在星际大战第一集:幻影威胁出现之前,Weird Al撰写了《英雄传奇》。 他从在线泄密中收集了大部分信息,并在看完电影的慈善预映后对自己的准确性感到惊讶。 看到这首歌后,他做了些改动。

传奇开始

“ The Saga Begins”是“ Weird Al” Yankovic的模仿歌。 它以唐纳·麦克莱恩(Don McLean)的“美国派”(American Pie)为模仿,通过歌词幽默地总结了电影《星球大战:第一集–幻影威胁》的故事,从电影的主人公奥比·旺·克诺比(Obi-Wan Kenobi)的角度出发。

这首歌的标题未在歌词中任何地方提及,源于预告片和《幻影威胁》的电影海报上出现的标语:“每个传奇都有一个开始”。 “ The Saga Begins”作为1999年专辑“ Running with Scissors”的单曲发行,后来出现在名为The Saga Begins的合辑中。

历史

《传奇故事》以唐麦克莱恩(Don McLean)的《美国派》为基调,讲述了《星球大战:情节》的情节。 继续阅读(3分钟阅读)

在《星球大战第一集:幻影威胁》问世之前,有关“怪异的Al撰写了《传奇开始》”的8条想法。 他从在线泄密中收集了大部分信息,并在看完电影的慈善预映后对自己的准确性感到惊讶。 看到它后,他对这首歌做了些小改动。”

  1. 路易斯

    这实际上是艾尔说的:

    *这首歌完全基于互联网的“谣言”。 我从所有《星球大战》网站(TheForce.net尤其有用)收集了关于电影的所有泄漏信息,并且能够整理出电影的基本情节。*

    *我们计划在“幻影威胁”问世后的第二个月发行我的“剪刀行”专辑。 但是由于录制,混音,压制以及在商店中实际发行专辑所需要的时间,我不得不在电影发行前两个月写《 The Saga Begins》。 卢卡斯影业的人们一直对我很友好,但是他们礼貌地拒绝了我要求提前放映或偷看剧本的请求。幸运的是,根据互联网的故事情节非常准确地遵循了拍摄的故事情节。*

    *为了安全起见,直到我看完电影之后,我们才进行“ The Saga Begins”的最终混音(我付钱参加了每张票500美元的慈善放映,所以我可以看几部电影在世界其他地区之前的几天)。 我记得看完电影后我改变了几行文字-非常小的调整。 就像“他可能有一天要嫁给她”原本是“我听说他有一天要嫁给她”一样,因为根据互联网上的谣言,阿纳金在一个场景中告诉女王要面对她,皇后要嫁给她(后来事实证明,出局,不是最终决定–但是每个人都知道故事情节将如何发展,对吧?)*

  2. slindsey100

    我一直以为他已经抢先看了一下。

  3. 23runsofaraway

    他本可以阻止整个Jar-Jar Binks,但什么也没做。

  4. 快走短兵

    他还附上了歌词:“但我知道我有一天会回来/我会扮演这个角色,直到我老了又灰白。

    我必须签署的长期合同/说我将在时间结束之前制作这些电影。”

    …以卢克的角度演唱了以类似《星际大战》的主题曲《尤达》演唱的Kinks的《萝拉》。 在80年代末/ 90年代初。

    他在“续集”发生30年之前就打电话给他们。

  5. 萨尔诺维奇

    我对Stat Wars的喜爱大概有80%来自于这首歌。 现在想想,您真的可以听到。 这是在幻影威胁之前,距任何新的《星球大战》已有数十年之久,而且规模之大也算不上什么。 那是1999年,我们即将开始一个新世纪。 如果我们如此光明,前途遥遥无期。

  6. 紧急情况

    尽管已经有十年没有听过了,但我可能仍然知道这首歌的每个单词。

  7. ie723

    一定是一些很好的泄漏。 他对某些场景非常具体。 除非他在电影上映后进行了重大改动,否则

  8. 布兰登

    自80年代中期(10岁起)开始,我就一直是Al的粉丝。我终于在2019年的MN州博览会上见到了他。我的妻子不是Weird Al粉丝,也不是Star Wars粉丝。 他在演出快结束时做了这首歌。 她真的很喜欢它,并且惊讶于人群如何演唱整首歌。

    我听到艾尔在做这个模仿还是在为绝地而飞之间争论不休。 我认为这是更好的选择。

发表评论

Weird Al wrote “The Saga Begins” before Star Wars Episode I: The Phantom Menace came out. He gathered most of the information from online leaks, and was surprised at how accurate he was after seeing a charity pre-screen of the movie. He made minor alterations to the song after seeing it.

The Saga Begins

“The Saga Begins” is a parody song by “Weird Al” Yankovic. It parodies “American Pie” by Don McLean, with lyrics that humorously summarize the plot of the film Star Wars: Episode I – The Phantom Menace through the point of view of Obi-Wan Kenobi, one of the protagonists of the film.

The song’s title, not mentioned anywhere in the lyrics, derives from a tagline that appeared in teaser trailers and the film poster for The Phantom Menace: “Every saga has a beginning”. “The Saga Begins” was released as a single from the 1999 album Running with Scissors, and later appearing on the compilation album titled The Saga Begins.

History

Set to the tune of Don McLean’s “American Pie”, “The Saga Begins” recounts the plot of Star Wars: Episode… Continue Reading (3 minute read)

8 thoughts on “Weird Al wrote “The Saga Begins” before Star Wars Episode I: The Phantom Menace came out. He gathered most of the information from online leaks, and was surprised at how accurate he was after seeing a charity pre-screen of the movie. He made minor alterations to the song after seeing it.”

  1. louiseaveryb

    Here’s what Al actually said about it:

    *The song was entirely based on Internet “rumors.” I gathered all the leaked info I could about the movie from all the various Star Wars websites (TheForce.net was particularly helpful), and was able to piece together the basic plot of the movie.*

    *We had planned to release my “Running With Scissors” album the month after “Phantom Menace” came out. But because of the lead time involved in recording, mixing, pressing, and physically getting an album out in the stores, I had to write “The Saga Begins” about two months before the movie came out. The folks at Lucasfilm have always been very friendly towards me, but they politely declined my requests for an advance screening or a peek at the script.Thankfully, the storyline according to the Internet followed the filmed storyline pretty accurately.*

    *Just for safety’s sake, we didn’t do the final mix on “The Saga Begins” until after I had seen the movie (I paid to go to the $500-a-ticket charity screening, so I could see the film a couple days before the rest of the world). I remember I changed a couple lines after seeing the movie – very minor tweaks. Like “He’s probably gonna marry her someday” was originally “I HEAR he’s gonna marry her someday,” because according to an Internet rumor, in one scene Anakin tells the Queen to her face that he’s going to marry her (which, as it turns out, wasn’t in the final cut – but everybody knows how the storyline is going to go anyway, right?)*

  2. slindsey100

    I always thought he had gotten a sneak preview or something.

  3. 23runsofaraway

    He could have prevented the whole Jar-Jar Binks, but did nothing.

  4. FastWalkingShortGuy

    He also included the lyrics, “But I know that I’ll be coming back some day/ I’ll be playing this part til I’m old and gray.

    The long term contract I had to sign/ says I’ll be making these movies til the end of time.”

    …in his parody of the Kinks’ “Lola”, which was done as a Star Wars themed song titled “Yoda,” sung from Luke’s point of view. In the late 80s/early 90s.

    He called the *sequels* 30 years before they happened.

  5. zarnovich

    Probably 80% of any fondness I have for Stat Wars came from this song. Thinking now you really can hear it. This was before the Phantom Menace, decades since any new Star Wars and nothing of the scale of what was supposed to be coming. It was 1999 and we were about to start a new century. There future was ahead if us and looked so bright.

  6. imtennesseetrash

    I still probably know every word to that song despite not having heard it in well over a decade.

  7. Kie723

    Must have been some good leaks. He was very specific about certain scenes. Unless he made major alterations after the movie came out instead

  8. Brandonh75

    I’ve been a fan of Al since the mid 80s when I was 10. I finally got to see him at the MN State Fair in 2019. My wife isn’t a Weird Al fan, nor is she a Star Wars fan. He did this song at the show towards the end. She really liked it, and was amazed how the crowd sang along with the entire song.

    I heard Al debated between doing this parody, or Too Fly For A Jedi. I think this was the better choice.

Leave a Comment