1977年,在拍摄《星球大战》时,乔治·卢卡斯决定减免其董事薪水500,000美元,以换取该系列商品的全部所有权。 到2012年,前六部电影的商品销售收入约为20亿美元。

《星球大战》

本文是关于整个媒体专营权的。 对于1977年的电影,请参阅《星球大战》。 对于其他用途,请参阅《星球大战》(歧义消除)。

星球大战(Star Wars)是乔治·卢卡斯(George Lucas)创建的美国史诗般的太空歌剧媒体专营权,始于1977年同名电影,并迅速成为全球流行文化现象。 该专营权已扩展到各种电影和其他媒体,包括电视连续剧,视频游戏,小说,漫画书,主题公园景点和主题区域,其中包括无所不包的虚构宇宙。[b]该专营权拥有吉尼斯世界纪录。 “最成功的电影销售特许经营权”的称号。 到2020年,《星球大战》系列的总价值估计为70亿美元, 继续阅读(29分钟阅读)

“在12年拍摄《星球大战》时,乔治·卢卡斯决定减薪1977美元作为董事的薪水,以换取该特许权的全部所有权,对此他有500,000个想法。 到2012年,前六部电影的商品销售收入约为20亿美元。”

  1. mainevent2020

    乔治·卢卡斯(George Lucas)因未在电影开始时获得荣誉而受到导演协会的巨大罚款。 然后他离开了公会。

  2. EzPzLemon_Greezy

    这就是为什么没有公司会再次达成该交易的原因。

  3. 农民甲

    这就是他不断将电影瞄准儿童的原因。 出售大量玩具。

  4. 小丑一号

    早期,肯纳售出的每2.5美元玩具中,卢卡斯只赚XNUMX美分。

    [我们从1986年到1995年了解了“黑暗时代”,当时卢卡斯(Lucas)奠定了“星球大战”(Star Wars)品牌的地位,玩具不再像以前那样出售。 孩之宝(Hasbro)在1991年收购了肯纳(Kenner),关闭了其在辛辛那提的办事处,以某种方式忘记了《星球大战》商品交易10,000万美元的规定。 它未能向卢卡斯支付他的股份,合同期满。 巧合的是(或可能不是),一年后,卢卡斯宣布他将执导前传三部曲,引发了玩具公司之间的商品权竞购战。 孩之宝设法取消了这笔交易,但卢卡斯的基本特许权使用费率为18%。 (这笔交易被称为“乔治的复仇”。)]]https://www.thedailybeast.com/how-star-wars-revolutionized-the-toy-industry)

  5. 奥托曼讽刺

    我认为卢卡斯是第一个了解商品销售的好莱坞人。 每个人都笑了这个决定。

  6. Windigo4

    那是收入而不是利润。 生产商品是有成本的。 此外,他还不得不向玩具公司支付设计,分销和销售商品的费用。 他的身家只有5.6亿美元。 比我多5.6亿美元。

  7. 代码病毒

    我记得我80年代生活在东欧,当时我的一个朋友有一个有点可疑的卢克·天行者动作人物。 我确信乔治·卢卡斯不会从那笔钱中得到一分钱。

  8. 卡塞尼奇

    500年削减了1977万美元的薪水? 这个家伙早在玩具之前就很富有

  9. Grahfzer0

    我想知道与史蒂芬·斯皮尔伯格(Steven Spielberg)的赌注是从电影中还是从商品中赚钱。

    当斯皮尔伯格制作《第三种亲密接触》时,卢卡斯看到了它,并立即认为《星球大战》将是一次失败。 因此,斯皮尔伯格向他下了赌:斯皮尔伯格将获得卢卡斯通过星球大战制造的任何东西的2.5%,卢卡斯将获得斯皮尔伯格通过近距离接触制造的一切的2.5%。

    截至2014年,斯皮尔伯格已从该赌注中获利约40万美元。

  10. joshi38

    这是关于商品的事情,这是电影中真正的钱所在,至少对于与商品搭配良好的电影类型而言。

    商品销售基本上只是为摄影棚印钱的许可证。 您制作了一部让人爱不释手的电影,想要购买它的玩具,然后您将品牌许可给各种玩具和便当盒制造商,以便他们制造和出售这些东西……而疯狂的聚会是,他们付给您* *为特权。 您向全球数十/数百个不同的制造商出售了数十亿美元的所说的权利,而这些*则是他们在制造和销售这些产品的全部努力中投入的权利。

    早在77年代,商品销售就没什么大不了的了,所以工作室很乐意为他提供版权,如果这意味着少付钱的话。 Hindsight的20/20,但很少有人听说过工作室再次这样做。 钱太多了。 在某些时候,这些爆米花电影不过是广告的超长广告。

    请记住,下一次《复仇者联盟》的电影会赚十亿美元。 您刚刚看的是一个2.5小时的玩具广告片……您付钱观看了。

发表评论

In 1977 while filming Star Wars, George Lucas decided to take a $500,000 pay cut to his salary as director in exchange for full ownership of the franchise’s merchandising rights. By 2012, the first six films produced approximately US$20 billion in merchandising revenue.

Star Wars

This article is about the media franchise as a whole. For the original 1977 film, see Star Wars (film). For other uses, see Star Wars (disambiguation).

Star Wars is an American epic space opera media franchise created by George Lucas, which began with the eponymous 1977 film and quickly became a worldwide pop-culture phenomenon. The franchise has been expanded into various films and other media, including television series, video games, novels, comic books, theme park attractions, and themed areas, comprising an all-encompassing fictional universe.[b] The franchise holds a Guinness World Records title for the “Most successful film merchandising franchise.” In 2020, the Star Wars franchise’s total value was estimated at US$70 billion, an… Continue Reading (29 minute read)

12 thoughts on “In 1977 while filming Star Wars, George Lucas decided to take a $500,000 pay cut to his salary as director in exchange for full ownership of the franchise’s merchandising rights. By 2012, the first six films produced approximately US$20 billion in merchandising revenue.”

  1. mainevent2020

    George Lucas got an enormous fine from the directors guild for not putting credits at the start of the movies. He then left the guild.

  2. EzPzLemon_Greezy

    This why no company will ever make that deal ever again.

  3. farmerarmor

    It’s the reason he kept aiming the movies more and more at children. To sell shitloads of toys.

  4. JesterOne

    Lucas was only making 2.5 cents for every dollar of toys that Kenner was selling in the early days.

    [And we learn of the “dark times,” from 1986 to 1995, when Lucas laid the Star Wars brand to rest and toys stopped selling the way they once did. Hasbro bought Kenner in 1991, closed its Cincinnati office, and somehow, forgot about the Star Wars merchandising deal’s $10,000 stipulation. It failed to pay Lucas his share and the contract expired. Coincidentally (or not, probably), a year later, Lucas announced he would direct a prequel trilogy, sparking a bidding war for merchandising rights among toy companies. Hasbro managed to wrangle the deal back, but only at a base royalty rate of 18 percent for Lucas. (The deal was dubbed “George’s revenge.”)](https://www.thedailybeast.com/how-star-wars-revolutionized-the-toy-industry)

  5. OttoManSatire

    I think Lucas was the first Hollywood man to understand merchandising. Everyone laughed at this decision.

  6. Windigo4

    That’s revenue rather than profit. There is a cost to produce the merchandise. Also he had to pay toy companies a cut to design, distribute and market the merchandise. He is only worth $5.6 billion. Which is $5.6 billion more than I have.

  7. CodeVirus

    I remember living in eastern europe in the 80s when a friend of mine had a little Luke Skywalker action figure of dubious quality. I am sure George Lucas didn’t get a single cent from that merch.

  8. casenich

    $500k pay cut in 1977? This guy was rich long before the toys

  9. Grahfzer0

    I wonder if the bet with Steven Spielberg gives him money just from the movies or also from the merchandising.

    When Spielberg was making Close Encounters Of The Third Kind, Lucas saw it and immediately thought that Star Wars was going to be a failure. So Spielberg made a bet with him: Spielberg would get 2.5% of whatever Lucas made with star wars, and Lucas would get 2.5% of whatever Spielberg made with Close Encounters.

    As of 2014, Spielberg has made about $40 million off of that bet.

  10. joshi38

    Here’s the thing about merchandising, it’s where the real money is in movies, at least for the type of films that pair well with merchandising.

    Merchandising is basically just a license to print money for the studio. You make a film that people love enough to want to buy toys of it, and then you simply licence out the brand to various toy and lunchbox makers so that they make the stuff and sell it… and the crazy party is, they pay *you* for the privilege. You make billions selling said rights to dozens/hundreds of different manufacturers all over the world and *they’re* the ones putting in all of the effort of actually making and selling the stuff.

    And back in ’77, merchandising wasn’t nearly as big of a thing, so the studio was more than happy to give him the rights if it meant paying him less. Hindsight’s 20/20, but it’s rare if not unheard of for a studio to ever do that again. It’s just too much money. At a certain point, those popcorn films are little more than overlong adverts for the merch.

    Remember that the next time an Avengers film makes a billion dollars. What you just watched was a 2.5 hour toy commercial… and you paid to see it.

Leave a Comment