دخل أول أمريكي أصلي التقى الحجاج في مستعمرة بليموث إلى معسكرهم واستقبلهم باللغة الإنجليزية. الذي بدأ يتعلمه من الصيادين الذين يترددون على مياه مين. من المفترض أنه رحب بهم ثم سأل عما إذا كان لديهم بيرة.

Samoset

للمجتمع في الولايات المتحدة ، انظر Samoset، Florida.

"مقابلة ساموسيت مع الحجاج" نقش كتاب 1853

ساموسيت (سومرست أيضًا ، 1590–1653) كان أبيناكي ساجامور وأول أمريكي هندي يتصل بحجاج مستعمرة بليموث. أذهل المستعمرين في 16 مارس 1621 بالسير إلى مستعمرة بليموث وتحية لهم باللغة الإنجليزية ، والتي بدأ يتعلمها من الصيادين الذين يترددون على مياه مين. من المفترض أنه رحب بهم ثم سأل عما إذا كان لديهم بيرة.

آعمال

كان ساموسيت ساجامور (رئيس مرؤوس) من قبيلة أبيناكي الشرقية التي كانت تقيم فيما يعرف الآن بولاية ماين ، وقد تم إنشاء معسكر صيد إنجليزي في خليج مين. تعلم Samoset بعض اللغة الإنجليزية من fishe ... مواصلة القراءة (قراءة 5 دقائق)

12 فكرة عن "أول أمريكي أصلي التقى الحجاج في مستعمرة بليموث دخل معسكرهم واستقبلهم بالإنجليزية. وهو الأمر الذي بدأ يتعلمه من الصيادين الذين يترددون على مياه مين. من المفترض أنه رحب بهم ثم سأل عما إذا كان لديهم بيرة ".

  1. بالنسبة لأولئك الذين يتساءلون كيف يكون هذا ممكنًا ، فقد تم بالفعل إنشاء مستعمرة جيمس تاون الإنجليزية منذ 14 عامًا.

  2. * يوم الجمعة السادس عشر من يوم دافئ عادل. هذا الصباح عقدنا العزم على إنهاء الأوامر العسكرية التي كنا قد بدأنا النظر فيها من قبل لكن المتوحشين قاطعوها كما ذكرنا سابقًا. وبينما كنا مشغولين هنا ، تمت مقاطعتنا مرة أخرى ، حيث قدم نفسه هناك متوحشًا ، مما تسبب في حدوث جرس إنذار. لقد جاء بجرأة كبيرة بمفرده وعلى طول البيوت مباشرة إلى الملتقى ، حيث اعترضناه ، ولم نعانه من الدخول ، كما يفعل بلا شك ، من جرأته. لقد حيانا باللغة الإنجليزية ، وأمرنا بالترحيب ، لأنه تعلم بعض اللغة الإنجليزية المكسورة بين الإنجليز الذين جاءوا للصيد في مونشيغون ، وعرف بالاسم معظم القادة والقادة والسادة الذين يأتون عادة. لقد كان رجلاً حراً في الكلام ، بقدر ما يستطيع التعبير عن رأيه ، ويبدو أنه عربة. *

    * سألناه في أمور كثيرة. كان أول متوحش يمكن أن نلتقي به. قال إنه لم يكن من هذه الأجزاء ، بل من Morattiggon ، وواحد من sagamores أو أسيادها ، وكان قد أمضى ثمانية أشهر في هذه الأجزاء ، ومن ثم شراع يوم مع ريح عاصفة ، وخمسة أيام في البر. لقد تحدث عن كل الكورة ، وفي كل مقاطعة ، وعن مخابئها ، وعدد رجالها ، وقوتها. كانت الريح ترتفع قليلاً ، فقمنا بإلقاء معطف الفارس حوله ، لأنه كان عارياً تمامًا ، فقط جلد حول خصره ، مع هامش يبلغ طوله حوالي امتداد ، أو أكثر قليلاً ؛ كان لديه قوس وسهمان أحدهما برأس والآخر مقطوع الرأس. كان رجلاً طويل القامة مستقيمًا ، وشعر رأسه أسود ، وخلفه طويلًا ، ولم يسبق له مثيل إلا بقصر ، ولا شيء على وجهه على الإطلاق ؛ طلب بعض البيرة ، لكننا قدمنا ​​له ماءًا قويًا وبسكويت ، وزبدة ، وجبنًا ، وبودنغًا ، وقطعة من البطة ، كل ما يحبه جيدًا ، وكان على دراية بمثل هذا بين الإنجليز. أخبرنا أن المكان الذي نعيش فيه الآن يسمى باتوكسيت ، وأنه منذ حوالي أربع سنوات مات جميع السكان بسبب وباء غير عادي ، ولم يبق رجل أو امرأة أو طفل ، كما لم نجد شيئًا ، هكذا ليس هناك ما يعيق حيازتنا ، أو يطالب به. قضينا كل فترة بعد الظهر في التواصل معه ؛ كان من دواعي سرورنا التخلص منه في الليل ، لكنه لم يكن على استعداد للذهاب هذه الليلة. ثم فكرنا في حمله على متن السفينة ، حيث كان سعيدًا ، وذهبنا إلى سطح الماء ، لكن الريح كانت شديدة والمياه شحيحة ، بحيث لا يمكنها العودة مرة أخرى. وضعناه في تلك الليلة في منزل ستيفن هوبكنز ، وشاهدناه. *

    * في اليوم التالي غادر عائداً إلى Massasoits ، حيث قال إنه جاء ، وهم جيراننا المجاورون القادمون. هم ستون قويًا كما قال. تقع Nausets بالقرب من الجنوب الشرقي منها ، وهي مائة شخص ، وأولئك الذين واجههم شعبنا ، كما ذكرنا من قبل. لقد شعروا بالغضب والاستفزاز ضد الإنجليز ، وقبل حوالي ثمانية أشهر قتل ثلاثة إنجليز ، ونجا اثنان آخران بالكاد بالطائرة إلى مونشيغون ؛ لقد كانوا رجال السير فرديناندو جورجس ، كما أخبرنا هذا الوحشي ، كما فعل بالمثل عن العناق ، أي القتال ، الذي كان مكتشفونا مع Nausets ، وأدواتنا التي تم إخراجها من الغابة ، والتي أردناها يجب إحضاره مرة أخرى ، وإلا فإننا سنصحح أنفسنا. هؤلاء الناس يتأثرون بشكل سيء تجاه الإنجليز ، بسبب هانت ، ربان سفينة ، الذي خدع الناس ، وجعلهم تحت لون النقل بالشاحنات معهم ، عشرين من هذا المكان بالذات الذي نعيش فيه ، وسبعة رجال من نوزت ، وأخذهم بعيدًا ، وباعهم للعبيد مثل رجل بائس (بعشرين جنيهاً للرجل) لا يهتم بما يفعله من ضرر من أجل ربحه.

    * يوم السبت في الصباح صرفنا المتوحش وأعطيناه سكينا وسوارا وخاتما. لقد وعد في غضون ليلة أو ليلتين بالعودة مرة أخرى ، وإحضار بعض جيراننا من Massasoits ، بجلود القنادس كما كان عليهم أن ينقلوا معنا بالشاحنات.

  3. لسوء حظ الحجاج ، على الرغم من أن ما كان يقوله يبدو نوعًا من اللغة الإنجليزية ، إلا أنه كان في الغالب مبتذلًا حول "أيوه ، شودة جيدة شريرة"

  4. القصة تتحسن. في وقت لاحق ، واجهوا مواطنًا آخر باسم Tisquantum (الذي دفع نفسه في الأساس إلى منصب السفير الأصلي للحجاج ، مما أثار غضب السفير المعين الفعلي). لقد تحدث الإنجليزية بشكل أفضل ، * لأنه كان يعيش في لندن *.

  5. الطريقة الوحيدة المناسبة لتحية شخص غريب.

  6. كأميركي أصلي ، يبدو هذا شرعيًا جدًا.

    أحب جدي البيرة

  7. لسوء الحظ ، كان السبب الوحيد الذي دفع الحجيج إلى الهبوط حيث فعلوا هو نفاد البيرة.

    تم تقنين كل منهم جالونًا واحدًا فقط في اليوم ، ولم ينجحوا تقريبًا.

  8. أمضى الليلة في "منزل" ستيفن هوبكنز. تم تعيين ستيفن هوبكنز من قبل الحجاج ليكون خبيرهم في العالم الجديد ، حيث قضى عدة سنوات في جيمستاون.

    كانت رحلته إلى جيمستاون فظيعة لدرجة أن شكسبير كتب مسرحية مستوحاة من رحلته بعنوان The Tempest. يُعتقد أن ستيفن هوبكنز هو مصدر إلهام لشخصية ستيفانو الجبانة.

  9. حتى قبل جهود الاستعمار الحقيقية الأولى ، كان الأوروبيون يظهرون كثيرًا في أمريكا الشمالية. هذا هو السبب في أن كل تلك الصور النمطية عن عدم التعرف على السفن هي ثور بشكل عام. سمع معظمهم على الأقل قصصًا عن قوارب عملاقة وأولئك الذين لم يروا أو يسمعوا عن السفن الأوروبية من قبل ما زالوا يعرفون ما هو القارب اللعين. ليس الأمر كما لو كانوا جميعًا في بعض الصحاري ، فالساحل الشرقي مليء بالأنهار والمستنقعات والأراضي الرطبة ونعم البحيرات العظمى.

    كان معظم السكان الأصليين قد شاهدوا القوارب الأوروبية وكانوا مثل "أوه ، قارب كبير. هذا رائع نوعًا ما ، لكن الجميع يمسك أسلحتك فقط في حال كانت تلك القبيلة الغبية هي التي تستمر في سرقة القرف "وهو رد متحضر جدًا.

    في وقت لاحق بعد أن بدأ الأوروبيون التجارة مع السكان الأصليين ، كان الأمر أشبه بـ "العسل! الاستيلاء على كل الذرة! لقد نفدنا من البارود وعلينا التجارة بأكبر قدر ممكن أثناء وجودهم هنا! عجل! ربما هذه المرة سيكون لديهم تلك البندقية التي كنت أنوي الحصول عليها! "

  10. كان اسمه ~~ Squanto ~~ Samoset وكان هناك لأن قبيلته بأكملها قُتلت بسبب المرض. وجد الحجاج مناطق كاملة بها فخار وما شابه مدفونة تحت الأرض وافترضوا أن * The Big G Upstairs * قد وضع كل شيء هناك من أجل البقاء على قيد الحياة.

    تحرير: أحضر Samoset Squanto معه في الأسبوع التالي.

اترك تعليق

The first Native American who met the Pilgrims at Plymouth Colony walked into their encampment and greeted them in English. Which he had begun to learn from fishermen frequenting the waters of Maine. Supposedly, he greeted them then asked if they had beer.

Samoset

For the community in the United States, see Samoset, Florida.

“Interview of Samoset with the Pilgrims”, book engraving, 1853

Samoset (also Somerset, c. 1590–1653) was an Abenaki sagamore and the first American Indian to make contact with the Pilgrims of Plymouth Colony. He startled the colonists on March 16, 1621 by walking into Plymouth Colony and greeting them in English, which he had begun to learn from fishermen frequenting the waters of Maine. Supposedly, he greeted them then asked if they had beer.

History

Samoset was a sagamore (subordinate chief) of an Eastern Abenaki tribe that resided in what now is Maine, and an English fishing camp had been established in the Gulf of Maine. Samoset learned some English from fishe… Continue Reading (5 minute read)

12 thoughts on “The first Native American who met the Pilgrims at Plymouth Colony walked into their encampment and greeted them in English. Which he had begun to learn from fishermen frequenting the waters of Maine. Supposedly, he greeted them then asked if they had beer.”

  1. For those wondering how the hell this is possible, the English colony of Jamestown had already been established for 14 years.

  2. *Friday the 16th a fair warm day towards; this morning we determined to conclude of the military orders, which we had begun to consider of before but were interrupted by the savages, as we mentioned formerly; and whilst we were busied hereabout, we were interrupted again, for there presented himself a savage, which caused an alarm. He very boldly came all alone and along the houses straight to the rendezvous, where we intercepted him, not suffering him to go in, as undoubtedly he would, out of his boldness. He saluted us in English, and bade us welcome, for he had learned some broken English among the Englishmen that came to fish at Monchiggon, and knew by name the most of the captains, commanders, and masters that usually come. He was a man free in speech, so far as he could express his mind, and of a seemly carriage.*

    *We questioned him of many things; he was the first savage we could meet withal. He said he was not of these parts, but of Morattiggon, and one of the sagamores or lords thereof, and had been eight months in these parts, it lying hence a day’s sail with a great wind, and five days by land. He discoursed of the whole country, and of every province, and of their sagamores, and their number of men, and strength. The wind being to rise a little, we cast a horseman’s coat about him, for he was stark naked, only a leather about his waist, with a fringe about a span long, or little more; he had a bow and two arrows, the one headed, and the other unheaded. He was a tall straight man, the hair of his head black, long behind, only short before, none on his face at all; he asked some beer, but we gave him strong water and biscuit, and butter, and cheese, and pudding, and a piece of mallard, all which he liked well, and had been acquainted with such amongst the English. He told us the place where we now live is called Patuxet, and that about four years ago all the inhabitants died of an extraordinary plague, and there is neither man, woman, nor child remaining, as indeed we have found none, so as there is none to hinder our possession, or to lay claim unto it. All the afternoon we spent in communication with him; we would gladly have been rid of him at night, but he was not willing to go this night. Then we thought to carry him on shipboard, wherewith he was well content, and went into the shallop, but the wind was high and the water scant, that it could not return back. We lodged him that night at Stephen Hopkins’ house, and watched him.*

    *The next day he went away back to the Massasoits, from whence he said he came, who are our next bordering neighbors. They are sixty strong, as he saith. The Nausets are as near southeast of them, and are a hundred strong, and those were they of whom our people were encountered, as before related. They are much incensed and provoked against the English, and about eight months ago slew three Englishmen, and two more hardly escaped by flight to Monchiggon; they were Sir Ferdinando Gorges his men, as this savage told us, as he did likewise of the huggery, that is, fight, that our discoverers had with the Nausets, and of our tools that were taken out of the woods, which we willed him should be brought again, otherwise, we would right ourselves. These people are ill affected towards the English, by reason of one Hunt, a master of a ship, who deceived the people, and got them under color of trucking with them, twenty out of this very place where we inhabit, and seven men from Nauset, and carried them away, and sold them for slaves like a wretched man (for twenty pound a man) that cares not what mischief he doth for his profit.*

    *Saturday, in the morning we dismissed the savage, and gave him a knife, a bracelet, and a ring; he promised within a night or two to come again, and to bring with him some of the Massasoits, our neighbors, with such beavers’ skins as they had to truck with us.*

  3. Unfortunately for the pilgrims, even though what he was saying sounded kind of English it was mostly gobbledygook about “Ayuh, wicked good chowdah”

  4. The story gets better. Later on, they encountered another native by the name of Tisquantum (who basically shoved himself into the position of native ambassador to the Pilgrims, much to the ire of the actual appointed ambassador). He spoke even better English, *because he used to live in London*.

  5. As a Native American, this seems pretty legit.

    My grandfather loved beer

  6. Unfortunately, the only reason the pilgrams landed where they did, was because they were running out of beer.

    They were each only rationed a gallon per day, and they almost didn’t make it.

  7. He spent the night at Stephen Hopkins’s “house.” Stephen Hopkins was hired by the pilgrims to be their New World expert, since he had spent some years in Jamestown.

    His trip to Jamestown was so terrible that Shakespeare wrote a play based on the journey, The Tempest. Stephen Hopkins is believed to be the inspiration for the cowardly Stephano character.

  8. Even before the first real colonization efforts Europeans would show up pretty frequently to North America. That’s why all those stereotypes of them not recognizing ships are generally bull. Most had at least heard stories of giant boats and those that hadn’t seen or heard of european ships before still knew what a fucking boat was. It’s not like they were all in some desert, the East coast is full of rivers wetlands swamps and oh yeah the Great Lakes.

    Most natives would have seen the european boats and been like “Oh, a big boat. That’s kinda cool, but everybody grab your weapons just in case it’s that dumbass tribe that keeps stealing our shit” which is a pretty civilized response.

    Later on after Europeans began trading with the Natives it was more like “honey! Grab all the corn! We’re running low on gunpowder and we gotta trade for as much as we can while they’re here! Hurry! Maybe this time they’ll have that rifle I’ve been meaning to get a hold of!”

  9. His name was ~~Squanto~~ Samoset and he was there because his entire tribe was killed by disease. The Pilgrims found whole areas that had pottery and the like buried underground and assumed *The Big G Upstairs* had put everything there for them to survive.

    Edit: Samoset brought Squanto with him the next week.

Leave a Comment