首页 » 旅行用品 » 航空旅行 » 飞机上的氧气面罩中的氧气是从哪里来的?

飞机上的氧气面罩中的氧气是从哪里来的?

我们知道演习。 在我们的航班起飞前,机组人员向我们介绍了飞机的所有安全功能。 这包括紧急出口和安全协议以及有关氧气面罩的介绍。 但是这些面罩里的氧气是从哪里来的呢?

飞机上的面罩通过简单的化学反应产生氧气。 当面罩因机舱减压而掉落时,当面罩被乘客拉扯时,就会触发反应。

为什么我们在飞行中需要额外的氧气?

飞行中掉落的口罩实际上是为了您的安全。 当飞机到达高空时,空气变得稀薄,该地区的氧气含量开始降低。 该飞机旨在将机舱压力保持在最佳水平。 当它确实低于标准水平时,面罩会下降,为您提供氧气。 (来源: 科学ABC)

是否有直接连接到面罩的车载氧气罐?

对此的简短回答是,不。 飞机上没有氧气罐,而是在飞机上的面罩被拉扯时触发化学反应时为您提供氧气。 这 氧气蜡烛 通过释放撞针点燃,这使得氯酸钠和高氯酸钾结合产生可以安全吸入的氧气。(来源: 客舱环境控制系统)

商用飞机上发现紧急氧气系统

反应是这样的:

NaClO3 + BaO2 + KClO4 —> O2

其他氧蜡烛使用氯酸钾和氯酸锂,或高氯酸钠、钾和高氯酸锂。 (来源: ACS 出版物)

什么是氧气蜡烛?

氧气蜡烛或也被称为 氯酸盐蜡烛 是一个圆柱形氧气发生器,其中含有每公斤混合物产生约 6.5 小时氧气的化学物质。 这些蜡烛在妥善储存时可延长保质期。 一些蜡烛已经储存了 20 多年而没有减少产量。 (来源: 客舱环境控制系统)

这些蜡烛的技术通常用于飞机的面具。 它们也被消防员、潜艇船员和水雷救援队使用,基本上所有需要紧凑型应急氧气的地方。 (来源: 科学ABC)

飞机降落前需要戴氧气面罩吗?

不需要在整个飞行过程中佩戴口罩。 事实上,它们只能在短时间内提供氧​​气。 在此期间,飞行员想出办法让飞机返回高度在正常范围内的安全区域。

机组人员通常会在飞机下降到大气的可呼吸部分时宣布,并且可以安全地摘下口罩。 (来源: 科学ABC)

氧气面罩在什么高度下降?

我们知道口罩的存在是为了防止我们缺氧。 缺氧是指到达组织和器官的氧气不足。 当飞机到达 14,000 到 40,000 英尺时,面罩通常会从它们的隔间中掉出来。 (来源: CNBC)

发表评论

Home » Travel » Air Travel » Where Does the Oxygen Come from in the Oxygen Masks on Planes?

Where Does the Oxygen Come from in the Oxygen Masks on Planes?

We know the drill. Before our flight takes off, cabin crew gives us a run down of all the safety features of the plane. This covers emergency exits and safety protocol as well as an introduction about the oxygen masks. But where does the oxygen from those masks come from?

The masks on the airplane generate oxygen through a simple chemical reaction. The reaction is triggered when the masks are tugged by the passenger when they are dropped due to cabin depressurization.

Why Do We Need Extra Oxygen On-Flight?

The masks that drop down in-flight are actually there for your safety. When the airplane reaches high altitudes, the air thins up and the oxygen levels in the area starts to lessen. The aircraft is designed to keep the cabin pressure at an optimum level. When it does go below the standard level, the masks drop down to provide you with oxygen. (Source: Science ABC)

Is There an Oxygen Tank On-Board That is Directly Connected to the Mask?

The short answer to this is, no. Instead of having oxygen tanks on-board, the masks on the plane provides you with oxygen when a chemical reaction is triggered when they are tugged. The Oxygen Candle is ignited through a release of a firing pin, this allows the Sodium Chlorate and Potassium Perchlorate to combine to produce Oxygen that is safe for you to breathe in. (Source: Cabin Environmental Control Systems)

Emergency Oxygen System found on Commercial Airplanes

The reaction goes as such:

NaClO3 + BaO2 + KClO4 —> O2

Other oxygen candles use potassium and lithium chlorate, or sodium, potassium and lithium perchlorate. (Source: ACS Publications)

What is an Oxygen Candle?

The Oxygen Candle or also known as a chlorate candle is a cylindrical oxygen generator that contains chemicals that produces about 6.5 hours worth of oxygen per kilogram of the mixture. These candles have a prolonged shelf-life when they are stored properly. Some candles have been stored for over 20-years without a decreased output. (Source: Cabin Environmental Control Systems)

The technology of these candles are commonly used in the masks of aircrafts. They are also used by firefighters, submarine crew and mine rescue teams, basically everywhere compact emergency oxygen is required. (Source: Science ABC)

Do You Need to Wear the Oxygen Mask Until the Plane Lands?

The masks are not required to be worn throughout the flight. In fact, they can only provide oxygen for a short time. During this time the pilots work out a way to get the aircraft back to a safe zone where the altitude is within normal range.

The cabin crew usually announces when the plane has descended to a breathable part of the atmosphere and it is already safe to take your masks off. (Source: Science ABC)

At What Altitude Does the Oxygen Masks Drop?

We know that the masks are there to prevent us from getting hypoxia. Hypoxia is when there is a deficient amount of oxygen reaching your tissues and organs. The masks usually drop out of their compartment when the aircraft reaches 14,000 to 40,000 feet. (Source: CNBC)

Leave a Comment