jadeja于18年1895月XNUMX日上任。他是著名板球运动员KS Ranjitsinhji的侄子。 (来源: 伦敦宪报)

他于1919年加入英国军队。到1920年,他在埃及远征军中服役,并于1921年晋升为中尉。(资料来源: 伦敦宪报)

Digvijaysinhji是他叔叔Ranjitsinhji的继任者。 他在1933年担任纳瓦纳格尔(Nawanager)的大公贾姆·萨希卜(Maharaja Jam Sahib)统治,直至去世。

孤儿是如何照顾他的?

在1941年,大赦允许孤儿离开苏联。 一些被转移到墨西哥,新西兰和其他国家。 印度是第一个向他们提供去处的国家。 (来源: 文化塑造)

Nawanagar的统治者Maharaja Jam Saheb Digvijaysinhji Ranjitsinhji自愿为数百名流离失所的孤儿提供住所。 这些孩子被安德斯军,红十字会,波兰驻孟买领事馆以及英国官员立即运送到印度。 (来源: 文化塑造)

第一批孤儿在1942年被运送。当时只有170名。 他们乘坐卡车从阿什哈巴德(Ashgabat)到孟买。 然后,他们从巴拉查迪(Balachadi)搬到了摩哈拉贾(Maharaja)的纳瓦纳格尔(Nawanager)镇。 与他们在苏联期间经历的可怕条件和关心相比,印度对他们来说确实是新鲜空气。 (来源: 文化塑造)

大君向他们致意: “您不再是孤儿。 从现在开始,您是Nawangarian,我是所有Nawangarian的父亲Bapu,所以我也是您的父亲。”

慷慨的大君为孩子们建造了宿舍,他们每个人都有自己的床。 他还为他们提供了适当的教育和足够的食物。 允许孩子们当孩子,并尽其所能地玩耍。 (来源: 文化塑造)

到1942年,印度已经有600多名波兰儿童,而他们一千后不久。 他们得到了所需的一切:食物,衣服,教育和医疗服务。 大公甚至把他在巴拉查迪的旅馆变成了他们的学校,所以他们可以学习阅读和写作。 (来源: 文化塑造)

战争结束时,孩子们不得不回到欧洲。 他们和大君心碎了。 (来源: 文化塑造)

观看整个纪录片 点击此处

好王公的遗产

Digvijaysinhji从未要求任何经济补偿来补偿他对孤儿的帮助。 他唯一的愿望是在波兰开一条以他名字命名的街道。 不幸的是,这个梦想在他还活着的时候并没有实现。 共产党当时并不关心孤儿的艰辛。 (来源: 加拿大广播公司)

1989年波兰获得独立时,华沙的一个广场以Digvijaysinhji的名字命名。 还竖立了一个献给善良的大君的纪念碑。 (来源: 加拿大广播公司)

在波兰华沙的Bednarska街和Raszynska街上的一所学校以好王子的名字命名。 学校展示了大量受印度文化影响的图片,纪念碑和风景。 (来源: 印度教)

学校的管理人员是印度教育基金会的朋友,并选择以他的名字命名学校,以表彰他对波兰儿童的好意。 (来源: 印度教)

发表评论

Why Was a School in Poland Named After an Indian Maharaja?

During the second World War, there were hundreds of displaced Polish children who were brought to Soviet orphanages. This happened during the time Germany invaded Poland in 1939.

In 1942 Digvijaysinhji Ranjitsinhji Jadeja the Maharaja of Nawanager established the Polish Children’s Camp for the refugee children of Poland to save them from the harsh conditions of the USSR orphanages during World War II.

Who is Digvijaysinhji Ranjitsinhji Jadeja?

Digvijaysinhji Ranjitsinhji Jadeja, a Rajput of the Yaduvanshi clan was board on September 18, 1895. He is the nephew of the famous cricketer K.S. Ranjitsinhji. (Source: The London Gazette)

He joined the British Army in 1919. By 1920, he served with the Egyptian Expeditionary Force and was promoted to lieutenant by 1921. (Source: The London Gazette)

Digvijaysinhji was the successor of his uncle Ranjitsinhji. He ruled as the Maharaja Jam Sahib of Nawanager in 1933 till his death.

How Did the Orphans End Up in His Care?

In the year 1941, an amnesty allowed the orphans to leave the Soviet Union. Some were moved to Mexico, New Zealand and other countries. India, was the first state to offer them a place to go to. (Source: Culture)

Maharaja Jam Saheb Digvijaysinhji Ranjitsinhji, the ruler of Nawanagar volunteered to provide a home for the hundreds of displaced orphans. The children were transported to India immediately by members of the Anders’ Army, the Red Cross, the Polish consulate in Bombay, and British officials. (Source: Culture)

The first batch of orphans were transported in 1942. There were only 170 of them at the time. They travelled in trucks from Ashgabat to Bombay. They then moved from Balachadi to the Maharaja’s town Nawanager. Compared to the horrible conditions and care they have been through while they were in the Soviet Union, seeing India was truly a breath of fresh air for them. (Source: Culture)

The Maharaja greeted them with the words: “You are no longer orphans. From now on, you are Nawangarian, and I am Bapu, father of all Nawangarians, so I am your father as well.”

The generous Maharaja built dormitories for the children, and they each had their own beds. He also provided them with proper education and enough food too. The kids were allowed to be kids and played to their heart’s content. (Source: Culture)

By the year 1942, there were over 600 Polish children in India, soon after they were a thousand. They were given all that they needed: food, clothes, education, and medical care. The kind Maharaja even turned his guest house in Balachadi into a school for them, so they can learn to read and write. (Source: Culture)

By the time the war ended, the children had to go back home to Europe. They and the Maharaja were heart-broken. (Source: Culture)

Watch the entire documentary here

The Legacy of the Good Maharaja

Digvijaysinhji never asked for any financial compensation for the favor he did for the orphans. His only wish was to have a street named after him in Poland. Unfortunately, this dream did not come true while he was alive. The communist party did not care about the hardships of the orphans back then. (Source: CBC)

In 1989, when Poland gained their independence, a square in Warsaw was named after Digvijaysinhji. A monument dedicated to the kind-hearted Maharaja was also erected. (Source: CBC)

A school in Warsaw, Poland on the streets of Bednarska and Raszynska street was named after the good prince. The school showed tons of pictures, monuments and landscapes heavily influenced by the Indian culture. (Source: The Hindu)

The administration of the school, are friends with the India Education Foundation and chose to name the school after him as a tribute to his kindness to the Polish children. (Source: The Hindu)

Leave a Comment