第一位在普利茅斯殖民地遇见朝圣者的美国原住民走进他们的营地,并用英语问好他们。 他开始从经常光顾缅因州水域的渔民那里学到的东西。 据称,他向他们打招呼,然后问他们是否喝啤酒。

Samoset

有关美国的社区,请参见佛罗里达州萨摩塞特。

“萨摩塞特与朝圣者的访谈”,版画,1853年

萨摩塞特(也是萨默塞特,约1590–1653年)是阿本纳基传奇,也是最早与普利茅斯殖民地朝圣者联系的美洲印第安人。 16年1621月XNUMX日,他走进普利茅斯殖民地并用英语向他们打招呼,使殖民者大为震惊,他已开始向经常光顾缅因州水域的渔民学习。 据称,他向他们打招呼,然后问他们是否喝啤酒。

历史

萨摩塞特是居住在现在缅因州的东部阿贝纳基部落的一个传奇人物(下属酋长),并且在缅因州海湾建立了一个英国捕鱼营地。 萨摩塞特从菲什学到一些英语。 继续阅读(5分钟阅读)

关于“第一个在普利茅斯殖民地遇到朝圣者的美洲原住民走进他们的营地并用英语打招呼,他们有12个想法。 他开始从经常光顾缅因州水域的渔民那里学到这一点。 据称,他向他们打招呼,然后问他们是否喝啤酒。”

  1. * 16日(星期五)是一个温暖的日子; 今天早上,我们决定结束军事命令,这是我们以前开始考虑的,但由于我们先前提到的野蛮行为而中断了; 当我们在附近忙碌的时候,我们又被打断了,因为在那里出现了野蛮人,引起了警报。 他非常大胆地独自一人走来,沿着房屋直达会合处,在那儿我们拦截了他,但毫不犹豫地让他进去,无疑是因为他的大胆。 他用英语向我们致敬,并欢迎我们,因为他在蒙奇贡(Monchiggon)钓鱼的英国人中学到了一些残破的英语,并且以名字来认识通常会来的大多数船长,指挥官和船长。 他是一个言论自由的人,尽他所能表达自己的思想,并且看起来像个马车。*

    *我们对他有很多疑问; 他是我们见过的第一个野蛮人。 他说,他不在这些地方,而是莫拉蒂贡以及其中一个传奇人物或诸侯之一,在这些地方已经呆了八个月,因此,一天的风很大,陆上航行了五天。 他论述了整个国家,每个省,他们的传奇,人数和力量。 风一点儿升了,我们给他穿上了骑士的外套,因为他是赤裸裸的,腰上只有一块皮革,边缘长了一个或更多。 他有一把弓和两支箭,一个箭头,另一个箭头。 他是一个高大挺拔的人,头顶黑色的头发,长长的后面,不久之前,脸上根本没有。 他问了些啤酒,但我们给了他大量的水,饼干,黄油,奶酪,布丁和一块野鸭,这些都是他很喜欢的,并且在英国人中已经很熟悉。 他告诉我们我们现在居住的地方叫Patuxet,大约四年前,所有居民都死于一场非凡的瘟疫,没有男人,女人或孩子留下,事实上我们没有发现,因此不会阻碍我们拥有财产,也不会要求我们拥有财产。 我们整个下午都在和他沟通。 我们很乐意在晚上摆脱他,但他不愿意在今晚离开。 然后我们想把他抱在船上,他对此很满意,走进了胡须,但是风很大,水少了,它再也回不来了。 我们那天晚上把他寄到了史蒂芬·霍普金斯的家中,看着他。*

    *第二天,他说他是从那里来的,回到了马萨诸塞州,他们是我们的下一个毗邻邻居。 他说,他们六十强。 瑙赛人就在他们的东南部附近,并且有一百强之力。 他们极度激怒并激怒了英国人,大约八个月前,他们杀死了三名英国人,再有两名很难乘飞机逃往蒙奇冈。 他们是费迪南多·戈尔斯爵士的手下,正如他的野蛮人告诉我们的那样,他同样是对我们的发现者与鹦鹉螺一起进行的拥抱(即战斗)以及我们从森林中带走的工具,我们愿意应该再次将他带回,否则,我们将纠正自己。 这些人对英语的影响很大,原因是一位船长亨特(Hunt)欺骗了人们,并用卡车把他们带上卡车,在我们居住的这个地方有二十个人,还有七个人恶心,把他们带走,卖给奴隶,就像个可怜的人(一个人二十镑),他根本不在乎他为自己的利益作恶。*

    *星期六,早上我们解雇了野蛮人,给了他一把刀,一条手镯和一个戒指。 他答应在一两夜之内再来,并带上一些我们的邻居马萨索特人,他们的海狸皮就像他们必须与我们一起运送。

  2. 不幸的是,对于朝圣者来说,即使他说的听起来像是英语,但大部分都是关于“ Ayuh,邪恶的好食物”的粗话。

  3. 故事变得更好。 后来,他们遇到了另一名叫Tisquantum的本地人(他基本上将自己推向朝圣者的本地大使职位,这对实际任命的大使大为恼火)。 *因为他曾经住在伦敦*,他的英语甚至更好。

  4. 不幸的是,香脂菌落在原地的唯一原因是因为它们的啤酒用完了。

    他们每个人每天只配给一加仑,几乎没有达到。

  5. 他在史蒂芬·霍普金斯的“房子”过夜。 斯蒂芬·霍普金斯(Stephen Hopkins)被朝圣者聘为他们的新世界专家,因为他已经在詹姆斯敦(Jamestown)度过了几年。

    他去詹姆斯敦的旅程真是太糟糕了,莎士比亚根据旅程《暴风雨》写了一部戏。 斯蒂芬·霍普金斯(Stephen Hopkins)被认为是怯Step的斯蒂芬诺(Stephano)角色的灵感来源。

  6. 甚至在第一次真正的殖民努力之前,欧洲人就经常出现在北美。 这就是为什么所有这些不认识船只的陈规定型观念通常都是牛。 大多数人至少听说过巨型船的故事,而那些以前从未看过或听说过欧洲船的故事至今仍不知道该死的船是什么。 好像他们都不在某个沙漠中一样,东海岸到处都是河流湿地沼泽,哦,是的五大湖。

    大多数当地人会看到欧洲的船,就像“哦,一艘大船。 挺酷的,但是每个人都拿起你的武器,以防万一那个笨拙的部落不断偷走我们的狗屎。

    后来,欧洲人开始与当地人交易,这更像是“蜂蜜! 抓住所有的玉米! 我们火药不足,当他们在这里时,我们必须尽可能多地交易! 匆忙! 也许这一次,他们将拥有我一直想拥有的那支步枪!”

  7. 他的名字叫~~ Squanto ~~ Samoset,他在那儿是因为他的整个部落都被疾病杀死了。 朝圣者发现整个地区都有陶器等埋在地下,并假设* Big G Upstairs *已将所有物品存放在那里以供生存。

    编辑:萨莫塞特(Samoset)下周将Squanto带到了他的身边。

发表评论

The first Native American who met the Pilgrims at Plymouth Colony walked into their encampment and greeted them in English. Which he had begun to learn from fishermen frequenting the waters of Maine. Supposedly, he greeted them then asked if they had beer.

Samoset

For the community in the United States, see Samoset, Florida.

“Interview of Samoset with the Pilgrims”, book engraving, 1853

Samoset (also Somerset, c. 1590–1653) was an Abenaki sagamore and the first American Indian to make contact with the Pilgrims of Plymouth Colony. He startled the colonists on March 16, 1621 by walking into Plymouth Colony and greeting them in English, which he had begun to learn from fishermen frequenting the waters of Maine. Supposedly, he greeted them then asked if they had beer.

History

Samoset was a sagamore (subordinate chief) of an Eastern Abenaki tribe that resided in what now is Maine, and an English fishing camp had been established in the Gulf of Maine. Samoset learned some English from fishe… Continue Reading (5 minute read)

12 thoughts on “The first Native American who met the Pilgrims at Plymouth Colony walked into their encampment and greeted them in English. Which he had begun to learn from fishermen frequenting the waters of Maine. Supposedly, he greeted them then asked if they had beer.”

  1. For those wondering how the hell this is possible, the English colony of Jamestown had already been established for 14 years.

  2. *Friday the 16th a fair warm day towards; this morning we determined to conclude of the military orders, which we had begun to consider of before but were interrupted by the savages, as we mentioned formerly; and whilst we were busied hereabout, we were interrupted again, for there presented himself a savage, which caused an alarm. He very boldly came all alone and along the houses straight to the rendezvous, where we intercepted him, not suffering him to go in, as undoubtedly he would, out of his boldness. He saluted us in English, and bade us welcome, for he had learned some broken English among the Englishmen that came to fish at Monchiggon, and knew by name the most of the captains, commanders, and masters that usually come. He was a man free in speech, so far as he could express his mind, and of a seemly carriage.*

    *We questioned him of many things; he was the first savage we could meet withal. He said he was not of these parts, but of Morattiggon, and one of the sagamores or lords thereof, and had been eight months in these parts, it lying hence a day’s sail with a great wind, and five days by land. He discoursed of the whole country, and of every province, and of their sagamores, and their number of men, and strength. The wind being to rise a little, we cast a horseman’s coat about him, for he was stark naked, only a leather about his waist, with a fringe about a span long, or little more; he had a bow and two arrows, the one headed, and the other unheaded. He was a tall straight man, the hair of his head black, long behind, only short before, none on his face at all; he asked some beer, but we gave him strong water and biscuit, and butter, and cheese, and pudding, and a piece of mallard, all which he liked well, and had been acquainted with such amongst the English. He told us the place where we now live is called Patuxet, and that about four years ago all the inhabitants died of an extraordinary plague, and there is neither man, woman, nor child remaining, as indeed we have found none, so as there is none to hinder our possession, or to lay claim unto it. All the afternoon we spent in communication with him; we would gladly have been rid of him at night, but he was not willing to go this night. Then we thought to carry him on shipboard, wherewith he was well content, and went into the shallop, but the wind was high and the water scant, that it could not return back. We lodged him that night at Stephen Hopkins’ house, and watched him.*

    *The next day he went away back to the Massasoits, from whence he said he came, who are our next bordering neighbors. They are sixty strong, as he saith. The Nausets are as near southeast of them, and are a hundred strong, and those were they of whom our people were encountered, as before related. They are much incensed and provoked against the English, and about eight months ago slew three Englishmen, and two more hardly escaped by flight to Monchiggon; they were Sir Ferdinando Gorges his men, as this savage told us, as he did likewise of the huggery, that is, fight, that our discoverers had with the Nausets, and of our tools that were taken out of the woods, which we willed him should be brought again, otherwise, we would right ourselves. These people are ill affected towards the English, by reason of one Hunt, a master of a ship, who deceived the people, and got them under color of trucking with them, twenty out of this very place where we inhabit, and seven men from Nauset, and carried them away, and sold them for slaves like a wretched man (for twenty pound a man) that cares not what mischief he doth for his profit.*

    *Saturday, in the morning we dismissed the savage, and gave him a knife, a bracelet, and a ring; he promised within a night or two to come again, and to bring with him some of the Massasoits, our neighbors, with such beavers’ skins as they had to truck with us.*

  3. Unfortunately for the pilgrims, even though what he was saying sounded kind of English it was mostly gobbledygook about “Ayuh, wicked good chowdah”

  4. The story gets better. Later on, they encountered another native by the name of Tisquantum (who basically shoved himself into the position of native ambassador to the Pilgrims, much to the ire of the actual appointed ambassador). He spoke even better English, *because he used to live in London*.

  5. As a Native American, this seems pretty legit.

    My grandfather loved beer

  6. Unfortunately, the only reason the pilgrams landed where they did, was because they were running out of beer.

    They were each only rationed a gallon per day, and they almost didn’t make it.

  7. He spent the night at Stephen Hopkins’s “house.” Stephen Hopkins was hired by the pilgrims to be their New World expert, since he had spent some years in Jamestown.

    His trip to Jamestown was so terrible that Shakespeare wrote a play based on the journey, The Tempest. Stephen Hopkins is believed to be the inspiration for the cowardly Stephano character.

  8. Even before the first real colonization efforts Europeans would show up pretty frequently to North America. That’s why all those stereotypes of them not recognizing ships are generally bull. Most had at least heard stories of giant boats and those that hadn’t seen or heard of european ships before still knew what a fucking boat was. It’s not like they were all in some desert, the East coast is full of rivers wetlands swamps and oh yeah the Great Lakes.

    Most natives would have seen the european boats and been like “Oh, a big boat. That’s kinda cool, but everybody grab your weapons just in case it’s that dumbass tribe that keeps stealing our shit” which is a pretty civilized response.

    Later on after Europeans began trading with the Natives it was more like “honey! Grab all the corn! We’re running low on gunpowder and we gotta trade for as much as we can while they’re here! Hurry! Maybe this time they’ll have that rifle I’ve been meaning to get a hold of!”

  9. His name was ~~Squanto~~ Samoset and he was there because his entire tribe was killed by disease. The Pilgrims found whole areas that had pottery and the like buried underground and assumed *The Big G Upstairs* had put everything there for them to survive.

    Edit: Samoset brought Squanto with him the next week.

Leave a Comment