老湾海鲜调味品公司的创始人在被麦考密克解雇两天后才成立了自己的公司,因为他们发现他是犹太人

老湾调味料

老湾线,以老湾命名

老湾调味料是以老湾线命名的,这是一艘客船线,在1900年代初将切萨皮克湾的水域从巴尔的摩向弗吉尼亚的诺福克汇合。 1939年,一位名叫古斯塔夫·布鲁恩(Gustav Brunn)的德国犹太移民成立了巴尔的摩香料公司。 在工作两天后,他的雇主发现古斯塔夫(Gustav)是麦考密克(J.

该公司的起源始于德国的韦特海姆(Wertheim),在此,布鲁恩(Brunn)开始向食品行业销售香料和调味品批发业务,他看到了机遇,因为第一次世界大战后恶性通货膨胀导致香料特别短缺。犹太主义作为…… 继续阅读(5分钟阅读)

关于“ Old Bay海鲜调味料的创始人在被麦考密克解雇两天后发现他们是犹太人之后两天的工作的10条想法”

  1. spartan6222

    这位创始人在破玻璃之夜后逃离了纳粹德国。 在德国,他以前拥有自己的香料进口公司。 他被安置在一个集中营中(这是在他们积极杀死犹太人之前),但是他的妻子付钱让他获释,并购买了美国护照以前往美国。

    麦考密克在50年后(1990年)以24万美元的价格从其前雇员手中收购了老湾。

  2. 上尉

    犹太人发明了世界上最好的贝类调味料有些讽刺意味。

  3. 失败者7500000

    什么后对不起?

  4. 干密码器320

    想象一下,因为您是犹太人而被送往集中营,逃到美国过上更好的生活,只是因为他们发现您是犹太人而被开除新工作。 不可思议,但有些人在逆境中繁荣昌盛。

  5. 陌生人

    具有讽刺意味的是,我们在马里兰州在蒸螃蟹时会使用它。

    螃蟹是清道夫,因此不是犹太洁食。

  6. 流浪影子

    作为马里兰州东岸居民,老湾充满了我的血液。 我喜欢这个调味料。 我一生都拥有它,并且在所有方面都很棒。 有趣的是,我一直渴望今天的一些老湾楔。

发表评论

The founder of Old Bay seafood seasoning founded his own company after being fired by McCormick after two days on the job after they found out he was Jewish

Old Bay Seasoning

The Old Bay Line, after which Old Bay is named

Old Bay Seasoning is named after the Old Bay Line, a passenger ship line that plied the waters of the Chesapeake Bay from Baltimore to Norfolk, Virginia, in the early 1900s. In 1939, a Jewish-German immigrant named Gustav Brunn started the Baltimore Spice Company. Gustav had previously been fired from McCormick after just two days on the job when his employer found out that he was Jewish.

The origins of the company began in Wertheim, Germany, where Brunn started a wholesale spice and seasoning business selling to food industries, seeing an opportunity as spices were in especially short supply amidst hyperinflation in the aftermath of World War I. Due to rising anti-Semitism as the … Continue Reading (5 minute read)

10 thoughts on “The founder of Old Bay seafood seasoning founded his own company after being fired by McCormick after two days on the job after they found out he was Jewish”

  1. spartan6222

    The founder fled Nazi Germany pre-WWII after the night of broken glass. In Germany he had previously owned his own spice importing company. He was put in a concentration camp (this was before they were actively killing jews) but his wife paid to have him released and bought a US passport to make their way to America.

    McCormick bought Old Bay from their former employee 50 years later (1990) for $24 million.

  2. CaptHayes

    There’s some irony in a Jewish person inventing the world’s best shellfish seasoning.

  3. Dry-Cryptographer320

    Imagine being sent to a concentration camp because you’re Jewish, escaping to America for a better life, just to be fired from your new job when they find out you’re Jewish. Unthinkable, but some people prosper in adversity.

  4. strangebru

    Ironically, we in Maryland use it when steaming crabs.

    Crabs are scavengers, thus not kosher.

  5. VagrantShadow

    As a Eastern Shore Maryland resident, Old Bay is in my blood. I love this seasoning. I had it all my life, and it goes great on everything. Funny enough, I been hankering for some Old Bay wedge’s today.

Leave a Comment