肯尼·沃特斯获释后发生了什么?

由于到位的司法制度存在缺陷,有几名无辜的男人和女人因未犯下的罪行而被监禁。 这是肯尼·沃特斯(Kenny Waters)的故事,以及当局的错误判断如何导致他的不当监禁。 

肯尼·沃特斯(Kenny Waters)因未犯罪而在监狱中度过了18年的生活。 没有足够的证据,尽管如此他还是被关进了监狱。 他的姐姐从法学院毕业后,她以释放他为己任。 他于2001年获释,但死于六个月后的一次头部颅脑损伤事故。 

21年1980月10日,凯瑟琳娜·里兹·布罗(Katherina Reitz Brow)在马萨诸塞州艾尔的家中被残酷谋杀。 她的尸体是在早上45:XNUMX被发现的,到处都是多处刺伤和血液飞溅。 她的贵重物品,包括装在信封里的现金都丢失了。

发现犯罪现场后,犯罪现场调查员(CSI)被要求对房屋进行调查。 分配给该案的调查人员能够找到几根不属于受害者的头发和指纹。 凶手–在垃圾桶里发现了一把血淋淋的配对刀。 (来源: 无罪项目)

肯尼思·肯尼·沃特斯(Kenneth“ Kenny” Waters)是头号嫌疑犯,因为他住在受害者的隔壁。 他当时与女友布伦达·马什(Brenda Marsh)住在一起,他们俩都在当地的一家餐馆工作,而受害者(眉头)经常出没。 据该餐厅其他工作人员称,人们知道受害人在家中存有大笔钱。

犯罪发生后的第二天,警察打电话给肯尼·沃特斯(Kenny Waters)进行讯问。 在此期间,他的指纹也被记录下来。 然后检查他是否有任何割伤,痕迹和血迹,可能与他的眉头谋杀案有关。 

肯尼·沃特斯(Kenny Waters)坚决地证明了警方的说法,称他在谋杀案的早晨在上班。 大约是上午8:30。 当天早上,一位同事开车送肯尼回家,在上午9:00在Ayer法院与他的律师见面。 他于上午11:00离开会场,之后返回小餐馆,直到12:30 pm为止,他一直远离Brow的所在地。 警察没有足够的证据去起诉。 此后不久他被释放。

谋杀案发生四个月后,警察给肯尼打了个电话,进行语音压力测试。 语音压力测试类似于测谎仪。 它旨在检测欺骗,但在使用中一直存在争议。 无论如何,他接受并通过了测试。 (来源: 监狱法律新闻)

到1982年XNUMX月,当时的布伦达·马什(Brenda Marsh)的男友罗伯特·奥斯本(Robert Osborne)向警方提供了有关布朗被谋杀的消息。 奥斯本说服警察,肯尼·沃特斯(肯尼·沃特斯(Kenny Waters)对布兰达(Brenda)犯下了令人发指的罪行表示认罪,他深深地抓着自己的脸回到家中。 仅凭这些信息,警察就逮捕了肯尼·沃特斯。 

审判于1983年XNUMX月左右开始。在此期间,警方对现场发现的头发,血液和指纹进行了分析。 检察官认为,发现的证据并未转交给肯尼的法律顾问,他们只是在没有足够证据可定罪的前提下进行审判。 

可悲的是,法院仅依靠几名证人的证词。 其中两个包括肯尼·沃特斯(Kenny Waters)的女歌手-布伦达·马什(Brenda Marsh)和罗莎娜·佩里(Roseanna Perry)。 两名妇女均声称沃特斯对谋杀案供认不讳,并承认也从眉头偷窃。 

在这段时间里,法医学不如今天先进。 尚无法进行DNA测试。 很难证明他的纯真。 他因没有犯罪而被定罪。 

从1983年到1999年,肯尼·沃特斯(Kenny Waters)提出了几次上诉,但均无济于事。 他的姐姐贝蒂·安妮·沃特斯(Betty Anne Waters)是单身母亲,她自负去上法学院,将事情掌握在自己手中。 她从不放弃肯尼,并因让他自由而死定了。 

1999年,贝蒂·安妮(Betty Anne)能够获得法院命令,以获取血液证据并将其发送到DNA测试中,该方法已经可用。 脱氧核糖核酸测试结果表明,在现场发现的证据都不是肯尼的。 服刑15年2001个月零18天后,他终于于5年3月XNUMX日获释。 

不幸的是,肯尼·沃特斯(Kenny Waters)因意外摔倒导致头部受伤,在被释放六个月后就过世了。 

贝蒂·安妮·沃特斯(Betty Anne Waters)对艾耶(Ayer)警察提起了联邦诉讼:菲利普·康纳斯(Philip Connors)和南希·泰勒·哈里斯(Nancy Taylor-Hariss)错误逮捕了她的兄弟。 到2009年6,729,000月,法院判给沃特世一家共计1,000美元的赔偿金(肯尼·沃特斯被监禁的每天约1美元),3万美元的身体疾病和他在入狱期间可能遭受的伤害,以及10.73万美元的赔偿。任何痛苦和折磨–总计达到XNUMX万美元。 (来源: 监狱法律新闻)

2010年,帕梅拉·格雷(Pamela Gray)和托尼·戈德温(Tony Goldwyn)制作了一部关于肯尼·沃特(Kenny Water)故事的电影。 希拉里·斯旺克(Hilary Swank)和山姆·罗克韦尔(Sam Rockwell)分别扮演贝蒂·安妮(Betty Anne)和肯尼·沃特斯(Kenny Waters)。 (来源: IMDB)

What Happened to Kenny Waters After His Release?

Thanks to the flawed justice system in place, there are several innocent men and women incarcerated for crimes they did not commit. Here’s the story of Kenny Waters and how the poor judgement of authorities lead to his wrongful imprisonment. 

Kenny Waters spent 18 years of his life behind bars for a crime he did not commit. There was insufficient evidence, but he was put in prison in spite of that. After his sister graduated from law school, she made it her life mission to set him free. He was released in 2001, but died from a freak accident involving a head injury six months later. 

In May 21, 1980, Katherina Reitz Brow was brutally murdered in her home in Ayer, Massachusetts. Her body was discovered at 10:45 in the morning with multiple stab wounds and blood splatter all over the place. Her valuables including cash kept in an envelope were missing.

The Crime Scene Investigators (CSI) have been called to investigate the home upon the discovery of her body. The investigators assigned to the case were able to find several hairs and fingerprints that did not belong to the victim. The murder weapon – a bloody pairing knife was found in the trash. (Source: The Innocence Project)

Kenneth “Kenny” Waters was the top suspect because he lived right next door to the victim. He was then living with his girlfriend Brenda Marsh and they both worked at a local diner where the victim (Brow) would frequent. According to other staff and workers at the diner, people knew that the victim kept large sums of money in her home.

A day after the crime, the police called Kenny Waters in for questioning. His fingerprints were also taken during this time. He was then examined for any cuts, marks, and blood stains that may link him to the Brow’s murder. 

Kenny Waters gave the police a solid alibi, stating he was at work on the morning of her murder. This was around 8:30 am. A co-worker drove Kenny home that morning to change clothes to meet his attorney at the Ayer courthouse at 9:00 am. He left the venue at 11:00 am and returned to the diner after, placing him far away from Brow’s location up until 12:30 pm. The police did not have sufficient evidence to press charges. He was released shortly after.

Four months after the murder, the police called Kenny back to submit a voice stress test. A voice stress test is similar to a polygraph. It was meant to detect deception, but has been quite controversial in use. Regardless, he accepted and passed the test. (Source: Prison Legal News)

By October 1982, Robert Osborne, the boyfriend of Brenda Marsh at the time, approached the police with information on Brow’s murder. Osborne convinced the police that Kenny Waters confessed about the heinous crime to Brenda after returning home with a deep scratch on his face. With just this information, the police arrested Kenny Waters. 

The trial began around May in 1983. During this time, the police had the hair, blood and fingerprints that were found in the scene analyzed. According to the prosecutors, the evidence found was not relayed over to Kenny’s legal counsels and they simply proceeded with the trial under the assumption that there was not enough evidence to convict. 

Sadly, the court relied on mere testimonies of several witnesses. Two of which included Kenny Waters’ exes – Brenda Marsh and Roseanna Perry. Both women claimed that Waters confessed about the murder and admitted to stealing from Brow as well. 

During this time, forensic science was not as advanced as today. DNA testing was not yet accessible. It was hard to prove his innocence. He was convicted for a crime he did not do. 

Kenny Waters made several appeals from 1983 up until 1999, but to no avail. His sister Betty Anne Waters, a single mother, took it upon herself to go to law school and take matters into her own hands. She never gave up on Kenny and was dead set on setting him free. 

In 1999, Betty Anne was able to obtain a court order to acquire the blood evidence and send it in for DNA testing, which was already available. The DNA testing results showed that none of the evidence found at the scene were Kenny’s. He was finally released in March 15, 2001 after serving his sentence for 18 years, 5 months and 3 days. 

Unfortunately, Kenny Waters passed after six months of his release due to a head injury from an accidental fall. 

Betty Anne Waters filed a federal case against the police officers of Ayer: Philip Connors and Nancy Taylor-Hariss for wrongfully arresting her brother. By September 2009, the court awarded damages to the Waters family that amounted to $6,729,000 (approximately $1,000 per day that Kenny Waters had been incarcerated), $1 Million for physical illness and injuries he may have incurred during his time in jail, and $3 Million for any pain and suffering – bringing it to a total of $10.73 Million. (Source: Prison Legal News)

In 2010, a movie of Kenny Water’s story was made by Pamela Gray and Tony Goldwyn. Hilary Swank and Sam Rockwell played the roles of Betty Anne and Kenny Waters respectively. (Source: IMDB)