كتب Weird Al "The Saga Begins" قبل ظهور الحلقة الأولى من Star Wars: The Phantom Menace. لقد جمع معظم المعلومات من التسريبات عبر الإنترنت ، وتفاجأ بمدى دقته بعد أن شاهد عرضًا خيريًا مسبقًا للفيلم. أجرى تعديلات طفيفة على الأغنية بعد رؤيتها.

تبدأ الملحمة

"The Saga Begins" هي أغنية محاكاة ساخرة لـ "Weird Al" Yankovic. إنها محاكاة ساخرة لـ "American Pie" من تأليف Don McLean ، مع كلمات تلخص بشكل فكاهي حبكة فيلم Star Wars: Episode I - The Phantom Menace من خلال وجهة نظر أوبي وان كينوبي ، أحد أبطال الفيلم.

عنوان الأغنية ، الذي لم يرد ذكره في أي مكان في كلمات الأغاني ، مشتق من الشعار الذي ظهر في المقاطع الدعائية والملصق لفيلم The Phantom Menace: "كل ملحمة لها بداية". تم إصدار "The Saga Begins" كأغنية من ألبوم عام 1999 Running with Scissors ، وظهرت لاحقًا في الألبوم التجميعي بعنوان The Saga Begins.

تاريخنا

تم ضبط لحن "الفطيرة الأمريكية" لدون ماكلين ، حيث يروي فيلم "The Saga Begins" حبكة Star Wars: Episode ... مواصلة القراءة (قراءة 3 دقائق)

8 أفكار حول "Weird Al كتب" The Saga Begins "قبل ظهور Star Wars Episode I: The Phantom Menace. لقد جمع معظم المعلومات من التسريبات عبر الإنترنت ، وتفاجأ بمدى دقته بعد أن شاهد عرضًا خيريًا مسبقًا للفيلم. لقد أجرى تعديلات طفيفة على الأغنية بعد رؤيتها ".

  1. louiseaveryb

    هذا ما قاله آل بالفعل عن ذلك:

    * استندت الأغنية بالكامل على "شائعات" عبر الإنترنت. جمعت كل المعلومات المسربة عن الفيلم من جميع مواقع Star Wars المختلفة (كان TheForce.net مفيدًا بشكل خاص) ، وتمكنت من تجميع الحبكة الأساسية للفيلم. *

    * كنا قد خططنا لإصدار ألبوم "Running With Scissors" بعد شهر من إصدار "Phantom Menace". ولكن نظرًا للمهلة التي يستغرقها التسجيل والمزج والضغط وإخراج الألبوم فعليًا في المتاجر ، كان علي أن أكتب "The Saga Begins" قبل حوالي شهرين من عرض الفيلم. لطالما كان الأشخاص في Lucasfilm ودودين للغاية نحوي ، لكنهم رفضوا بأدب طلباتي للحصول على عرض مسبق أو إلقاء نظرة خاطفة على السيناريو ، ولحسن الحظ ، اتبعت القصة وفقًا للإنترنت القصة المصورة بدقة.

    * فقط من أجل السلامة ، لم نقم بإجراء المزيج النهائي في "The Saga Begins" إلا بعد أن شاهدت الفيلم (دفعت مقابل الذهاب لحضور عرض خيري بقيمة 500 دولار للتذكرة ، حتى أتمكن من مشاهدة الفيلم قبل أيام من بقية العالم). أتذكر أنني غيرت سطرين بعد مشاهدة الفيلم - تعديلات طفيفة جدًا. مثل "من المحتمل أنه سيتزوجها يومًا ما" كان في الأصل "سمعت أنه سيتزوجها يومًا ما" لأنه وفقًا لإشاعة على الإنترنت ، في أحد المشاهد ، يخبر Anakin الملكة في وجهها أنه سيتزوجها (وهو ما يتحول خارج ، لم يكن في الخفض النهائي - لكن الجميع يعرف كيف ستسير القصة على أي حال ، أليس كذلك؟) *

  2. سليندسي 100

    اعتقدت دائمًا أنه حصل على معاينة مسبقة أو شيء من هذا القبيل.

  3. 23 نزل بعيدا

    كان بإمكانه منع مجموعة Jar-Jar Binks بأكملها ، لكنه لم يفعل شيئًا.

  4. FastWalkingShortGuy

    قام أيضًا بتضمين كلمات الأغاني ، "لكنني أعلم أنني سأعود يومًا ما / سأعزف هذا الجزء حتى أكون عجوزًا ورمادي.

    العقد طويل الأمد الذي كان عليّ توقيعه / ينص على أنني سأصنع هذه الأفلام حتى نهاية الوقت ".

    ... في محاكاة ساخرة لـ "Lola" من Kinks ، والتي تم إجراؤها كأغنية تحمل عنوان Star Wars بعنوان "Yoda" من وجهة نظر Luke. في أواخر الثمانينيات / أوائل التسعينيات.

    أطلق على * التتابعات * 30 عامًا قبل حدوثها.

  5. زارنوفيتش

    من المحتمل أن 80٪ من أي ولع لديّ بـ Stat Wars جاء من هذه الأغنية. التفكير الآن يمكنك حقا سماعه. كان هذا قبل Phantom Menace ، بعد عقود من ظهور أي حرب النجوم الجديدة ولا شيء بحجم ما كان من المفترض أن يأتي. كان ذلك عام 1999 وكنا على وشك أن نبدأ قرنًا جديدًا. كان هناك مستقبل أمامنا إذا نظرنا إلى هذا الحد.

  6. التراخي

    ربما ما زلت أعرف كل كلمة لتلك الأغنية على الرغم من أنني لم أسمعها منذ أكثر من عقد.

  7. Kie723

    لابد أن هناك بعض التسريبات الجيدة. كان محددًا جدًا بشأن بعض المشاهد. ما لم يكن قد أجرى تعديلات كبيرة بعد ظهور الفيلم بدلاً من ذلك

  8. براندونة 75

    لقد كنت من محبي آل منذ منتصف الثمانينيات عندما كنت في العاشرة من عمري. تمكنت أخيرًا من رؤيته في MN State Fair في عام 80. زوجتي ليست من عشاق Weird Al ، كما أنها ليست من محبي Star Wars. قام بهذه الأغنية في العرض قرب النهاية. لقد أحببت ذلك حقًا ، ودهشت كيف غنى الجمهور مع الأغنية بأكملها.

    سمعت أن آل تناقش بين القيام بهذه المحاكاة الساخرة ، أو الطيران من أجل جدي. أعتقد أن هذا كان الخيار الأفضل.

اترك تعليق

Weird Al wrote “The Saga Begins” before Star Wars Episode I: The Phantom Menace came out. He gathered most of the information from online leaks, and was surprised at how accurate he was after seeing a charity pre-screen of the movie. He made minor alterations to the song after seeing it.

The Saga Begins

“The Saga Begins” is a parody song by “Weird Al” Yankovic. It parodies “American Pie” by Don McLean, with lyrics that humorously summarize the plot of the film Star Wars: Episode I – The Phantom Menace through the point of view of Obi-Wan Kenobi, one of the protagonists of the film.

The song’s title, not mentioned anywhere in the lyrics, derives from a tagline that appeared in teaser trailers and the film poster for The Phantom Menace: “Every saga has a beginning”. “The Saga Begins” was released as a single from the 1999 album Running with Scissors, and later appearing on the compilation album titled The Saga Begins.

History

Set to the tune of Don McLean’s “American Pie”, “The Saga Begins” recounts the plot of Star Wars: Episode… Continue Reading (3 minute read)

8 thoughts on “Weird Al wrote “The Saga Begins” before Star Wars Episode I: The Phantom Menace came out. He gathered most of the information from online leaks, and was surprised at how accurate he was after seeing a charity pre-screen of the movie. He made minor alterations to the song after seeing it.”

  1. louiseaveryb

    Here’s what Al actually said about it:

    *The song was entirely based on Internet “rumors.” I gathered all the leaked info I could about the movie from all the various Star Wars websites (TheForce.net was particularly helpful), and was able to piece together the basic plot of the movie.*

    *We had planned to release my “Running With Scissors” album the month after “Phantom Menace” came out. But because of the lead time involved in recording, mixing, pressing, and physically getting an album out in the stores, I had to write “The Saga Begins” about two months before the movie came out. The folks at Lucasfilm have always been very friendly towards me, but they politely declined my requests for an advance screening or a peek at the script.Thankfully, the storyline according to the Internet followed the filmed storyline pretty accurately.*

    *Just for safety’s sake, we didn’t do the final mix on “The Saga Begins” until after I had seen the movie (I paid to go to the $500-a-ticket charity screening, so I could see the film a couple days before the rest of the world). I remember I changed a couple lines after seeing the movie – very minor tweaks. Like “He’s probably gonna marry her someday” was originally “I HEAR he’s gonna marry her someday,” because according to an Internet rumor, in one scene Anakin tells the Queen to her face that he’s going to marry her (which, as it turns out, wasn’t in the final cut – but everybody knows how the storyline is going to go anyway, right?)*

  2. slindsey100

    I always thought he had gotten a sneak preview or something.

  3. 23runsofaraway

    He could have prevented the whole Jar-Jar Binks, but did nothing.

  4. FastWalkingShortGuy

    He also included the lyrics, “But I know that I’ll be coming back some day/ I’ll be playing this part til I’m old and gray.

    The long term contract I had to sign/ says I’ll be making these movies til the end of time.”

    …in his parody of the Kinks’ “Lola”, which was done as a Star Wars themed song titled “Yoda,” sung from Luke’s point of view. In the late 80s/early 90s.

    He called the *sequels* 30 years before they happened.

  5. zarnovich

    Probably 80% of any fondness I have for Stat Wars came from this song. Thinking now you really can hear it. This was before the Phantom Menace, decades since any new Star Wars and nothing of the scale of what was supposed to be coming. It was 1999 and we were about to start a new century. There future was ahead if us and looked so bright.

  6. imtennesseetrash

    I still probably know every word to that song despite not having heard it in well over a decade.

  7. Kie723

    Must have been some good leaks. He was very specific about certain scenes. Unless he made major alterations after the movie came out instead

  8. Brandonh75

    I’ve been a fan of Al since the mid 80s when I was 10. I finally got to see him at the MN State Fair in 2019. My wife isn’t a Weird Al fan, nor is she a Star Wars fan. He did this song at the show towards the end. She really liked it, and was amazed how the crowd sang along with the entire song.

    I heard Al debated between doing this parody, or Too Fly For A Jedi. I think this was the better choice.

Leave a Comment